We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best service!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of InterContinental Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #20 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Best service!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014

Not only that this hotel is well located and offers five starts quality, the service we received was outstanding. I recommend to pay a little more and stay at the Club Level.
We will definitely return once we are back in Thailand.

Room Tip: It is worth to upgrade to a club room. Lounge is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_Chevalier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear you were impressed with hotel’s location and service. We take enormous pride in our service and facilities, and it is always rewarding to know when our efforts have been successful in creating GREAT HOTEL GUEST LOVE.

We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,016 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    2,204
    628
    120
    41
    23
See reviews for
579
814
300
789
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (585)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

Location is great, just below the BTS on the popular line. Linked by a overhead bridge to various shopping malls like Central World where food choices are in abundance.

Service is impeccable. The doormen to recep to bellboys were all very attentive. I love that the recep called me as soon as I got to the room to check that everything is in order.

Room is clean, huge and very warm (as in welcoming). Toiletries are "branded" and there's a variety of toiletries given.

I only had room service for my breakfast so can't comment much except that it's decent.

Only 2 CONs. IHG members get free internet, which recep didn't tell me until I produced my membership card. Getting a cab to go there or from there is a huge problem during peak hours. That's why the BTS helps.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank aucharms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience with us.

We are glad to hear that you were impressed with our Hotel’s location, service, room amenities and our people. Your kind compliments have been shared with our front office team members.

We always strive to provide a pleasurable stay for our guests and your given feedback is very important for us, as it helps to improve our service standard. We have shared your valuable comment with our Front Office Manager in regards to the complimentary internet connection offered as part of the IHG Benefit. Please accept our sincerest apology for the inconvenience caused.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Makati, Philippines
Level Contributor
229 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2014

I had an enjoyable stay at Bangkok's InterContinental. I have stayed at the hotel before, even as far back as the days when it was the lovely Siam InterContinental, with its beautiful gardens.
I joined friends in Bangkok and selected the InterCon because of past, good experience.
Check in was smooth and I was upgraded to a better category room because I am a member of InterContinental's Ambassador club.
My room was large and very comfortable and offered a pleasantly large and comfortable bathroom with separate tub and shower. The TV was a flat screen with a 55 inch screen and once I mastered the air conditioning controls, I was comfortable.
The hotel staff were courteous throughout. But there were several minor issues that could add polish to the service.
1. The glass shelves in the bathroom were not cleaned during my stay, building up a collection of residue from my electric toothbrush.
2. The hotel really skimped on coffee for the coffee service. Where some hotels offer appliances such as Nespresso machines, InterCon still offered only instant coffee that really wasn't good.
3. The knife and fork provided were not cleaned for one whole day after being used and were still dirty when I left the hotel.
These may not seem major, but do make the difference between an excellent stay and a very good stay.
That said, staff were very helpful in booking an alternative to the hotel limousine for transport to the airport. The hotel offered a BMW at about $75. I preferred a Camry offered by AOT about $40. The hotel promptly booked the less expensive car and did so pleasantly, providing a written confirmation.
The hotel also offers a spa on one of the top floors and massages there are very good, though more expensive than one might find in massage paul ours outside.
The other staff, bell men, elevator guards and hotel restaurant staff were pleasant and efficient.
I enjoyed my stay at Bangkok InterCon and recommend it as a good place to stay and convenient and close to good shopping, the Sky Train, good restaurants, and other sights and sounds in a city that can be difficult to navigate because of its horrific traffic. That said, iT needs to pay some attention to detail to being itself up to a truly excellent standard.

Room Tip: As the Sky Train runs directly in front of the hotel, try for a room on a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tamarindwalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your continue support to the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with the arrival experience, room facilities service provided by our associates. We have shared your kind compliments with our people and their personalized service and I know my colleagues will be equally pleased to learn of your kind remarks and recognition of their efforts.

I further appreciate your feedback regarding the espresso coffee machines and I ensure you that we continually enhancing our product and will do more in the future to provide a comfortable and luxuries experience to our guests.

Please accept our sincerest apology in regards to the cleanliness, this has been shared and discussed in our Director of Housekeeping for greater guest stay experience.

I trust we will have the opportunity to restore your confidence in the near future. We look forward to welcoming you back.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014

Hotel was modern with excellent service. Reception was very friendly and easy check in. I love the staff who took care of me very well. I will definitely stay here again whenever I come to Bangkok also I strongly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kumar197822
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing InterContinental Bangkok and also for taking the time to share your stay experience on Tripadvisor.

It is great to hear you were impressed with our hotel’s facilities and service. We take enormous pride in our service and facilities, and it is always rewarding to know when our efforts have been successful.

We look forward to welcome you back to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 August 2014 via mobile

In my recent trip to Thailand, we stayed at Intercontinental Hotel.
Located along the shopping zone, Intercontinental Bangkok is just opposite of Central World (shopping) and 1 BTS train station away from Siam Center (shopping and good eateries).
Intercontinental is a full facilities hotel with gym, pool, restaurants and spa.
Ideal for anyone looking for a free and easy trip for shopping cum relaxation.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank YYFong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your loyalty to our hotel and for sharing your experience during your recent stay with us. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed all aspects of our hotel and the
central location.

It will be our pleasure to welcome you back soon.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the InterContinental Bangkok for two nights. The rooms are absolutely amazing - well decorated, comfortable and clean. Service is flawless. The concierge (a lady who's name I can't remember) was extremely helpful and knowledgable about the city. She gave us plenty of insider tips on where to go, what to see and where to eat. All of her recommendations where spot on! The hotel is strategically well located. Bangkok's major shopping malls are all walking distance from the hotel if not next door. The MRT station is right in front of the hotel and a few blocks behind the hotel you will find one of Bangkok's many water canals for an authentic water bus experience. This hotel is definitely my address when staying in Bangkok!

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank rainer202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HiruD, Director of Rooms at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 August 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at the InterContinental Bangkok and for taking the time to share a review of your recent stay.

It is great to hear you were impressed with our Concierge associate on her knowledge and recommendations. We have shared your compliments with her and she was pleased to learn of your kind recognition.

Once again, thank you very much for your kind patronage and we look forward to an opportunity to welcome you to our hotel.

Kind regards,

Hiru Daryanani
Director of Rooms
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spreckelsville, Hawaii
Level Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

The InterContinental Bangkok hotel is a great place to hang out and enjoy yourself during a military coup.

The nationwide curfew made Bangkok nightlife a real challenge at the end of May 2014. Unless you wanted to spend your night watching a continuous loop of Thai Army Marching Band videos on your hotel room television, you really had to plan your night activities and stick to a tight performance schedule. All punting aside, we learned that you can really make the most of a difficult situation with a good plan and the right attitude. It also helps to practice your "I'm just a stupid farang who doesn't know any better. Long live King Pumipon!" response for the roving squads of police officers and soldiers detaining curfew violators in the streets.

Fortunately, the InterContinental Bangkok made some clutch adjustments. Management extended hours of operation at the restaurants and lounges. They were able to do this by requiring their employees to stay overnight piled up together in rooms at the Holiday Inn directly across the private driveway. I highly doubt you could ever pull that off in the United States. Let's hope we never find out.

As the other Trip Advisor posters have commented, the InterContinental Bangkok is a very clean and attractive hotel with that sense of crisp, quick, business-like efficiency in the air. The Thai nationals seem to like the InterContinental Bangkok hotel as well, so that's a good sign. There were plenty of [edit: very attractive young men and women who may work by day as objectified corporate spokesmodels]. At one point, there were so many of these dapper couples it felt like a prom for runway models had just ended and spilled out into the lobby and balcony lounge areas.

Now I'm the kind of guy who doesn't talk to other guys in the men's room. I'm there to do some business and get out. I don't want to have a urinal to urinal conversation, or worse, a stall to stall conversation. And I really don't like the creepy guys who squirt hand soap on you and then hand you a towel afterwards in the hopes of getting a tip. When did that custom start? That needs to end.

But there's something about a military coup, a declared national state of emergency, and the prospects of a civil war and a brutal military crackdown that really brings folks together. So I end up talking to the hand squirt guy about the military crackdown. He tells me what he knows about the curfew and recommends using the private access roads between the hotels so you only have to deal with the less aggressive hotel security personnel.

Then the manager walks in and starts chewing the fat with us. He proudly informs me that they're going to extend the hours of their F&B operations for their guests' benefit to make the lockdown experience more enjoyable.

Still bragging about the extended hours, the manager leads me out of the bathroom and guides me to the Humidor. [And no, I don't know why he was in the bathroom at all. And yes, I did tip the hand squirt guy 100 THB (or 50 baht per squirt).]

The Humidor Cigar Bar at the InterContinental Bangkok is an oasis of elegant tranquility right in the steamy, volatile, seething heart of Bangkok.

The Humidor Cigar Bar is serviced by two lovely cigar sommeliers who could double as [edit: objectified corporate spokesmodels] themselves if they wanted. Following a warm, proper wai greeting, Humidor patrons are invited to sit down in one of the many well-conceived, tastefully furnished, and well-ventilated seating areas. The menu has most of the Cuban legends and vintage spirits you'd expect, and a few specialties to boot. The cigar sommeliers do a great job with the presentation, expert circumcision, and lighting of your chosen stogie.

As the Thai Army motorized brigades and the Bangkok tactical operations police vehicles took control over the streets of Bangkok, I smoked my Cohiba Siglo VI and drank single malt scotch like a bon vivant aristocrat straight out of Chekhov's play The Cherry Orchard. I know, I know. You've had better vintage cigars than a Cohiba Siglo VI, and you think it is way too expensive. But let me tell you this in no uncertain terms, smoking a Cohiba Siglo VI in the Humidor at the InterContinental Bangkok during curfew is the best [edit: gosh golly] cigar experience you can have without ...

Room Tip: I would have slept in the Humidor if they let me.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Holiday Inn Bangkok
#105 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The St. Regis Bangkok
#14 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,799 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Property: InterContinental Bangkok
Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travelbag, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Holiday Gems and TravelUp so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing