We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel, out of the way for tourists wanting to see Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #100 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 May 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our holiday before moving on to Koh Samui. The hotel itself is a large and well presented but I would say better suited to business users rather than tourists.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and well equipped and large enough. There are several restaurants in the hotel, we only tried the Thai restaurant in the gardens which was excellent. There is a swimming pool and gym for guests use which was very pleasant and being in the pool in the gardens you can almost forget that you are in Bangkok.

Despite being told that the hotel was conveniently located we did find that it was a little bit too far out of town to make it convenient as a base for seeing Bangkok. The nearest sky train station is about a 30 minute walk away across busy roads. The hotel do offer a shuttle service but due to timings and miss information from the hotel staff we never managed to take this during our stay. Taxis are cheep and plentiful in Bangkok so this became our main mode of transport however due to the city traffic and location of the hotel we frequently spent more than an hour in a taxi ride and found that from some of the more usual tourist areas down town some taxi drivers were reluctant to venture as far as the hotel. We also found that many taxi drivers didn't know the hotel despite us taking the hotels business card with the address and map shown (tip for the hotel include the hotel name and address in Thai for the taxi drivers).

In summary if I was in Bangkok on business I would stay here again but not as a tourist.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Mitchify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It was great to read that you somehow enjoyed our product and service we provided. But it's sadden to hear that our location is not convenient to your recent trip and I would like to apologise that our staff did not provide you information regarding to our shuttle van service to subway and sky train stations which are only 15 minutes away from the hotel.

Kindly ask to contact me once you decide to visit us again as I will personally make sure that your next stay will be perfect with the best service from our entire team.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,401)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

727 - 733 of 1,401 reviews

Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My room is very big and so clean. TV channel is good enough with good signal. Location is near shopping center air port MRT. Breakfast was ok. Staff are helpful and friendly. Wifi internet is inclusive. The price is reasonable and worthy. We will come back again.

Stayed: April 2557
Thank Tikgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you for your positive review you share on Tripadvisort was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Long time we came to this hotel, which had in the garden a super good restaurant. Especialy the soup was good.
In the back corner of the lobby is a small coffee corner, nice to have a coffee there.
We celebrated New year at the pool and had fun.

Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
Thank Jeanny8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and taking time to share your positive experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you had enjoyable stay, especially Suan Bua Thai restaurant in the garden and Cappuccino Corner coffee shop at the lobby floor.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

it's located right next to the central ladprao shopping mall,with a connect floor to the mall, which is very convenient to get anything you need. The hotel location is recommended for travelers who like to explore local shopping places like JJ market (just 5 mins away) or Union Mall (opposite to the hotel) where you can get inexpensive local brand clothes, etc, and interesting souvenirs. There's a subway, MRT, station nearby and the skytrain Jatujak station is 5 mins away. (prefer to take a taxi to the skytrain though cause the subway requires quite some walking). For hotel facilities, the room is quite new since it's newly renovated. The hotel has many of nice restaurants, Thai, Chinese, Vietnamese, Japanese, Italian and International to choose. The international buffet is good. The Thai restaurant is good with ambiance for Thai food experience. For the Japanese one, the food is nice. The hotel staffs are helpful. Overall it meets what a 5 star hotel standard requires. Just right for travelers who wants a 5 star standard and local experience.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LMT1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay. I was also pleased to read how much you enjoyed the food in most of our restaurants that you experienced.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2014

I stayed here a couple of times during transiting via Thai International. This property is quite good. The room was cozy. The food was good. Amazingly, a shopping mall was just next to it. However, you must take a cab if you want to visit the heart of Bangkok...

Room Tip: I guess rooms facing the pool is better than the one facing a hypermart...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DatoMaximusWong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent stay and taking time to share your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to hear that you like our hotel even it was just a short time visit.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

I recently had the pleasure of staying in Bangkok at the Centara and can only give positive feed back. From the moment I stepped out of the taxi until the day I left I was greated by polite and good service.
The Centara as a hotel is very nice form the large lobby at the entrance, multiple dinning areas, pool zone, gym all the way up to the top floor Sky Lounge and Executive Lounge.
The rooms are very nice and clean with have all the item you like from home and more than the regular hotels. There is more than enough space to move around, surprisingly a lot of good movie channels, and a nice view if you're high enough.
But none of this tops the service I received by the girls in the Executive Lounge. They were polite, friendly and very efficient at what they need to do. I never felt like I had been waiting for service and they always did it with a smile. Also spending most of my travels alone I have to thank Joob for helping me with the difficulties of the Thai language.... and also her and Nin for having gone out of their way to help me plan a portion of my vacation out to Phuket as I felt lost. The service from the executive lounge made my stay worth the while.
So if ever you are in the area and have a little extra to spend I would definitely head their way and say high to the girls for me!!!

Thanks for the great stay

Room Tip: The rooms were nice so I guess just ask for a higher floor!!! :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason6969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 29 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you very much for sharing your positive review on Tripadvisor,

I am thrilled to read about your wonderful experience. We endeavor to provide our guests with an ultimate hospitality experience and I am glad to know that in this occasion we were able to exceed your expectations. Your compliments for Joob and Nin, our Club Staff which we already will shared with them and the rest of the team. They are delighted and encouraged with your kind words.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for one month on a business trip. I got the Club level on 22nd floor and the room is comfy & clean with good housekeeping. The staffs at the club lounge are very helpful, friendly and accommodating. The gym and swimming pool here is adequate.
One thing i like about this hotel is the connecting walkway to the shopping mall/cinema beside the hotel. They have shuttles to Mo Chit station and Chatucak Market which I made good use of it. The breakfast at the Lobby has many varieties compared to Club Lounge. I enjoyed,enjoy and will enjoy any further stays I have here.

One thing not so good is the wifi for guest only limited to 2 devices.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
Thank PhillipTeh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much, for taking time to share your positive experience and thank you for choosing our place for your long stay business trip.

We are glad to hear that you indeed enjoyed your stay with us with the comfortable and clean room also good service the Club staff. I will share and compliment them for their good job.

Thank you once again for your stay and sharing your positive comment and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
AETAS bangkok
#66 of 891 in Bangkok
2,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Grand Mercure Bangkok Asoke Residence
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#56 of 891 in Bangkok
2,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#58 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#91 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#105 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £69 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern side of Bangkok, within the Ladprao business district and moments away from Chatuchak Park, the five-star Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok is one of the city’s timeless landmarks. The hotel, Thailand’s very first integrated five-star hotel and shopping destination, has a reputation for attentive service, sublime dining with no less than nine restaurants and bars, and bright and spacious rooms and suites of up to 170 square metres. Integral to the hotel is the Bangkok Convention Centre Hall and the Central Plaza shopping and lifestyle centre, together offering all that is needed for guests staying in Bangkok on leisure or business. Modern in style, the 565 rooms and suites command great views of this energetic city or overlook the hotel’s garden and nearby Chatuchak Park, and many can accommodate families in comfort. An oasis in bustling Bangkok, the swimming pool is surrounded by lush gardens and invites our guests to lay back and relax. Moments away from the pool, Spa Cenvaree offers a selection of treatments derived from traditional Thai, Ayurvedic and European therapies and modern rejuvenation practices. There’s also a state-of-the-art fitness centre and sublime meeting venues. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. The hotel enjoys a convenient location, with the expressway and an MRT underground station and BTS Skytrain station minutes away. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. Don Muang International Airport is a 20-minute drive away while Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 35 minutes from the hotel via the elevated highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelbag, Agoda, LoveHolidays, Ctrip TA, Fastbooking, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing