We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“romantic and relaxing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #17 of 887 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2013

I've been here before and would go back. It's a lovely getaway from the hustle and bustle of Bangkok while still within the city. The service is fantastic, people friendly and I just can't say enough of this wonderful hotel. I was there with my same-sex partner to attend my sister's wedding and we decided we'd make it a mini-honeymoon since we married in March. The staff made us feel welcome and at ease. Well done!!

Room Tip: Would definitely recommend the extra few dollars to get the Riverside rooms. The sunrise is gloriou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MWSims888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (6,292)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3,009 - 3,015 of 6,292 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Great value. Large rooms. Also nice being on the water across from the night market. The staff was always welcoming and helpful with our plentiful questions. We were out and about all day so didn't use the pool, but it looked nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LTDiamond14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2013 via mobile

We preferred being away from the hustle of central Bangkok for a few days and this place was just right. A nice large pool area, large buffets for breakfast and dinner at a reasonable price and a big clean room. Service was excellent too. Our bags were delayed when we arrived and, without asking, the hotel reception helped organise their delivery from the airline. The river views are very nice and the ferry across to the Skytrain station (and the night market in the evenings) departs every 30 minutes from the hotel pier. Would stay again.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank AndrewKeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

The hotel looks wonderful and very professional. Welcome by te receptionstaff is superb. I booked a superior room with balcony/riverview and found it excellent. Hardly any citynoise, just riversounds! Room was very good in design, comfort and ammenities, but it could have done with a few extra square meters. The choice of restaurants is wonderful and the thai-food that I ate here was simply delicious. Breakfast was excellent and it is nice that they have a Maitre D who seats guests. Staff is courteous and pleasant. The boat shuttleservice works like a clock. In short: a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 December 2013

Stayed in the deluxe room in North wing which has not been renovated yet but the room was fine, the king bed was cosy which condition, large flat screen TV, the bathroom was clean but fit with combination of shower and bath. The refrigerator was a bit old and had bad smell.

The check in and out process was ok which I had to wait a moment (about 5 minutes) to be served due to many guests to manage at the same time at busy checking in and out times.

Trader Vic's was great which reasonable price for city hotel restaurant and romantic river view.

Room Tip: Check out premiere room in south wing for newly refurnished room which separate bath and shower.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JK4Yang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Going to Bangkok is always a bit of a mixed bag: great city with lots of things to do and see. While then you'll really be exhausted after a full day of sightseeing, in desperate need for a place to relax and be treated.

Anantara Riverside Hotel is just such a place - and it was a joy to stay here again after our first stay two years ago. It was good to see that this hotel consistently delivers what we like about it - and did not lose in any of the other points so important for a hotel.

What makes it the amlost perfcet choice for us are its great location on the west bank of Chao Phraya river, which gives it a bit of a remote feeling from the hustle & bustle of the city. The hotel boat runs reliably every 30 minutes from Sathorn Pier, where you can coveniently switch over from the Skytrain or the Express Tourist boat to be right in the center of it all.

Second major argument is the hotel's lush pool area with lots of green which makes you almost feel like in a tropical resort. Far from other hotel pools we know which are OK, but hardly ever make you feel away from the city.

We've been to the Anantara for the first time two years ago when the property was just taken over by Anantara. While the hotel is not the youngest, it is very well taken care of by the management. It doesn't feel shabby at all, I would call it "aged well" and I mean just this: you can feel that the hotel is not brand new, but that gives everything the feel of absolute authenticity. Unlike some brand new hotels which sometimes feel more like Disneyland, everything feels genuine and very well maintained at the Anantara.

The rooms are absolutely up to expectations with all amenities one would expect. They are large with beautiful wooden floors and very comfy beds. Bathrooms are OK, nothing like the fancy rainforest showers or anything, but solid, clean and functional. Wifi worked well and reasonably quick in the room as well as everywhere in the hotel and if you can't get along without flatscreen TV and in-room DVD player: they are there, of course. Room service took a bit long occassionally (maids only came at around 4PM) but the hotel was fully booked over Christmas, though.

Although it was, it never felt crowded and the service immaculate except for the late housekeeping.

Our absolute favourite next to the superior pool area was breakfast. I frequently spend time in hotels around the globe and come to appreciate some really good breakfasts, but Anantara's breakfast buffet surpassed everything I have ever experienced! What a great start into the day, sitting on the shady terrace and chose from everything, started with the standard egg choices, juices, tropical fruit selections, overwhelming choice of freshly made items from the bakery to all sorts of Asian breakfast, including Sushi (if your gut is ready for this in the morning). Only coffee doesn't fully live up to this standard being poured out of thermos which makes it more like an awful American brew rather than tasty coffee.

Prices at the restaurants are considerably higher than anything you would find around the corner. But then this is Bangkok where you will find great food at every corner for very reasonable prices. And would you want to have dinner at an Italian restaurant in the hotel anyway when in Bangkok? Anyway the hotel offers some good restaurant choices if you prefer to dine in the hotel. We tried the food at the pool and on the terrace of the Longtail Bar close to the pier or the hotel ferry and were amazed with the quality every time!

Speaking of the ferry: since opening of the Asiatique Nightmarket which is right on the opposite side of the river from the Anantara, the hotel boat runs there every 30 minutes as well, making it very convenient to get there in just about 5 minutes and dive into the latest shopping, entertainment and restaurant dorado Bangkok has to offer.

We can happily recommend to stay at the Anantara as a great basecamp to explore what Bangkok has to offer!

Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
3  Thank bidione
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 December 2013

Fantastic 5 stars hotel. All have been planned you enjoy your stay. Big rooms , incredible breakfast , professional personnel. It is a gem for relaxing far away from noisy bangkok. Boat shuttle to quickly reach sapham taksin skytrain station or Asiatique new huge market area along river.,just opposite riverside anantara hotel. The paradise is there, don't miss it.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jeanp22002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 887 in Bangkok
8,549 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#41 of 887 in Bangkok
6,585 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 887 in Bangkok
4,531 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#12 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#16 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £78 - £274 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, Travelbag, TravelUp, Expedia, Splitty, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing