We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, but not outstanding”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
InterContinental Bangkok
Ranked #19 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 2 June 2010

The hotel offers good quality, according to Intercontinental standards. But not more. Compared to other hotels in bangkok, the service can be considered very sterile. It is consistently good, but not as good as I would have expected. Internet is Intercontinental typically far too expensive. The Sunday brunch is however top notch. For some weird reason, the Cigar lounge does not allow for smoking cigarettes, hence there is no chance to have a drink and a smoke at the same time in an air-conditioned environment. The roofside pool is fairly small and the offerings at the executive club are fairly limited. BTS is very close by. It is not the coziest place, but rather caters for a business traveller clientele.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BabaBologna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,375 - 2,381 of 3,266 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2010

Firstly, I have to say that this hotel was excellent, definitely 5 star standard and everything I would expect from an Intercontinental. Rooms, pool, and common areas were excellent and spotless. Only criticisms were that the couple of times we ate in the hotel the food was poor. Facilities (food, drinks, internet, etc ) were all extremely overpriced by western standards never mind Thailand.

However thats not why I'm taking the time to review...

We stayed in this hotel mid April just a few days after 25 people were killed in the first Bangkok riots.




After the voilence started it was hard to get information as we didn't have access to internet where we were staying down on the Islands. I rang the hotel twice, and once the day before we were due to arrive to ask them about their proximity to the troubles and whether there were any safety issues. We were concerned and wanted to cancel the trip. The reception staff told me there was no issues and it was perfectly safe. I was told that there was "no trouble near, sir" and when I asked were they located near the protesters the reply was that there was "just a few people on the street, sir", and they insisted that it was "perfectly safe".



When we arrived we realised that not only did the red shirts have to let us through the barricades to get into the hotel but that the hotel was located right in the middle of their encampment, next to the main stage, and beside the central world complex which has now been burnt down. The only other people staying in the hotel, apart from a few others like ourselves, were journalists and cameramen.



It was obvious from the minute we arrived that trouble could break out at any time, and that it just wasn't safe with the hotel located in the heart of the protest encampment. Needless to stay our holiday consisted of spending 3 days sitting in our room, we were afraid to go out at night, and even when we did go out during the day, we always felt on edge
.


Obviously it was our decision to travel to Bangkok, however I would have expected a hotel chain like the Intercontinental to tell the truth when I rang. Even some of the cheaper hotels and hostels were telling people not to travel and giving refunds on stays.



I feel it was totally irresponsible and given the events of the last month I feel justified in saying that I think this hotel was willing to put people at risk in order to keep their doors open. I would certainly have to question their integrity and do not trust the staff if there is further trouble in Bangkok in the future.

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank iwabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Rep, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us comments while staying at The InterContinental Bangkok during your recent visit to Bangkok.

We value your patronage and the incidents that occurred are indeed unbecoming of an establishment like ours. We take a lot of pride and commitment to deliver the level of service that is expected of us and it is regrettable that we would not provide this in your case. Please be assured that we take a serious stand on these matters and corrective measures will be taken to ensure that these incidents are not repeated. We seek your kind indulgence on this occasion

You are a valuable guest at The InterContinental Bangkok and we hope to demonstrate improvements that will be made by having the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Wasunthara Pratoomvieng
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2010

Excellent service upon arrival helpful and friendly staff. Rooms and furnishings are newer and more modern design so looks brighter and more spacious. Rooms have extra touch everywhere to show that they care like iPod docking stations. Good location near all the shopping malls but unfortunately we went during the protests so can't shop. Average sized bathrooms and rooms but all amenities newer than most hotels.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ms_1226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Rep, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to express your appreciation during your current stay at The InterContinental Bangkok.

Your appreciations are very valuable in helping us maintain a high level of service to guests. We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s service and facilities. Your comments have been passed and recognized on to the staff. I know that they appreciate the recognition that you have given and was always delighted to be at your service.

I certainly hope that your future plans to Bangkok include The InterContinental Bangkok and that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality again.

Best regards,

Wasunthara Pratoomvieng
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2010

We were kept awake most of the night by ''required plumbing work'' in the room next door
when this had been going past 2 hours were were told it would be finished shortly, at 1am we asked to change rooms, the duty manager was un available to grant this permission to reception staff, at 4am we got to sleep. On learning that morning at breakfast the hotel was 60% full we were angry when told earlier there were no other rooms on hand to change to. Poor service in a 5* hotel

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HiltonSmith25567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Rep, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 May 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to give us comments while staying at The InterContinental Bangkok during your recent visit to Bangkok.

We value your patronage and the incidents that occurred are indeed unbecoming of an establishment like ours. We take a lot of pride and commitment to deliver the level of service that is expected of us and it is regrettable that we would not provide this in your case. Please be assured that we take a serious stand on these matters and corrective measures will be taken to ensure that these incidents are not repeated. We seek your kind indulgence on this occasion

You are a valuable guest at The InterContinental Bangkok and we hope to demonstrate improvements that will be made by having the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Yours sincerely,

Wasunthara Pratoomvieng
Assistant Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2010

The Intercontinental Bangkok is truly a great hotel. The service culture at this hotel goes above and beyond any other hotel I have ever stayed at. As someone who works in the hotel business I must applaud the management of this hotel for instilling their employees with such a courteous disposition at all times. I was shown to my room by a lovely young lady who tok the time to explain to us all the features of the hotel. The young man at the concierge was exceptionally helpful on both occasions, even suggesting to us a cheaper taxi service to get to the Intercontinental Hua Hin (another great hotel) about 2 hrs away. The rooftop pool and bar is also not to be missed! When in Bangkok, stay here!

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MerchantsVillaHotels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

As an Ambassador member of the hotel's Priority Club loyalty programme I stayed already the third time at this hotel - it was even better than in October last year. I got the full package of preferential treatment, including complementary upgrade, personal checkin at the room etc....the hotel's location is unbeatable for shopping lovers, but is also good for most business locations and the Skytrain station Chit Lom is a stone's throw away. Although so central and in a busy area, the isolation of the rooms is good and you feel far away from the hustle, bustle and the heat outside. The refurbishment of the lobby and restaurant area are a great improvement. During my stay the demonstrations of the "Red Shirts" happened right on the street outside the hotel, but security was very vigilant and helpful. The staff in general went out of their way to make the stay as comfortable as possible, despite the state of emergency that was declared by the Thai President. All guests were informed in writing and by personal calls about the situation. Without any hesitation I would stay again at this outstanding hotel!

  • Stayed: April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hbdutytravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Rep, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to express your appreciation during your current stay at The InterContinental Bangkok.

Your appreciations are very valuable in helping us maintain a high level of service to guests. We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s service and facilities. Your comments have been passed and recognized on to the staff. I know that they appreciate the recognition that you have given and was always delighted to be at your service.

I certainly hope that your future plans to Bangkok include The InterContinental Bangkok and that we will have the opportunity to welcoming you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality again.

Best regards,

Somphol Maneerat
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2010

I was travelling to Bangkok to attend a conference and in first leg of my stay I stayed in Intercontinental for 3 nights. Rooms were very spacious and well laid out. The working station was at convienent distance from bed. Internet speed and amount was worth it.
The turnaround time for any service was not more than 5mins.
Staff was so helpful that they went out of their way to trace the lost luggage of my collegue and helped retrieve it.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SwaroopC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotel_Rep, Manager at InterContinental Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 12 April 2010

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking your time to express your appreciation during your current stay at The InterContinental Bangkok.

We are most pleased to learn that you enjoyed the hotel’s service and facilities. Your comments are very valuable in helping us ensure that your expectations are met each visit. Our team is committed to providing a high level of service in all areas and we are delighted that this was transpired throughout your stay.

I certainly hope that your future plans to Bangkok include The InterContinental Bangkok and that we will have the opportunity to welcome you back with warm and gracious Thai hospitality.

Best regards,

Somphol Maneerat
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,538 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,523 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to InterContinental Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about InterContinental Bangkok

Address: 973 Phloen Chit road | Lumphini, Pathum Wan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Pathumwan
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#6 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#14 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#18 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £137 - £250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — InterContinental Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 381
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the city's largest hotels, InterContinental Bangkok offers a refreshing take on modern luxury, providing guests with a unique cosmopolitan escape. With a BTS station on its doorstep, the hotel offers convenient travel to the city's major business district, while exciting shopping destinations and dining options are within easy walking distance. For a new level of luxury, experience the bespoke services of our exclusive 37th-floor Club InterContinental, while enjoying breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelbag, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your InterContinental Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Intercontinental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing