We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's quietly brilliant....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #21 of 866 Hotels in Bangkok
Kuala Lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's quietly brilliant....”
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Thai hospitality exudes here... the staff are friendly and helpful...and they are always smiling. Here is an objective review.

1. The rooms are spacious and clean and comfortable. The mattress is on the soft side. Can overlook cos the room is so tastefully furnished. Simple elegance. The view was pretty good too.
2. The general internal appearance of the hotel is clean and tastefully furnished. The cavernous lobby was a joy to hang around. It makes me wanna have a few beers every time before going up to the room to sleep. :D
3. The 3-tiered cafe / dining area set up is a good idea. The set up gave plenty of light to come through and the 20-30ft glass surrounding the lobby made it feel like the outdoors - minus the heat and noise. I love the hustle and bustle of BKK but some quiet time is always welcomed. :D
4. The doormen are always helpful and made sure your luggage are attended to and the taxis are always waiting. Bottled water was always ready and complimentary.
5. The concierge and reception staff are wonderful. Helpful and courteous. Loved them. :)
6. The Lobby cafe staff servicing in the evening are always elegant and classy and friendly. These 3 things don't usually come together.... but the team at the lobby cafe in the evening pulled it off. :D
7. The breakfast can improve. Compared to Intercontinental Kuala Lumpur, the BKK hotel was about 50% behind. Intercontinental Kowloon also had poor breakfast selection.

Summary: Everything was spot on except for the super-soft mattress and the slightly below par breakfast.

Would I stay here again? Oh yeah...... :D

Room Tip: Get a higher grade room whenever you can. But I think judging from the overall quality of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank twinpiped
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwanchai Y, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 9 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our hotel and its facilities. We are glad you had a wonderful experience during your stay with us. Your fine compliments location and the friendly staff are really appreciated, regarding breakfast experience that you were comment will direct to our Management team to ensure our guest comment is the most important to our future improvement

It is most rewarding to learn that our facilities and services are appreciated by our guests. We will do our best to keep up the standard to always meet and exceed our guest's expectations.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at InterContinental Bangkok.

Warm regards,

Kwanchai Quincy Yokto (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,319
    660
    127
    44
    23
See reviews for
615
848
314
838
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (617)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Nice clean rooms, good breakfast buffet and most importantly centrally located and close to all the major shopping malls. You wont get a vibe of the real Bangkok though by staying at this hotel.
For us (my husband and I) all we wanted was to stay at a nice hotel that is next to major shopping malls..which is what we got in the end

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Marwa Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwanchai Y, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your nice review. We are glad you had a wonderful experience during staying with us. Your compliment on our facilities, hotel location is really appreciated.

Once again, appreciated of your beautiful comment and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at InterContinental Bangkok

Best regards,

Kwanchai Quincy Yokto (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kuala lumpur
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
148 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 151 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This hotel is located opposite Central World and within walking distance to Siam Paragon, MBK and the BTS train station.

Service was within expectations and the staffs were warm and welcoming. The rooms were spacious and clean. The bed and pillows were comfortable. Wifi in the room was complimentary and the internet speed good.

The gym was well equipped but the swimming pool, which is located on the roof top, was rather small and it was uncomfortably crowded when I was there.

Location of this hotel is superb especially if you want to be near the shopping areas. But the drawback is the hotel lobby and the surrounding areas outside the hotel get very crowded and the street in front is perpetually congested with traffic. I would not find it difficult at all to get a better 5 star hotel in Bangkok where you would have had a more memorable and remarkable stay.

Room Tip: Choose a higher floor and facing away from Central World (if neon lights bother you). For better vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rafalution_2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwanchai Y, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 7 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to take this opportunity to thank you for your feedback and comments regarding your recent visit to our property.

We are extremely delighted to see that you enjoyed and are happy with our facilities and services, especially at our Hotel staff. It is most rewarding to learn that our hospitality is appreciated by our guests. We will do our best to keep up the standard to always meet with our guest's expectations.

Once again, thank you very much for your observations and fine compliments. We look forward to the privilege and pleasure of serving you again at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Kwanchai Quincy Yokto (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiangmai
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed over last weekend with my partner and location of hotel is central and easy access to BTS and nearby major malls. Room is spacious and clean, here housekeeping done a great job. Reception staffs were all friendly and helpful. Breakfast buffet is one of the best with handful of selections. Attentive wait staffs, security officers stationed at the lobby lift are ever ready to help and smile and greet you each times. Lastly my only complaint is i cannot find any faults and wish we can stay longer. Whether you are on short shopping vacation or business trip. InterContinental Bangkok is a top class choice hotel.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Timsaithong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwanchai Y, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your kind comment about our hotel and its facilities. We are glad you had a wonderful experience. Your fine compliments to our friendly staff are really appreciated.

It is most rewarding to learn that our facilities and services are appreciated by our guests. We will do our best to keep up the standard to always meet and exceed our guest's expectations.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future at InterContinental Bangkok.

Kind regards,

Kwanchai Quincy Yokto (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ho chi minh
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Located right across Central World, A few minutes walk to siam paragon. Connected to the sky train. Great price. Great staff. Spacious rooms. Clean.

This will be my new go to hotel everytime we visit bangkok. Helpful Concierge.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Louis N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwanchai Y, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice review. We are glad you had a wonderful experience during staying with us. Your compliment on our facilities, hotel location and Hotel team member is really appreciated.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Kwanchai Quincy Yokto (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fahaheel, Kuwait
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

when we booked the hotel my freind told i will love staying here because of the location i know that its not like the others with the interior design and so on but it is beutiful and at the heart of bangkok were you just have to walk to get to your mall.
i would stay there back ( if i returned to thailand wich i`m not)

Room Tip: take a high floor room to view the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fa7lawy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwanchai Y, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for submitting a wonderful comment of your experience in our hotel.

We are truly happy to know that we have succeeded in creating a memorable experience for you and helped you and your family to have a fantastic time in Bangkok.

Thank you once again and we look forward to welcoming you back soon at InterContinental Bangkok.

Best regards,

Kwanchai Quincy Yokto (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Among the five star hotels in Bangkok, this has to be one of the best and memorable 5-star hotels that I had stayed in Bangkok. My family enjoyed the services and facilities at the hotel and the hotel truly lived up to its reputation. Location is perfect as it is just next to shopping paradise and despite its location at a busy area, it wasn't noisy probably due to good sound proofing when you are in your room at night. The hotel has a wide variety of food to choose from at the buffet that you won't feel like wanting to leave early. I would definitely recommend my friends and colleagues to stay at Intercontinental Hotel Bangkok for its excellent services and location.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leslie_Lau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kwanchai Y, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Your beautiful comment on the hotel facilities and service as further inspiration for us to do what we do best which is providing memorable experiences for our guests.

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience in our hotel. It is our great pleasure to know that we met your expectations and have created a delightful experience for you.

Thank you once again. We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Kwanchai Quincy Yokto (Mr.)
Assistant Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 866 in Bangkok
8,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing