We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique 5* New Years Eve Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 871 Hotels in Bangkok
South Wales UK
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Unique 5* New Years Eve Experience”
Reviewed 2 January 2014

We stayed at this hotel in Feb 2013 and were so impressed that we returned for the New Year 2014. We were invited for a small fee to have a room facing Central World. This is where about 300,000 people in glittery headgear gather to to enjoy very loud bands and an amazing fireworks display. We had expected to enjoy the fireworks but the effect of being above the launch site and immediately opposite increased the effect spectacularly. Well worth the additional fee.
The room was spacious and well appointed with lots of storage space. The bathroom was large with a separate shower. The toiletries are small and fiddly to use hence could improve in this area. Housekeeping work hard to maintain the high standard of cleanliness.
The foyer/lobby manages to combine a spacious striking feel with comfort and cosy corners to relax or enjoy a snack or drink. The staff are all very charming and attentive. The pool area on the top floor is also a pleasant area to relax in the fresh air.
The location is also good, being close to several large shopping malls and sky train stations which provides easy access to the river and other places of interest.
All in all a great place to stay.

Room Tip: Like the deluxe executive rooms on a high floor facing central world
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Traveller_S-WalesUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to say thank you for sharing your warm words about your recent stay with us on Tripadvisor and we are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed an indeed unique start into the new year with us at InterContinental Bangkok.

We hope to see you soon again for the next festive season.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,179 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,323
    662
    127
    44
    23
See reviews for
617
850
314
838
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (618)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

Let's big up Khun Yong
He been there ever so long
But he's still going strong
Dealing with the daily throng

Almost half a century
Taking care of you and me
His smiles are always free
As he patrols the balcony

That's why I love BKK Intercon
No matter where you're from
London, Sydney, even Hong Kong
It's full of people like Khun Yong

IHBKK is the best you see
It's at the top of the tree
Amazing staff are the key
With a way to make you happy.



Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank AndrewJJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Your very creative way of saying thank you to our staff Mr. Yong is highly appreciated and we would like to say thank you for your loyalty to our hotel. It always makes us proud when guests see InterContinental Bangkok as their “home away from home”.

We look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you soon back.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gerringong, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 January 2014

This was our second stay at the Intercontinental. We were enjoying ourselves so much that we tried to extend the stay but alas, there was no room at the inn due to New Years Eve.

Staff as always were attentive without being over the top, facilities were well maintained and everything worked well. Our room was clean. Again we utilised the hotel's limousine service and again the service was friendly, efficient and flexible. Make sure you ask for Bandit or his brother...they are both great drivers and so helpful.

Club lounge was good but the staff were overrun by the sheer numbers of guests at this time of the year.

All in all, another satisfied customer.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ogslpash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 14 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel and our staff and for sharing your experience with us on Tripadvisor. Your appreciation for our driver Mr. Bundit will be passed on to him and it is our pleasure to hear that you have enjoyed your stay once again.

We hope to see you soon again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

This hotel has it all. The ultimate location in Bangkok, super luxurious interiors, most professional and warm staff as well as great amenities. The rooms are very spacious with very high end treatment including a gigantic flat screen. The hotel features a wealth of restaurant offers as well as a cigar lounge which I immensely enjoyed. Another cigar I had was on the roof near the pool.
The club lounge is amazing and worth the extra.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management team, thank you so much for sharing your stay experience with us on Trip Advisor. We are happy to read that our spacious rooms, variety food selection, Club InterContinental Lounge and the Cigar Lounge made your stay more enjoyable.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013

Just checked in to the club floor of Intercon Bangkok. They're fully booked and hectic for New Year but as always the staff bent over backwards to meet our needs and nothing was too much trouble. Today, it was Mem who excelled in helping us get into our room and with ticket requests. When we were here last April it was Julia who made our stay for my husband's 50th exceptionally memorable. Earlier this month on our wedding anniversary the club floor team also made sure we had a complimentary cake to help us celebrate. This is the only hotel that we never fail to recommend to friends. The staff on the club floor make this, without a doubt, our favourite hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsty M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. We are glad to hear that you were impressed with our hotel and our associates Khun Mam, Khun Julia and the rest of the Club InterContinental Team.

Your encouraging compliments are certainly appreciated and have been shared with our associates to let them know that their efforts do not go unnoticed by our guests.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel and to spend your special family occasions with us.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

beautiful hotel with ambient atmosphere in the heart of bangkok central location to everything you need whether it food shopping medical attention or even tourist attractions.... reasonably affordable .....

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your recent stay experience at the InterContinental Bangkok. It brings us much joy to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to welcome you back home very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 December 2013

Same as for the past 7 years, we went to Bangkok on 21st December. Despite of the unsteady political sitution, we still determined to continue our usual practice spending our Christmas in Bagnkok.

Needless to say and without any hesitation, we stayed at the Intercontinental Bangkok. We feel so much at home as soon as we stepped into the hotel. The staff are so warm and friendly which makes a big difference for visitors. Although we are on the club floor, we still love to have our breakfast in the coffee shop. The food is just marvellous, hundreds of choices, and the quality of the food is unbeatble. It is just like a full meal to us, and this is the best way to start a day.

Besides the food which impressed us so much, all the staff there are so friendly and helpful. They always try to do their utmost to make sure you are well fed and the service is just perfect.

Besides all above, the location is just ideal, right a few steps to the BTS which makes travelling so easy and we do not have to worry about the traffic.

In total, we had a great Christmas at the Intercon and I have no hesitation in recommending anyone who could not make up their minds where to stay,


Margaret Ngan

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ngna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 January 2014
Dear Ms. Margaret Ngan,

Thank you for choosing The InterContinental Bangkok and also taking the time to share your stay experience with us. It gave us much pleasure to read your comments and to hear that you enjoyed the warm and friendly service, Club InterContinental Lounge experience and our Espresso Restaurant.

We have shared your compliments with our team members and it is good to know that we have been successful in looking after our Loyal Guest.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 871 in Bangkok
1,980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing