We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Ranked #112 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
69 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The check- in was smooth, efficient and very professional. What a great first impression the immaculate and articulate front line staff make.
The room was nice and comfortable, we had not booked at the top price range, but it had everything we needed, not that we were in the room very much. The hotel is spotlessly clean with really good facilities such as Gym, Spa & a lovely pool and a variety of restaurants.
The grounds and pool area are beautiful and relaxing, you would never know you were in a city hotel. It is close to the Markets and attached to a large shopping Mall whic can be accessed via the car park - a shopper’s delight.
Do be aware it is quite a distance from the old Siam district but there is good transport very nearby if you feel the need to go there, for us it was a real nice change to try a different district of Bangkok.
The hotel does run a free shuttle out to the weekend markets but you have to make your own way back which was a little problematic for us as its only a 10 min drive away (but far too hot to walk when we were there) & many Taxis would not go on that short journey or tried to charge us 500bht when it was only 200 bht. Maybe it was because it was the Songkran holiday period????
Our favorite restaurant in the hotel was the Suan Bua by the pool. The food and service from all staff and the personal customer interaction at the Thai restaurant was superb.
What a gem and asset lovely Pancha Tailanan the Manager of the restaurant is to the Centra. With her excellent English she gladly assisted us with a miscommunication problem at the Spa which I won’t elaborate on further because it was resolved perfectly with Pancha’s help & we were even able to see the funny side of it all later. We simply mentioned we were going to Hua Hin next & She even went to the trouble of giving us a guide book from her own recent trip there & it was invaluable.
Many thanks to all, particularly Pancha.
Would we go back? ???? Would I recommend to my friends & family???
A resounding YES.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lesley094
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you for your positive review on Tripadvisor. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay. I was also pleased to read how much you enjoyed the food and service from Suan Bua Thai Restaurant, especially the outstanding service from Khun Panicha the restaurant manager. I share your appreciation to her and management team. She hereby would like to thank you for your review, she is delighted and encouraged with your kind words.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,198 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    547
    455
    127
    47
    22
See reviews for
166
295
81
415
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (226)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Grand Centara at Central Plaza is incredible. I have stayed with many luxurious hotels during my lifetime but I have never stayed at one where the staff was so friendly and so warm that they made me feel like like we were almost family. I was here from May 5 to May 15, 2014. The food selection is wonderful and very diverse. The professional staff is always watching to guarantee that you have the time of your life. The hotel has the finest spa I have ever encountered and they will give you a thirty percent discount coupon upon arrival to make your treatment even more enjoyable.

The Chatuchak Cafe has a buffet that will blow your mind for three meals a day. You literally cannot believe all of the options that are available to you.

The Dynasty Chinese Restaurant is terrific as well.

The view from the 24th floor rooftop Sky Bar is awesome.

I really can't say enough about the Centara Grand. I will tell all of my friends to come here and I will be back myself as soon as possible.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank runie123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay with most of our products and service you had experienced. I was also pleased to read here we all make you feel like home.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you (and also some of your friends in the future) in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hanoi, Vietnam
Level Contributor
102 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 May 2014

As always. We had the pleasure of staying at this beautiful hotel for our long weekend.We stayed for two nights and yes, totally enjoyed the hotel so much.

Something that i love about Centara Grand Hotels, they're all connected to the shopping places BUT before i go further, let me first mention that our long weekend was so awesome!

SPA - When we arrived that afternoon, we thought to book a SPA for two at the SPA Cenvaree. Totally enjoyed that 2 hours of relaxation, both me and my husband had a great time.

THAI RESTAURANT - After our SPA... that evening, we went to the Thai Restaurant which is located near the pool area. We love the Thai food here, we enjoyed our Tom Kha Gai: We asked the chef to make it not to spicy for us to enjoy! yummy!

HAGI JAPANESE RESTAURANT - The next day, we went to the Japanese restaurant. I just love their vegetarian menu. You can actually choose what you want.

Something that i love from the hotel, are the awesome hotel staff. They are really accommodating, friendly and professionals - you will feel the Thai Hospitality.

I have nothing negative to say about this hotel at all. Our room was very nice and super clean with a very nice comfortable bed. I always love when find your comfort zone so quickly like that. It is hard for me to sleep well on travel, huge and comfy pillows!

SHOPPING - as i mentioned earlier. Shopping is really good here too. Its a walking distance! Very easy to find and you will never get lost.

Lastly, the hotel is also close to Chatuchak park. Huge park in the city of Bangkok. I went there for a walk before checking out. Thought to hire a bicycle but i prefer walking, instead.

Oh well, that's it. I love to come back again whenever. Its hard to find establishments with great customer service skills and most of them that i encountered during our weekend are really good.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms viewing the park. Its good to view the city and some greens when you open your curt...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MLORNA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you for your wonderful review on Tripadvisor. It was great to read how much you and your husband enjoyed your stay in our hotel. I was also pleased to read how much appreciated the great "Thai" hospitality service from our staff.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
maryland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

This was a usual hotel and maybe two steps above the quality of a US Holiday Inn. It was close to the majority of all the temples and not too far from the Grand Palace.

The problem I had with this hotel was leaving the breakfast buffet. It was the Largest Asian food bonanza I have ever seen. You should get up an hour early just to explore it!!

Overall, tips in this hotel go a long way.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pimptown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you for your positive review. It's sadden that you missed our buffet breakfast. I wish you will have more time for your next stay to experience it.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grand Rapids, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014

The list of appealing aspects to the Centara Grand is long - nicely appointed rooms/facilities, very good food/restaurant choices, convenient location attached to the ladprao shopping mall & just off a main highway artery to downtown Bangkok, Int'l Airport & just minutes from Don Meung domestic airport; professional, courteous & attentive staff; and all reasonably priced (plus coupons are provided at check-in!). I will plan to stay at the Centara Grand again & again!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. It was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay. I was also pleased to read how much you appreciated the service from our staff that they are professional, courteous & attentive, I will definitely share among team
Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again and again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights at the start of our holiday before moving on to Koh Samui. The hotel itself is a large and well presented but I would say better suited to business users rather than tourists.

Staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was comfortable and well equipped and large enough. There are several restaurants in the hotel, we only tried the Thai restaurant in the gardens which was excellent. There is a swimming pool and gym for guests use which was very pleasant and being in the pool in the gardens you can almost forget that you are in Bangkok.

Despite being told that the hotel was conveniently located we did find that it was a little bit too far out of town to make it convenient as a base for seeing Bangkok. The nearest sky train station is about a 30 minute walk away across busy roads. The hotel do offer a shuttle service but due to timings and miss information from the hotel staff we never managed to take this during our stay. Taxis are cheep and plentiful in Bangkok so this became our main mode of transport however due to the city traffic and location of the hotel we frequently spent more than an hour in a taxi ride and found that from some of the more usual tourist areas down town some taxi drivers were reluctant to venture as far as the hotel. We also found that many taxi drivers didn't know the hotel despite us taking the hotels business card with the address and map shown (tip for the hotel include the hotel name and address in Thai for the taxi drivers).

In summary if I was in Bangkok on business I would stay here again but not as a tourist.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitchify
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you for your review on Tripadvisor. It was great to read that you somehow enjoyed our product and service we provided. But it's sadden to hear that our location is not convenient to your recent trip and I would like to apologise that our staff did not provide you information regarding to our shuttle van service to subway and sky train stations which are only 15 minutes away from the hotel.

Kindly ask to contact me once you decide to visit us again as I will personally make sure that your next stay will be perfect with the best service from our entire team.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phuket, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014 via mobile

My room is very big and so clean. TV channel is good enough with good signal. Location is near shopping center air port MRT. Breakfast was ok. Staff are helpful and friendly. Wifi internet is inclusive. The price is reasonable and worthy. We will come back again.

Stayed April 2557
Helpful?
Thank Tikgig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CGLB, Manager at Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Guest,

Sawasdee ka from Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok!

Thank you for your positive review you share on Tripadvisort was great to read how much you enjoyed your stay.

Thank you once again and we are looking forward to welcome you in our hotel again soon!

Best Regards,
Sunyata Jedcharoenruk(Ms.)
Quality Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Sathorn
AETAS lumpini
AETAS lumpini
#50 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#64 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,002 reviews
AETAS bangkok
#70 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,989 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok

Property: Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok
Address: 1695 Phaholyothin Road | Chatuchak, Bangkok 10900, Thailand (Formerly Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chatuchak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#100 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 565
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located on the northern side of Bangkok, within the Ladprao business district and moments away from Chatuchak Park, the five-star Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok is one of the city’s timeless landmarks. The hotel, Thailand’s very first integrated five-star hotel and shopping destination, has a reputation for attentive service, sublime dining with no less than nine restaurants and bars, and bright and spacious rooms and suites of up to 170 square metres. Integral to the hotel is the Bangkok Convention Centre Hall and the Central Plaza shopping and lifestyle centre, together offering all that is needed for guests staying in Bangkok on leisure or business. Modern in style, the 565 rooms and suites command great views of this energetic city or overlook the hotel’s garden and nearby Chatuchak Park, and many can accommodate families in comfort. An oasis in bustling Bangkok, the swimming pool is surrounded by lush gardens and invites our guests to lay back and relax. Moments away from the pool, Spa Cenvaree offers a selection of treatments derived from traditional Thai, Ayurvedic and European therapies and modern rejuvenation practices. There’s also a state-of-the-art fitness centre and sublime meeting venues. The hotel’s dining venues include Blue Sky Rooftop restaurant & bar, locally-acclaimed Vietnamese, Italian and Thai restaurants, and a Chinese restaurant which features a very popular dim sum lunch. The hotel enjoys a convenient location, with the expressway and an MRT underground station and BTS Skytrain station minutes away. Chatuchak Park and shopping opportunities of Chatuchak market are accessed by complimentary shuttle service. Don Muang International Airport is a 20-minute drive away while Suvarnabhumi International Airport is approximately 35 minutes from the hotel via the elevated highway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Fastbooking, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Centara Grand at Central Plaza Ladprao Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Centara Grand Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Accor Centara Grand Bangkok
Sofitel Bangkok
Bangkok Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing