We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Duchess Hotel and Residences
Ranked #254 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dublin, Ireland
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Excellent location”
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

Well located hotel near a large park, the embassies and the shopping district. Adequately sized rooms with a very good buffet breakfast. Nice pool and gym but a small number of sun loungers. Check out the excellent cafés located in the "Portico" further up the street. Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank DavidF8949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

533 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    272
    62
    11
    8
See reviews for
68
131
45
51
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Launceston, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 January 2014 via mobile

This hotel suited our family needs perfectly while we stayed for 4 nights over the new year period. The first of many hotels we stayed at during our 4 week holiday in Thailand. We had a corner 1 bedroom suite which was clean and comfortable. We had an extra bed for my daughter which they set up in the lounge area but with a little rearranging we moved the bed into our room which was still roomy even with the extra bed in it. This meant we were able to close the double sliding door to the bedroom so we could watch tv without disturbing the sleeping child. The bathroom was huge and the lounge and kitchen area were also a good size, the windows were large and covered most of the corner lounge room, so we never felt we were boxed in. The only down side would be the room and furnishings were a little tired, however the hotel is in the process of renovating the rooms and in the lift/elevator they had comparison photos of the old and new.
The staff were helpful, friendly and professional. One of the things I really liked about this hotel was that they didn't have a restriction on door cards. I think at one point we had 4 of them. I know this sounds silly but in 1 hotel we stayed at they only allowed 1 key card per room which also activated the air con and lights, so if the husband went out with the card, Id have to ask reception to open my door but they wouldn't leave me a card to operate the air con or lights. The breakfast was lovely, which included an egg station where you could get eggs cooked any which way. Happy hour at the bar included wine, which is really expensive in Thailand. A 7/11, many massage places and good restaurants line the street just outside the hotel. We were in walking distance, approx 10-15 minutes to Central world for the New Year celebrations. Also within walking distance is Limpini park and the sky train station, which is only 2 stops away from MBK shopping plaza.
All in all this hotel ticked most of the boxes, pool for the kids, great breakfast, large rooms and well located.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
3 Thank Fiona T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmö, Skåne Län, Sweden
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 January 2014

The property has an excellent location. The rooms are some of the biggest I've seen for the price. The staff is very professional and there is a nice pool and Gym.

You can walk out of the hotel to nice restaurants within 5 minutes. The Sky Train is only a 7 minutes walk and you can walk to Central World within 10 minutes.

I really enjoyed my stay here and would come back again.

Room Tip: ask for a renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 January 2014

The hotel room itself deserves three stars, but the location and service deserve four to four and a half stars. My husband and I stayed there for eight days, from the end of December into January.

Pros:
- Location. Natural Ville is a five-minute walk from BTS Chitlom and just down the street from beautiful Lumpini Park. There are also two 7/11s between the hotel and Chitlom (which I highly recommend for water and cheap drinks to keep in your room; A bottle of water at 7/11 is 7 baht, and a beer is 56 baht). There's also a decent selection of restaurants and massage parlors (legit ones, not those that offer happy endings ;-) ) nearby as well. If you don't mind walking, it's near enough to Centralworld and Siam to reach on foot (about 15 minutes). Its location in the middle of Bangkok makes it easy to access the temples and old town near the river as well as the craziness of Nana and Soi Cowboy.

- Cost. Despite the fact that my husband and I were traveling to the largest city in Thailand smack dab in the middle of peak tourist season, the price of our room (studio, which included breakfast) was very well within our budget.

- Service. The staff were always friendly and helpful. The waiters at breakfast were cheerful and kept the buffet well-stocked. I was surprised at the amount of food there was to offer at breakfast; there were traditional European-style options such as pastries, meats, cheeses, yogurt, and fruit, but there were also American-style options such as bacon, omelets, and hashbrowns and Thai/Chinese foods like boiled rice with shrimp and fried noodles with vegetables. Also, the guard at the front entrance helped us flag down metered taxis promptly, and even told the taxi drivers in Thai where we were heading, which kept confusion to minimum. (The only exception was when we wanted to go to Khao San road one night, when literally none of the taxis that came by would turn on their meter -- not surprising, given that Khao San is a prime tourist spot and pretty much only accessible via taxi.) There's also free wi-fi.

- Bar. There was live music every night, and the prices for cocktails weren't totally outrageous (still a little steep, though, as is common in Bangkok).

Cons:
- Room. We stayed in a studio room that overlooked the hotel next to us and an alleyway. The room was spacious enough, but there were a few odd setbacks, such as the lack of a clock in the room, hardly any overhead lighting, and the shower, which always leaked water onto the bathroom floor. There also weren't many hangers provided, and there was minimal storage for our clothes and pretty much none for our suitcases (not a huge deal for us, though). There was a water boiler for instant coffee/tea, but no coffeemaker. The hotel also doesn't offer any room service.

- Pool. You have to trek up a narrow spiral staircase to access the pool, and I didn't see an elevator, so it does not appear to be handicapped-accessible (although I could be mistaken; check with the hotel before basing your decision solely upon that reason). There is no pool bar (which is probably not a big deal for a lot of people, but I like sipping cocktails poolside!) or jacuzzi. It's pretty much just a small, rectangular pool with some cots around it.

- Restaurant. Although the breakfast buffet was wonderful, the restaurant during the evening offered a limited selection, and it was overpriced.

Overall, if you're on a budget but want to experience the beauty and vivaciousness of Bangkok without staying in a hostel (or if you're staying for an extended amount of time and don't want to break the bank), I'd recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SaraBess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

Spacious and clean room. Great location. It has a kitchen with all utensils available. Hotel is going through renovation so some floors might be noisy. A tad expensive but will definitely consider staying again.

Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Nakedcrib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pasig, Philippines
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 216 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Natural ville is located just in front of Marriott Executive residences at Lumpini. Our taxi driver was not familiar of Natural ville but it was not difficult to find since it's just across the street.

Check in was fast and there are few elevators so it didn't take us too long to get in to our room. One bedroom is very spacious, comfortable bed, spotless clean and very homey. There is even kitchen with all the cooking utensils you will need if ever you feel like cooking and a supermarket across the street. 7/11 is few minutes walk. Spa is just around the corner.

I also recommend their croissants which are really delicious. Staffs at the breakfast buffet are very polite and helpful. There are also restaurants near natural ville.

Aside from the room, we also like the most is the location. Natural ville is quite close to BTS Chitlom exit, along mercury ville mall. I would recommend you to take the Chitlom exit than the Ratchadamri exit because at Chitlom it's just across the street but if you'll take the Ratchadamri exit, you will pass through street and quite dark alleys (ESP at night). So safety is not guaranteed.

Staffs are very helpful on getting us metered taxi. To patpong only costs us 47 baht. From Patpong, few minutes walk is the BTS Sala Daeng. Taxi drivers at Patpong charge us 200 Baht to natural ville. So we took the BTS instead.

Lumpini park is few minutes walk and Erawan shrine (take the Chitlom exit).

We stayed 2 nights at 12th floor. Renovation is on going but it never bothered us.

We really love this place. If only we knew that this is as wonderful as we imagined, we wouldn't take the 2 nights riverside hotel anymore. Thank you very much Natural ville. If we'll go back to bangkok, we will definitely stay at Natural ville.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shan_the_explorer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ho Chi Minh City, Vietnam
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Rooms are spacious, with very nice designe. Ideal for people, who travel with friends or just need some space to work and relax, since rooms are equiped with office table and have separete living space. The only thing that is still unclear to me: why somebody decised to move the sink out of the bathroom in the room.
Location is perfect if you want to visit the city of have some fun. Within 15 min walk from the hotel you will find a lot of restaurants, bars, shopping malls and a park.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Katya_HCM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.0 mi away
Centre Point Hotel Chidlom
Centre Point Hotel Chidlom
#75 of 862 in Bangkok
639 reviews
3.5 mi away
All Together Suite
All Together Suite
#660 of 862 in Bangkok
27 reviews
0.2 mi away
Cape House, Bangkok
Cape House, Bangkok
#68 of 862 in Bangkok
645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Bliston Suwan Park View
Bliston Suwan Park View
#231 of 862 in Bangkok
596 reviews
6.5 mi away
Livotel Bangkok
Livotel Bangkok
#454 of 862 in Bangkok
36 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Fifth Residence
The Fifth Residence
#136 of 650 in Bangkok
48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duchess Hotel and Residences? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duchess Hotel and Residences

Property: The Duchess Hotel and Residences
Address: 61 Langsuan Road, Lumpini | Pathumwan, Bangkok 10330, Thailand (Formerly Natural Ville Executive Residences)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#136 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#144 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#179 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — The Duchess Hotel and Residences 4*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Prestigia, ACCOR, Agoda, Hotels.com, Priceline, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Hotel.de, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your The Duchess Hotel and Residences reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Natural Ville Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Natural Ville Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Natural Ville

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing