We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good location but strictly average stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Ranked #142 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Pune, India
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“good location but strictly average stay”
Reviewed 9 October 2013

i had stayed here for 4 days and below are my observations:

pros :
1. good location,very close to the metro station from where you can take a train
2. view from 14th floor was great
3. breakfast & dinner timings are extensive, lot of buffer for people from different time zones
4. red wine kept in the room fridge was of good quality

now, comes the part which made me give an average rating:
1. no vegeterian option in room menu
2. breakfast also had very limited vegeterian options
3. room was OK
4. swimming pool is way too small, & the worst i have ever seen in a huge hotel like this. there was nobody there in the morning around 9am.. for the same obvious reason i guess.
5. room safe locker is too small, can't keep a laptop inside. (i was worried about the safety of my laptop, thankfully i had a good suitcase lock & i kept it inside the suitcase & locked it) .. other hotels offer a bigger size usually.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank priyamurthy11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager-GMFB, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear priyamurthy11, Thank you very much for positive comments on our superb location, view, good selection of wine and variety of breakfast. We have also taken notes on the availability of vegetarian offers, size of safe and pool that will take into consideration upon our product review. Meantime, I look forward to welcome you on your return. Best regards, Stanley Chan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

999 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    340
    422
    162
    50
    25
See reviews for
111
133
144
389
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

The hotel is located right next to MRT station, and a plaza across the street. I stayed here with a tour group, and because it was chosen by my tour agency, no idea on the costing department :). My experience during the stay is quite good, probably because most of the things had been taken care of by the tour agency.

Room is quite spacious. We added 1 extra bed in the room, and there's still enough space for three of us to get around. AC is good. Bedding is good. There are lots of electricity sockets, so you can charge your gadgets and power banks at night. Bath room is equipped with bath tub, shower with hot and cold water. Toiletries and towels are available. Breakfast is good. There are labels on the food so you know which one is pork, chicken, or beef.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sisca C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level Contributor
147 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

I'll list my reasons here:

1. The staff has very poor English speaking skills. You will be transferred between two to three people every time just to convey one simple message. When they misunderstand you, because they don't understand English well, they roll their eyes as if you are the problem. It got so bad that I dreaded asking the front desk for anything because I knew I would be transferred back and forth between people and still not get what I need. (In all fairness, the concierge and the door man spoke pretty good English and had a fantastic attitude. My complaint is with the staff front desk, the lobby bar and the restaurant. Terrible attitude.)

2. The wireless network is weak. We asked for help and they sent a tech support person to the room. She said the network is down but she would send up a base station for us to use for the time being until the problem is solved. She left the room and we never heard from her again and we never got the base station.

At one point it got so bad we went to the lobby to ask for another connection. They offered an alternative solution, I asked them if it will be a stronger connection, they replied yes, however, it wasn't. Yet, they still ended up charging us money for it!

3. The air conditioner in my room had some kind of malfunction. Every 4 to 5 minutes, a loud noise, similar to a door slamming would come out of nowhere. At first, I thought it was the door from other rooms but every time I went into the hallway to check, there weren't any people there. I finally realized it was my air conditioning. We reported it three times to the front desk, they finally sent someone to check, the engineer heard the noise, I told him to please tell the front desk because it wakes us up in the middle of the night and I am unable to get a good night sleep. I never heard from the front desk again. So I had to sleep in this room being awoken violently by this sound all through the night for several nights.

4. One night, actually, around 4:30 a.m., I was awaken by water spraying on my face. I turned on the light and noticed my face was wet, the right side of my bed and pillow was wet and I could hear loud running water from the air conditioning unit above on the wall. The wall and carpet beneath were also wet. When the engineer was in the room, checking the noise from the air conditioning unit, I asked him where that leak was coming from, he told me it was from the bathroom above.......bathroom above? When I told him that water was spraying on my face, he quickly changed to say it was not bathroom water, it was from the air conditioning unit. I told him to please inform the front desk about it. I never heard back from them. They never offered to move me to another room. If it were water from the upstairs bathroom, spraying on my face, that would be pretty disgusting. You'd think they would move me immediately to another room. They didn't.

If you want to be able to communicate in English and get a good nights sleep, don't risk staying at this hotel. There are hundreds of other hotels in Bangkok that offer better value at lower prices.......and they speak English well.

Room Tip: Book a room at another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager-GMFB, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, 22 September 2013
Dear Robert B, I am most disturbed to learn of your unpleasant experience. We apologize that they have not been handled in a professional manner. Your comments will be among our team members and we will seek for improvement. Should you not having a good sleep, neither do we. Hope that I can be in touch with you to personally extend to you our sincere apologies. Best regards, Stanley Chan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nagpur, India
Level Contributor
296 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is located on the main street at a corner just next to the metro station.Its a market area where lot of shops,malls ,restaurants are situated.The reception and hotel staff is friendly and helpfull.There is free internet in the hotel lobby.The lobby is spacious.Breakfast is good.

Room Tip: select room on top floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sbgholse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager-GMFB, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, 26 September 2013
Dear sbgholse, Glad to learn of your excellent stay, enjoyed the MRT adjacent shopping facilities and countless dining options. We are also delightful to learn of your satisfaction towards our Reception service, free internet & atmosphere at the lobby and our breakfast. Your kind words will be passed onto our team as the best motivation. Look forward to welcome you back soonest. Personal regards, Stanley Chan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#458 of 858 in Bangkok
148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#94 of 858 in Bangkok
2,044 reviews
Hi Residence
#662 of 858 in Bangkok
119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune

Property: Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Address: 1 Rachadaphisek Road | Fortune Town, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#91 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#121 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rises 26 floors, Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune is annexed to Fortune Town, IT Mall and the new Grand Central Rama 9 modern shopping mall. Enjoy easy access to expressways. MRT station (subway) at doorsteps. All 400 tastefully furnished bedrooms are equipped with individual controlled aircon, bathtub and/or shower, minibar, electronic safe, movie & satellite tv channels, IDD & internet service. Massage, sauna & outdoor pool on podium floor. 24-hour room service plus a choice of fine cruisines: Chinese, Japanese and international dishes. 3 Buffet meals available plus options on a-la-carte from noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, ACCOR, Ctrip TA, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Fortune Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Fortune Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing