We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can be better” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Ranked #138 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Can be better”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2013

The staff are good and they always carry a smile with them. But the rooms are left to be desired. The room that was given to me was old. The furniture in the room were old and dirty! Bathroom condition was also bad. I understand some of the rooms are renovated so it depends on your luck.

Have to wait a while for lifft. Especially durin peak hour.

Breakfast is okay.

The shopping mall besides the hotel is old and small. Depends on individual, it caters to my needs.

Good thing is the MRT is just outside the hotel. My advise is if you are going Sukhumvit, take the MRT. It will save you alot of time!

Room Tip: Ask for new room when you make reservation.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank K K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager-GMFB, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear K K, Thank you for sharing your stay experience and commented on both. Metro MRT is definitely a super plus for us and our guests. Last lot of guest rooms will be renovated this summer and I am sure some of your concern will be addressed. Grand Central Rama 9 is a modern department store cross the road and adjacent mall is known for IT products and collective items. Bes t regards, Stanley Chan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

974 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    333
    411
    157
    50
    23
See reviews for
104
129
145
377
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Baldivis, Australia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2013

We stayed here for four nights and were very impressed. I organised our transfers from the airport to the hotel through the hotel and we were picked up in a lovely car by a very friendly and courteous driver. Our room was very large and well appointed and the bathroom was lovely. All the staff were friendly and helpful. The concierge organised a tour to the Grand Palace which was good. I locked myself out of my room and the staff were very helpful in organising a replacement key card for me. Breakfast was satisfactory but nothing special. The location was great. There was a food mall in the same building and also some shops and massage places. Across the road was a large shopping mall. There was also a MRT station outside the hotel which was fantastic for getting to the weekend markets, the river and other malls. Would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank colleenh52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager-GMFB, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear colleenh52, Very nice to hear that you have chosen the right hotel will definitely recommend us further. Your kind words to our concierge and limousine will be passed on as a motivation to do an even better job. Location being next to Rama 9 metro MRT station and surrounded by 2 malls with many shopping / dining options are our advantage. Hope your travel plans bring you back soonest to Grand Mercure. Best regards, Stanley Chan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

I do not recommend this hotel. It is seedy, dirty, unkempt, and all the rooms I was shown smelled heavily of smoke (even on the non-smoking floor). It caters to large groups of the conference and tour-group variety.

The main thing the hotel has going for it is its proximity to a metro stop. The mall right across the street is pretty low-budget, and there are no decent restaurants in the immediate area.

One more positive point would be the concierge: these young men were quite resourceful and friendly.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms appear to be newer than others, although smoky air is pumped through them all.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank phulana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager-GMFB, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, 28 October 2013
Dear phulana, I am sorry that you have booked into a non-renovated room though in most cases, they remain tidy and all facilities are in working condition. However, renovation of this last lot of rooms has been scheduled for next summer. Hope that you have a chance to experience our new rooms upon your return. The new shopping mall "Grand Central Rama 9" belongs to a leading department store chain and is getting popular by days since opened a year ago. 95% of our guests gave this a LIKE besides the hotel being right at a metro station. These positive points of course, added to our friendly and resourceful concierge "Joel" and his team. While waiting for your return, we will look into some improvement against your comments shared. Best regards, Stanley Chan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, null, Singapore
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2013

I'll choose this in BKK again and again...it's romantic, charming, attentive, and discreet. I love the front desk staff ARMII & JANNY as they are beautiful like Miss Thailand and anticipate your every need. From the wonderful greeting upon arrival to the grand goodbye, the experience will forever remain in my heart. To me, grand mercure fortune is not a hotel but my HOME.

Room Tip: Ask for ARMII as she will fulfill your every request.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Daddy5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager-GMFB, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear Daddy5555, Thank you for sharing your memorable visit. You have made our day. Your kind word has just confirmed that the hard work and training has not gone to waste. We will ensure our star colleagues learn of your appreciation. Take care and look forward to welcoming you back to your home away from home. Best regards, Stanley Chan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2013

the hotel is in good location near shopping malls and public transport the rooms should have been better but the best feature of the hotel is courteous front desk staff ever smiling and always ready to help i would like to give a special mention to MISS ARMII ZADZII she helped me a lot with her information abt the city and was very quick and efficient and ever smiling in her work kudos to have such a staff in your hotel. The hotel is near mrt station phra rama 9.and fortune it mall and also central plaza.

Room Tip: if you can get an upgrade to club rooms that would be great ask for armii for it she will try her be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank royaryan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager-GMFB, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, 27 December 2013
Dear royaryan, Thank you! We would like to return you with a double LIKE on commenting "the best feature of the hotel is courteous front desk staff ...". Play host to the city and region is in fact our Grand Mercure spirit and we are delighted to learn that this has been demonstrated from our colleagues at the front desk added to the convenience of metro MRT and shopping malls at doorsteps. Hope to welcome you back in a not too distant future. Best regards, Stanley Chan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hong kong
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2013

Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights in early October 2013. Arrived at 1.00 pm was asked to wait for 45 minutes until the room was ready. Check-in was quick and no-nonsense. The room was on the upper floor with open city view.

The room rate was relatively low at under US$100.- per night inclusive of breakfast. It is a 3.5 star hotel with connecting passage on ground floor to Fortune Town Mall, a large 3 level shopping mall filled with lots of small shops and eateries and which was popular with the local folks. It has a large Tesco supermarket right at the end of the mall. There is another huge mall Central Plaza opposite the hotel which can be accessed via the underpass through the MTR station. It is interesting to stroll through these shops even if one is not interested in buying anything.

Good points about this hotel include sizeable room ( 300 sq. ft ), clean interior, cold mini fridge, quiet aircon, running hot and cold water, free wifi.

Bad points include noisy occupants ( crying children, loud music till past 1 am ), limited t.v. station channels, continuous flashing light at the interior near the door where the security cardkey is inserted into the folder, and a continuous flashing light at the top of the ceiling where the auto smoke detector is located. So there are 2 flashing lights blinking continuously for the entire time.

In mitigation, one has to admit that noisy occupants within earshot can't be blamed entirely on the hotel, though this category of hotel may somehow attract such type of guests, and one just has to be lucky to avoid them.

I did not go into the city centre during my stay but I was informed that road traffic would be horrific. The MTR is an alternative way to travel but I only did that once for 2 stops to visit the famous Somboon seafood restaurant.

All in all, a good choice.

Room Tip: try to get a upper level room with no one occupying on either side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ccaappccoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager-GMFB, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear ccaappccoo, Nice to hear that you found our hotel value for money, sizable and clean room, facilities including free wifi are well functioned, convenient with 2 connected malls being right at the MRT station. TV channels are presently under upgrade and new line up can be expected in the following month. Regret the safety LED check lights on door lock and smoke detector created some disturbance to you but it simply gave an indication that our safety systems were functioning. Neighboring child as you have mentioned could be an isolated case. Hope travel plan brings you back soonest so that you can go behind 2 MRT stations and explore what Bangkok has on offer. Best regards, Stanley Chan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

From the moment I arrived in the taxi all the staff were extremely curtious and helpful, if they didn't know they obtained direction or help from their colleages or their Manager. In particular Joel the Concierge went out of his way to ensure that our every need was catered for and was appropriate to our requirements - Job well done Joel

Room Tip: Explain your needs in detail and remember you will get exactly what you ask for if done correctly
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GeneralManager-GMFB, General Manager at Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune, responded to this review, 22 October 2013
Dear Paul S, Thank you for your praise to the concierge team who has won constant good comments from our guests. Part of the success without doubt, goes to Joel, the star Concierge to whom you have named. Your good words will be passed on and we look forward to welcoming you back soonest. Best regards, Stanley Chan/General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Din
Centric Place Hotel
Centric Place Hotel
#434 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#92 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,909 reviews
Hi Residence
#675 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 116 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune

Property: Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune
Address: 1 Rachadaphisek Road | Fortune Town, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#92 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#117 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rises 26 floors, Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune is annexed to Fortune Town, IT Mall and the new Grand Central Rama 9 modern shopping mall. Enjoy easy access to expressways. MRT station (subway) at doorsteps. All 400 tastefully furnished bedrooms are equipped with individual controlled aircon, bathtub and/or shower, minibar, electronic safe, movie & satellite tv channels, IDD & internet service. Massage, sauna & outdoor pool on podium floor. 24-hour room service plus a choice of fine cruisines: Chinese, Japanese and international dishes. 3 Buffet meals available plus options on a-la-carte from noon. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline and TravelUp so you can book your Grand Mercure Bangkok Fortune reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Mercure Fortune Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Grand Accor Fortune Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing