We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location but poor after service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #22 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I stayed for one night with my wife and 3 young children. I requested interconnecting rooms well in advance which took quite a few emails to organise. Nonetheless, this was provided on check in. The staff were all polite and helpful. The hotel is well situated near to the central mall and other shops and downtown Bangkok. The rooms are well decorated and have all that you need. We used the chauffeur service which was also very nice. Breakfast was good with lots of choices. We ate at the Italian restaurant, which was super food and very friendly staff, thank you. Perhaps the best Italian meal I have ever had. A nice hotel and well located if you want to walk to the shops. However, after service stay was very poor. I had real problems trying to get my points for my room and all the services I used whilst there, this amounted to over £240. It took nearly 1 hour to sort this out through customer services. Not what I expect as an Ambassador and certainly not the kind of service of a 5* hotel. The Holiday Inn, Bangkok managed to allocate my points with no problems. Consequently, it left me feeling very annoyed at the AFTER service the hotel provides. Not impressed at all.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scopie100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing InterContinental Hotel during your recent visit in Bangkok.
It is great to hear that you and your family enjoyed the central location of our property, room décor, food and beverage outlets. We have shared your kind compliments with our associates and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your recognition of their efforts.

We regret to hear that there was an inconvenience during your departure with loyalty points. Please accept our sincerest apology over this and do feel free to contact me directly for your future stay at hiru@ihgbangkok.com.

We wish you all the best and thank you once again for staying with us.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,237)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,327 - 1,333 of 3,237 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014

We stayed here with family. Our parents stayed for 8 nights, and us for 3. The hotel looks pretty grand from the outside, especially at the entrance, with its high ceilings and opulent design.

Check-in was fast and without issues. The room was pretty large although the wooden surfaces do look a little old. We had double beds and they were pretty large (queen sized). The pillows from the menu were superb and we all had peaceful sleep every night. The room temperature was easily controllable and the hot water came on quickly.

What impressed us most was the convenient location. It is right opposite several major malls, including Central World and Gaysorn. Any other location is only a few minutes away by taxi, and sometimes even less by walking (due to the insane traffic jams in Bangkok).

We had some issues with a concierge forgetting to update us on a booking with a spa and it resulted in a wasted trip for us, but we are grateful that the hotel was able to make good with reimbursement in kind. We really appreciate the kind gesture.

We may stay here again due to the excellent location, but may also choose a newer hotel in the same area.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cchew11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok with your family and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with the hotel’s décor, location, and taken the opportunity choose a pillow of your choice from our pillow menu. I further appreciate your feedback regarding the design of our hotel rooms and I ensure you that we continually enhancing our product and will do more in the future to provide a comfortable and luxuries experience to our guests.

Please accept our sincerest apology in regards to the spa reservations, this has been shared and discussed in our rooms meeting for better communication and handling to anticipate guests needs. I am glad that our Manager on Duty was able to assist you to resolve the issues with your satisfaction.

I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This hotel is clean, modern and situated at a good location. The rooms are great however the breakfast buffet was not as varied as some of the other hotels we have stayed at. I was surprised that mangoes were not available at the fruit section. Overall the hotel is good enough for us to return in the near future.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BG20142014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

Appreciated to hear that our hotel’s location complimented with your stay and nice to read that you will visit us in the near future. We have noted on your comment and this has been shared with our Director of Food and Beverage.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Hotel is very well located for access via sky walk to central world and siam paragon. Overall the hotel met expectations. Quality of breakfast was high, but options were not as diverse as other hotels in Asia. Staff in general were helpful and gym was very good.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EatingAdventures88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for staying with us at InterContinental Bangkok.

It is great to hear that you liked our facilities and the central location of our hotel as well as the service provided by our staff and we look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon at our property.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

We received a warm welcome from a delightful lady at reception who escorted us to our room on the 24th Floor.

It was the lowest category room but was in very good condition and had been refurbished since our last visit. There was a supremely comfortable bed but no top sheet, I find this most annoying as it is just too hot to sleep with a doona unless one has the aircon set at an Arctic temperature.

There is a marble bathroom with separate roomy tub and shower and nice big fluffy bath towels. The free internet connection was quite fast and there was an Australian television station available.

We opted for bar food for our dinners because main restaurant was a buffet and I wanted to be served. The food there was excellent and inexpensive and the service was also top notch. My breakfast omelet was the best I have ever had in a hotel.

The Concierge organised a very good tour for us but we were only given one suggestion for the attraction we wished to visit. I would like to see a range of brochures from various tour companies available for perusal.

We chose the hotel because of its location near to shops, it it only ten minutes walk to malls and there are stalls selling souvenirs, junk and food on the roads near the hotel.

This was our 4th visit to the hotel. We were not disappointed with our selection and will return again.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeniAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay at The Intercontinental Bangkok. We are glad to read that our service from your arrival till your departure has been pleasant. We have shared your compliments with our guest relations personnel and she was pleased to learn of your kind recognition.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable stay for our guests and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve our service standard. We have communicated your valuable comment with our Chief Concierge to look into this matter.

Once again, thank you very much for your patronage and we look forward to be your only choice of hotel in Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Ticks all the boxes for the business traveller, but not quite hitting the mark for the tourist. Quality business hotel, well appointed and located. The staff are excellent and helpful.
Not much to see or do in the surrounding area, apart from shopping.
Ate at the sister hotel, Holiday Inn and ate at the Charm Thai restaurant. Excellent tasty Thai food, but not cheap.
Business man's hotel, end of

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank tanagogo1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent experience with InterContinental Bangkok.

Your warm notes about our staff and the service they provided to you are highly appreciated as well as the great comments about Charm Thai restaurant. We have shared your kind recognition with our culinary team members.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon on you return to InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2014

I am a fan of the intercontinental brand and did enjoy my stay here. Location very comfortable for shopers. It's in the middle of the city amidst a whole bunch of malls. And one of the BTS (Bangkok metro) stations is just outside. Very convenient to explore the city or even taking the trains to the airport. Even with this location, it's very quiet once you enter the hotel - an oasis of silence in the middle of the city.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jennifer G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your comments about your recent stay at InterContinental Bangkok.

We are glad that our primary location in the shopping district of Bangkok contributed to make you stay even more enjoyable.

We look forward to welcoming you soon back at our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#13 of 883 in Bangkok
2,041 reviews
Siam
Siam Kempinski Hotel Bangkok
Pathumwan
The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel, Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £136 - £213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Travelbag, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing