We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 WEEKS---3 HOTELS”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 1 August 2014

My sister and I visit Bangkok normally once a year. In July this year we stayed at The Four Seasons; The Peninsula and the Intercontinental. This is our review for the Intercontinental.
We arrived at the Intercontinental and unlike The Four Seasons and The Peninsula there was no one to greet us. After bags were removed from the car a staff member came running out to greet us and to escort us to the club lounge. She was very pleasant and the check-in process was seamless. The staff in the club lounge are friendly and professional, a very good team.
We were taken to our rooms and it was like stepping back in time. We stayed here 3 years ago and there to greet us was the same old carpet that needed replacing back then. This time it was even more thread bare and stained. Likewise the furnishings were the same; old and stained, not a welcoming start. The bed was comfortable and linen of good quality. The bathroom was spacious and adequate with a good shower.
The Chinese restaurant in the hotel is very good--excellent food and service and good surrounds. Their Italian Restaurant, Grossi has very good pasta. But again what was noticed was marks on the furnishings. Quality control seems to be missing at this hotel. Even in the club lounge there are markings on the furnishings. Surely it is easy enough to have someone check if there are dirt or food marks left on chairs. In a 5 star establishment you would expect it.
Food quality in the club lounge cannot be compared to The Four Seasons. The choice of canopies is very basic, samosa and curry puffs possibly frozen; bread a little stale. The quality at The Four Seasons excellent and imaginative by comparison.
A note of caution for those wanting a restful sleep. On Friday, Saturday and Sunday nights loud music filters into the hotel from street level. So much so that our rooms on level 28 vibrated with the noise. It was impossible to sleep or to rest in the afternoon as the music was still playing. It stopped at midnight on the Friday and at 9.30 on Saturday and Sunday nights. The other nights were fine. This of course is not the hotel's fault but they certainly need to address the problem with added sound proofing. This would be an expense but I imagine they cater mainly for the business client so it would be a wise move. Noise between rooms is also a problem.
The team on the club floor were sympathetic to our noise level concerns and could not do enough to accommodate us. They are tremendous and I feel are being let down by a deterioration of the premises. It is not of the usual high standard of Intercontinental and quality control appears to be lacking; a complete renovation should be on the cards along with a change of furnishings. The Grand Hyatt across the road from the Intercontinental has had a major transformation; the rooms tasteful, the hotel excellent. Let's hope a similar transformation takes place with the Intercontinental Bangkok.
I don't want to be unfair with my review of this hotel. They are offering good deals but mention should be made on their web-page about the noise from street parties on a week-end. Good deals or not; they are still positioning themselves as a 5 star hotel and apart from the grand entry that really shines in the evening and their good choice of food outlets, in our opinion it really falls very short of being 5 star.
Would we stay again: No.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
4  Thank Adagio2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 13 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you enjoyed the food components at Summer Palace, Grossi, and the comfortable bed. We have shared your compliments with our culinary team and they were pleased to acknowledge your kind words.

I further appreciate your feedback regarding the design of our hotel rooms, restaurants outlets and I ensure you that we continually enhancing our product and will do more in the future to provide a comfortable and luxuries experience to our guests.

Thank you very much for your feedback and I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back to our hotel very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,270)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,234 - 1,240 of 3,270 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2014

My second stay at this magnificent Intercontinental and I must say it truly met my expectations. Everything was perfect. Check in fast and helpful, Assigned suite with plenty of space and cozy and great décor. Caring staff willing to satisfy guest's least requirement. Breakfast buffet at Club Lounge with diverse offerings. My deepest congratulations to the hotel's management because the great quality standards maintened through these last years (at least, since my last visit back in 2012).

Room Tip: If available, choose corner suites, the views are breathaking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank emroao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing The InterContinental Bangkok and also taking the time to share you stay experience with us.

It gave us much pleasure to read your comments and to hear that you love our hotel’s décor, Club InterContinental services and facilities. We have shared your kind compliments with our associates and it is good to know that we have been successful in looking after you.

Thank you for your kind patronage and we all look forward to welcoming you very soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

Great location, good size rooms and well set up for working from. Particularly good Italian food, helpful friendly staff and a well equipped gym - hard to find in business hotels!

It is at the higher end of the price range for hotels in Bangkok, but well worth the extra in my view.

Stayed: August 2014
Thank 455WillC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

On behalf of the management team, thank you so much for sharing your experience with us on Trip Advisor. We appreciate to hear that our hotel’s location, spacious rooms, and our state of art fitness facilities met with your business needs.

We hope that on your next trip to Bangkok we would have the chance to welcome you again.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

stayed for 2 nights with family on our way to Europe and found the hotel was in a great area, close to everything including transport. The rooms were very spacious and clean. The concierge gave us great service and we had a very nice dinner at their Italian restaurant. All in all a great stay and definitely will be back.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cleoSydney_aus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with your stay experience and enjoyed the hotel’s location and spacious rooms. We have shared your compliments with our concierge team and they were pleased to learn of your kind recognition.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

As the specialists say the most important thing for a hotel is location, and this particular hotel has a great location with the sheltered skytrain station just in front of its premises and the Gaysorn mall at walking distance without even going out to the street. The skytrain is a great advantage because the traffic in this city is just too much, you can take up to two hours in a taxi for a distance of a couple of miles, and sometimes the taxi drivers will let you at the other side of the street where the hotel of any other facility is located, and to cross streets in this city is a dangerous adventure. I liked their building, the rooms, the conference rooms, restaurants, etc. etc. etc, with the notable exception of a trattoria or italian restaurant in which my wife and I were seated in an empty place at noon waiting for somebody to attend, finally we asked for a pizza and had to wait for almost half an hour for a pizza that was not better than the ones served in pizza hut or any other fast food pizzeria. The next day since it was hard for us to adapt to Thai food my wife went again for lunch to the same place while I was at a meeting and the result was worse because after 15 minutes of waiting in an emply place she left and went to eat across the street to a Mc Donald, and this is an advantage, you´ll find fast food places or restaurantes all around the hotel or in the several malls that are at walking distance. DON´T LEAVE THAILAND WITHOUT HAVING A FOOT MASSAGE, We had one every day for three days and they were really relaxing, there are plety of good massage places in the malls.

Room Tip: Upper floors are usually better
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Carlos R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback from your recent stay with us at the InterContinental Bangkok Hotel. We are happy to read that our hotel’s location and our hotel facilities.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable stay for our guests and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve our service standard. Please accept our sincere apologies for the inconvenience which you had with the service experience at our Italian restaurant. We have shared your valuable comment with our Director of Food and Beverage to look into this matter.

Once again, thank you very much for your patronage. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Swa-dikaaa.
Located centrally! Grande deluxe room is worth the money.
Hospitality was awesome. There is an Indian restaurant (Bawarchi) below the Hotel ; which really helped me. Dominos pizzas deliver their pizzas to hotel (but they do not serve Cheese bursts). F bar is located below the hotel ; which is interesting as well.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prashant S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We are very pleased to learn of your positive impressions after your stays with us at the InterContinental Bangkok.

We are happy to read that you have enjoyed your recent stay and were impressed with our hotels location and hospitality. To hear that you enjoyed these elements brings us great pride.

Thank you for your kind patronage and we all look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

The intercon is in a very central location, just by the chit lom skytrain station, walking distance to Gaysorn, Centara, Paragon, and MBK. The prices are quite reasonable compared to the other hotels of comparable calibre (e.g. a highend five star chain). The rooms are big, although a little bit outdated, but the service and the facilities are impeccable.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
Thank yeeehawwww
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 4 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with the hotel’s location close to all major shopping centers. We are [;eased tp read that our service and facilities exceed your expectation.

I further appreciate your feedback regarding the design of our hotel rooms and I ensure you that we continually enhancing our product and will do more in the future to provide a comfortable and luxuries experience to our guests.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our beautiful property.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,546 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,530 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £136 - £257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing