We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent hotel even for perfectionist like me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“excellent hotel even for perfectionist like me”
Reviewed 20 March 2013

nothing negative for the stay-nice breakfast, room super tidy 120% professionally make up, a little comment would be customer service can be further improved from good to great.

very comfortable stay!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,323
    662
    127
    44
    23
See reviews for
617
850
314
838
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2013

Background:
This was our second visit to Bangkok after a week at 5 star resorts in Phuket and after trying some good value 4 star hotels last time we decided to try two 5 star hotels this time around; the IC and the Conrad. The Intercontinental lived up to our expectations with excellent service from check in to check out.

Pros:
The lobby is very opulent with live piano music at the bar. After the efficient and courteous check in we were brought to our standard room facing the Central World mall. Size was quite generous with a massive flat screen TV. There was a bit of noise at night from the Christmas beer gardens across the street, so if you are a light sleeper better to request a room facing another side. Location was great for shopping and easy to catch the Skytrain. Concierge service was helpful and responsive and we also enjoyed our (pricey) massage treatment at the Spa.

We also appreciated small details like a welcome snack and handwritten notes from the GM and other staff members. The breakfast buffet was very complete with a wide range of freshly prepared food. It was crowded during the holidays, but the staff was great at clearing tables and keeping things tidy. Check out was fine and an incorrect charge for internet access was quickly removed.

Cons:
Our only two issues were a sticky spot on the bathroom floor that wasn't cleaned during the stay and a problem getting a metered taxi to take us to the nearby Conrad hotel upon checkout. We waited more than half an hour until we got a taxi, but the driver refused to use the meter and we had to wait for another one. Really frustrating although certainly not the hotel's responsibility.

Observations:
We preferred the understated contemporary decoration of the Conrad. The IC's opulent decoration seems to draw many wealthy middle eastern and Indian families. It's a matter of taste, but the service levels were definitely top notch and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. E-mail communication before our stay was very responsive as well.

Room Tip: Request rooms away from Central World Mall if the noise from the beer gardens and festivities will b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BlogGrandVoyageur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Italy
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2013

Well – where to start. I come to Bangkok every 3 months as work all over the world. I normally stay in another 5 star hotel nearby and this was the first time I have stayed in the Intercontinental. This was special. I wanted to propose to my girlfriend and after booking sent a message to the hotel to see if they had any idea. Chutima Tatiyarattanaporn was amazing and I can’t believe to what lovely level they were. In my room was the most amazing swans sculture on the bed – surrounded by rose petals. Simply WOW factor. There was fruit, wine, chocolates. Everything to make the moment more special. My girlfriend was crying as it was so nice. Some other nice points about the hotel. They have a PILLOW MENU. Never seen that before. You can choose from a selection of 13 pillows.  The rooms were nice and spacious. The breakfast buffet was extremely varied and good. In short – I liked this hotel and the quality of that staff. Thank you intercontinental and thank you Chutima Tatiyarattanaporn 

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jordanpanantha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

IC BKK is located very close to the giant shopping center the Central, where you can find excellent food and plenty of shops. The mall across the street is smaller but has lots of choices too, including a pharmacy. The sky train is also steps away. The hotel looks new, and staff is generally friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is fine with plenty of choices, nothing exceptional though. We paid less than USD200 a night including free internet and breakfast for this 5 star property, and it seems a good value.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizzylizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2013

When arriving Bkk I would have thought that this place could be great and even the best as far what I have ridden around
As a matter of fact it is very good place indeed for its location but not really the best hotel I have ever been in service/hotel rooms point of view
That being said I spent a very good time there !
Enjoy Bangkok !

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Seb B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

We paid extra for Club room which was well worth the money. This is a 1st class hotel which far exceeds the Marriott and Hilton in Bangkok. It isn't cheap but you get what you pay for & more here. We were quickly whisked off to floor 37 for check in and from that moment on nothing was too much trouble. The club lounge service was 2nd to none. The staff are fantastic and the food for a Club lounge was the best we have had.
Hotel location for central Bangkok cannot be beaten - shops & sky train within 2 mins.

Pool is only small but as expected in a city centre hotel but due to location on top floor was excellent for catching the sun.

Overall best hotel we have ever stayed in in Bangkok and we will be back

Room Tip: Pay the extra for club room & access to the club lounge. It is worth it
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 March 2013

The Staff is Great, from top to bottom. Julia and her team in the executive club lounge was all over everything! The breakfasts are excellent in the lounge, except they need to work on the eggs Benedict and need to get a Canadian Whisky. Rooms are clean and well furnished. The pool is very nice as are the massages in the spa.

Not cheap, but very nice

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Toejamusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 871 in Bangkok
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Hotels.com, IHG, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing