We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unless you are attending meeting/conference there...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #110 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
HONG KONG
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Unless you are attending meeting/conference there...”
Reviewed 29 May 2012

I stayed there for conference so I didn't really have a choice. To be fair, the rooms are well decorated (minimalistic style) and clean with all the usual facilities of a business hotel and the breakfast is fairly good. The location is one major drawback. The traffic around the hotel is as congested as the rest of the city and although spatially close to the MRT station, it was a 15+ minutes route through a carpark (a shortcut already), a mall, another mall, crowded street market and inconveniently designed footbridge before you can get to it. On the service side, there was no paper slippers on the night I was checked-in, they took the few coins I casually spreaded on the bed linen before rushing for the meeting as tips (in addition to the banknote I put under the cup intentionally as tips). The Internet charge is about USD 25 per day while many tourist hotels in hotel offer complementary wifi nowadays.

Room Tip: If possible, use the approximately hourly shuttle service to Mo Chit BTS station instead of walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YUNG_HK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel S, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 June 2012
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Hong Kong.
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the positive review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
We have taken good note on the transportation hindrances and the tips handling .
In relation with the internet cost, I could suggest , if you decide to come back, that your select our package deal which include free internet access.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,228 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    566
    464
    128
    47
    23
See reviews for
169
305
84
425
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (227)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Singapore
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2012

I recently spent 2 nights at Centara Grand (deluxe room). The hotel was located a distance away from MBK - Siam Paragon shopping belt; the BTS (Mo Chit) was also a 5-min taxi ride away (there is a large mall "Central Plaza" beside the hotel). The hotel looked new though, and has a wide range of services available. The room was relatively smaller but it was very clean and delightfully decorated; however, note that there was no bathtub for deluxe room (if you are looking for an iron and board, there is nil as well in the room). Breakfast was a nice spread and you could expect decent spa services in the hotel.

Thanks for the hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teo_James
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michel S, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 27 May 2012
Dear Mr Teo James
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Singapore.
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
I have taken good note on the ironing services and the bathtub wishes...
We have some deluxe suites which feature a combination of tub and shower stall. Do not hesitate to request it for your next visit..
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noth Carolina
Level Contributor
98 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2012

I recently stayed a couple visits at the Centara Grand Ladprao. A five star property and most of the services show they earned those 5 stars. The Ladprao is a short walk from a nearby MRT station, so it's easy to use mass transit from here, which is a big plus in traffic congested Bangkok. Rooms are comfortable and well-appointed. Bed is very comfortable and I slept well. Central Plaza is a short walk away with plenty of shopping and resaurants. It's also very close to one of my clients in Bangkok which made the ride there short and sweet. Just a couple of shortcomings, nothing major. First, it was 40C when I was there and I had the AC running the entire time, even when I was not in the room. If you like a really cool room, you may be disappointed, at least during the dry hot season. Second, pool is small and not conducive to lap swimming. I have been spoiled by the 50 meter pool at the Dusit Thani in Hua Hin! Other than that, it's a very comfortable place to stay.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 25 May 2012
Dear sir
I Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful State of North Carolina...
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
I have taken good note of the weak Air Conditioning supply which could be improved...
On your next visit, do not hesitate to call upon me for further assistance.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Australia
Level Contributor
85 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2012

We have enjoyed our previous stays at this hotel when it was part of the Accor group and the new owners have maintained the previous great standards. We upgraded to the Club and found the service in the Club Lounge excellent. Breakfasts were plentiful and the drinks and snacks in the evening were enjoyable. The hotel is adjoining a large shopping complex with many food outlets and a huge variety of shops. It is also close to Chatachauk market and the hotel have a free shuttle to a nearby Skytrain station. We were at a Conference at the new Impact centre and although the hotel is not in the city centre it was an easy trip to the Conference.

Room Tip: We felt the extra to upgrade to the Club was well worth the money
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Golfnut3977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 May 2012
Dear Sir
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Melbourne (where I had the privilege to live there for a couple of years....)
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
May I say that actually the owner is still the same, no change there, but indeed we are very proud of the recent refurbishment .
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2012

Was in Bangkok for a meeting with PTT E&P, and chose this hotel for its proximity to their office. Stayed there 2 nights and highly recommend this place if looking for something in the area. The rooms are spacious and very well appointed, the internet connection in the room was great, and the best part (which money usually cannot buy) was the excellent service received. We enjoyed the ambiance and spread at the buffet breakfast and dinner in the Chatuchak Café,

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mervin l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Mr. Mervin
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Although hotel location is not in central bangkok but is is only 10 minutes walk to MRT station. Building is modern, big and clean. Bath room is well equibed. Bed room has enough space to do some exercise in the room. Personnels are freindly and helpful. All in all, nothing to complain.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wjj50200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Sir
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
26 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2012

I stayed at Centara for two nights on a business trip. It was recommended by the local office staff and I am glad I listened to them! It was a first time for me to be in this side of Bangkok – away from the usual hustle and bustle and though I was a bit apprehensive at first I soon realized that the hotel has its own charm and convenience.

Plus points –
Connected to the Central World Shopping Mall. . The mall has many restaurants with all sorts of cuisines so you will never go hungry!
2 mins walk away from Tesco and 7 Eleven.
5 mins taxi ride away from famous Chatachuk market.
Breakfast was great with a mix of international and Thai dishes and fresh fruits.
Rooms were nice – not much fancy but nothing to complain.
English speaking staff – language was not a problem at all.

Minus points –
The hotel seems to be very popular which means you have to wait for 5-10 mins before someone attends to you. I had to get my money exchanged and had to wait for a while at the reception – same during check in and check out! But once they do attend to you they are friendly and don’t take much time.
No tub :( but the rain shower wasn’t that bad either!
Paid Internet service – and you cannot download any movies or songs.
Long taxi ride to the main city area like Sukhumvit.

Overall, a great experience. Strongly recommended for business travellers.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lovetotravelinIndia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chantanat K, General Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 May 2012
Dear Miss
Hope that life is treating you well in your beautiful city of Mumbai...
I would like to thank you not only to have chosen our Hotel for your recent stay, but as well for the nice review and comments you have made about our services and facilities.
I have taken good note of the speed of services which could be improved...
The Centara collaborators are very appreciative and hope to welcome you again soon in Bangkok
Kind Regards
Michel Serrano
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
AETAS bangkok
#71 of 858 in Bangkok
2,018 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#51 of 858 in Bangkok
2,242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Property: Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#98 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern side of Bangkok, within the Ladprao business district and moments away from Chatuchak Park, the five-star Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok is one of the city’s timeless landmarks. The hotel, Thailand’s very first integrated five-star hotel and shopping destination, has a reputation for attentive service, sublime dining with no less than nine restaurants and bars, and bright and spacious rooms and suites of up to 170 square metres. Integral to the hotel is the Bangkok Convention Centre Hall and the Central Plaza shopping and lifestyle centre, together offering all that is needed for guests staying in Bangkok on leisure or business. Modern in style, the 565 rooms and suites command great views of this energetic city or overlook the hotel’s garden and nearby Chatuchak Park, and many can accommodate families in comfort. An oasis in bustling Bangkok, the swimming pool is surrounded by lush gardens and invites our guests to lay back and relax. Moments away from the pool, Spa Cenvaree offers a selection of treatments derived from traditional Thai, Ayurvedic and European therapies and modern rejuvenation practices. There’s also a state-of-the-art fitness centre and sublime meeting venues. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. The hotel enjoys a convenient location, with the expressway and an MRT underground station and BTS Skytrain station minutes away. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. Don Muang International Airport is a 20-minute drive away while Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 35 minutes from the hotel via the elevated highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Fastbooking, Expedia, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing