We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed in this Intercontinental for two nights and had a great time.

It may not be the best location for tourist sites, but travelling around is easy with either taxi or Tuk Tuk, albeit slow at times with the traffic.

The staff are lovely and piano bar great for relaxing late afternoon after a busy day

Stayed: April 2014
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your stay experience on TripAdvisor.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel as well as the service provided by our staff and the balcony lounge.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back very soon to our property.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,362 - 1,368 of 3,272 reviews

Reviewed 8 April 2014 via mobile

We have been staying here since last 10 years everytime we visit Bangkok! Our family loves it and keep returning here! Hotel has lots of malls, metro station and street shops nearby! Love it!! Inter con keeps its name..very friendly service and staff!!

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poonash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

I am very pleased to learn of your positive impressions with your stays at InterContinental Bangkok Hotel for the last 10 years. It brings us much joy to hear that our associates made your family stay special. We have shared your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts.

Once again, thank you for stay at the Intercontinental Bangkok. We certainly look forward to welcoming you back home.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2014

This is my second visit to the InterCon Bangkok and it certainly didn't disappointed. We had two rooms in the club lounge and we enjoyed every minute of our stay. The rooms were super well appointed with a lounge room connecting the two rooms so we had loads of room as we were a party of five. The staff were beyond polite and helpful particularly the gorgeous ladies in the club lounge where we enjoyed afternoon snacks and a glass of wine before dinner. The breakfast buffet is fabulous, you are truly spoilt for choice and again nothing is too much for the waiting staff who were on hand to serve you fresh coconut juice to cappuccino's. It is actually worth mentioning that we ate in the casual restaurant, the mezzanine bar, the Italian restaurant as well as ordered in room service one night and on every occasion we were beyond happy with our meals and service. But I am saving the best for last because beyond the hotel and its service and staff is its location! Anyone to have visited BKK will comment on the traffic, it is a nightmare and if anything it has only gotten worse so your saving grace is the fact that from the locale of the Intercon you can walk to the Erawan, Central Chidlom, Central World, Siam Paragon and if you are really up for it you can walk to MBK. And for those that can't walk or dont want to there is also a Skytrain stop directly outside your door. As someone who has previously lived in BKK, I can't recommend this hotel and its position enough!

Room Tip: We had two rooms in the Club lounge at the end of the corridor - 2701 and 2702 - I can highly recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bella2767
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your recent stay at InterContinental Bangkok.

We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our Club InterContinental Rooms as well as the Club Lounge and its benefits. We are pleased to read your appraisal of our club lounge team and their personalized service and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts.

Thank you very much for staying with us and we wish you all the best.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This hotel is on my list to visit whenever I am in Bangkok,ideally located within the city and accessible to everywhere you would need to go in the capital,traffic is a major problem but a minutes walk the sky train lines will take you anywhere with great ease.The property co joins with the Holiday Inn another of the IHG group.Upon arrival in the hotel you are quickly welcomed and shown to the check in or a special area if you hold membership such as ambassador.Recognition for regular guests is immediate and the option to register on the club floor is offered.Here is a spacious lounge area for members to enjoy breakfast, afternoon tea with sandwiches,cakes and hot dishes then follows a delightful happy hour.For business respect for other guests is important as upon a recent visit I found a group of business people using the Club as a free office and literally taking over the floor day after day.This was unacceptable as the facility offers board rooms by request and all the facilities one needs.Their attitude was cheap and aggressive spoiling the tranquility of the Club atmosphere.A few well direct words of complaint were drawn to the attention of the hotels GM Markus Platzer,once he was made aware of this,the misuse of the Club was immediately halted and it was returned to the tranquil haven it should be.The service here is excellent.Rooms are decorated to a high standard and range from the simple to the exotic,there is a roof top pool which is also very peaceful.Together with numerous restaurants shops and boutiques the variety of options in one building complex is formidable.Stephen Meredith the Food and Bev manager is seen often walking throughout the many restaurants and he pays particular attention to to the needs of his diners,I had the pleasure of meeting him at their famous seafood buffet on Friday night.I will be returning there again in May for about a week and highly recommend everything the hotel can offer.In closing although there is still a lot of rallies of political factions in the city,the hotels security is extremely tight and it is situated in a very safe part of the city.The safety of us as guests is shown to be a top priority.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank talentpicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This hotel is very central. The hotel is across the Central World Center Shopping Mall. We used the Mall for light snacks and very cheap spa services. There is also a supermarket in the Mall where we bought Thai snacks for gifts. The access to the SkyTrain and Skywalk is right out the front door. Although it was over 100 degrees we decided to walk via the skywalk to other shopping areas and the MBK and Paragon malls. Patpong night market is about 10-15 minutes away by TukTuk and about 150 bahts. Every staff we encountered were polite, helpful and professional. The Thai restaurant was delicious but a little pricey for Thailand. The morning buffet was awesome and once again the staff were very attentive to every need. The room was large and clean. This hotel was a great welcome after we were traveling for about 3 weeks in Asia and experienced issues with finding hotel staff who spoke English and hotels in which the air conditioning was not turned on. The staff spoke English and surely made our stay very memorable even if it was only for 1 night. We will return to the Intercontinental again, maybe when the weather cools off so we can do more shopping!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kehau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with us on Tripadvisor.

Your warm compliments about our attentive and helpful staff will be passed on and we also appreciate that you enjoyed your time at the Charm Thai and at our Espresso breakfast buffet
restaurant.

We look forward to your return to InterContinental Bangkok in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2014

The hotel has the best location within walking distance to Siam Paragon, Central World and other shopping outlets. Check in was a bit slow but the receptionist was kind enough to explain the facilities of the hotel. Since I am a IHG member she accorded me a warm welcome. The hotel was refurbished a few years ago and was in a very good condition. The room is very spacious and tastefully furnished. The bathroom is also very spacious. On the day of departure to the airport there was a traffic jam outside the hotel. The staff took the initiative to assist in directing traffic at the road junction quite a distance away from the hotel. I would definitely stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Getz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Intercontinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience with us. I am very pleased to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and that you regard our hotel to have the best location situated next to major shopping malls.

I have shared your valuable comment over the check in experience with our Front Office Manager to improve our arrival experience for guests.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,
Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

This was 2nd time for business. Just in front of Skytrain station and Central Plaza was walking distancre. Can go to MBK and Paragon so easy with taking Skytrain. Welcome service is always excellent, really had signature experience !

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samurai_traveler634
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with InterContinental Bangkok. It is our pleasure to hear that this was your second visit with us and you have enjoyed all the aspects of our hotel facilities.

We look forward to welcoming you soon to our property.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,566 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £136 - £260 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing