We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn"t have been nicer”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #21 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Little Falls, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Couldn"t have been nicer”
Reviewed 26 April 2014

The staff/room/pool/breakfast/grounds-were all wonderful. The location away from the hustle and bustle was great.But there was a free shuttle boat to central pier and easy access to the river ferries and the sky train.We loved our stay there.

Room Tip: There is construction going on across from the entrance/Rooms overlooking the river have great views
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank kerry c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear kerry c,
It is great to hear that you loved your stay with us, as much as we loved having you experience our legendary hospitality for which Anantara is known for.

It would be wonderful to see you again for another Anantara experience.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,637 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,947
    1,311
    271
    80
    28
See reviews for
1,527
2,452
245
378
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,019)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights with our two children and had a great time. The room was incredibly spacious with a lovely view over the river. The pool was a welcome oasis after a hot day sightseeing and was in a beautiful setting so it was hard to believe you were in a city. The buffet in the waterside restaurant for breakfast and dinner was outstanding and the Thai dancing was very entertaining. There was a regular shuttle boat which took you to a great night market and pier to get connecting boats for sight seeing.

Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank kazclem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear kazclem,
How lovely it is to read about your family’s holiday at our Resort. I am glad that you took advantage of facilities in particular our spectacular swimming pool surrounded by lush greenery, our buffet offers with cultural performances at dinner and the easy accessibilities offered by our complimentary shuttle boat services.

Please let me know when your travels bring you back to this side of the city, as it would be wonderful to welcome you again for another riverside Resort experience.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Basingstoke, hampshire
Level Contributor
248 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 180 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights in April and had an amazing time.
Even before we arrived we had contacted the hotel on numerous occasions to upgrade our room and book restaurants / general enquiries and each time they responded quickly and were very helpful.

Upon arrival we were greeted with cold towels and a drink and taken to our room, on the way the lady that checked us in told us all about the hotel and services. It is a beautiful hotel, the grounds are amazing!
We booked a riverfront deluxe room and it was beautiful... balcony, huge bed and TV, lovely big bathroom and beautifully decorated.
There was a good selection of English speaking channels with movies, air con was good, mini bar and free water each day which was great :-)

We booked a different restaurant each night, the riverside terrace on night one and despite us having already booked this they still made us aware that we could have the 2 for 1 on the meal that night which was very honest of them as they didn't need to tell us that.
Riverside terrace had an amazing buffet, Thai dancing and a wonderful ambience.

The second night we did the dining by design, which was a fairy lit pagoda set by the river just for one couple a night with a fixed menu of your choice... just magical!

The third night we ate in the trader vics restaurant, again excellent food and service and there was dancers, fire shows and singers....

We also ate at the pool side restaurant and drank cocktails in the pool... happy hour between 4pm-6pm so 2 for one which was great!

There were numerous other places to eat but we didn't have chance to try them.

One thing I noticed on reviews before going was people complaining about the cost of food. We ate in many more local restaurants before coming to this hotel so I know there is a price difference.. that said it is completely justified! We went to the Asiatique and couldn't find anywhere that was even close to the service, food and ambience this hotel offers at meal times.
We ate here 4 times and each time we received excellent service, everyone was very friendly and helpful.. the food was AMAZING and the ambience and shows you experience over meal times is top class! For what we had at meal times we thought we had excellent value for money and you just couldn't get this kind of experience in England for anywhere near the cost they charge so to those people complaining, I would say if you want to just eat.. then yes you can go somewhere cheaper. But if you want a truly memorable and special occasion and value for money eat at the Anantara!!

The pool was gorgeous, with swim up bar. Cocktails were excellently made and well presented... each night they did a lighting ceremony around the pool which was lovely!

The Manager actually came up to people around the pool and asked how their stay was.. we had the pleasure of talking to him on our first day and he handed his business card and asked us to get in touch if there was anything we didn't like.... amazing service! He was very friendly and helpful and promised to come and find us over dinner the next night with some information we wanted about our next destination... true to his word he did! We really were treated like we were the only people at the hotel and very special :-)

We had also mentioned it was our anniversary and we received a cake and card from the management in our room which was extremely thoughtful and made it even more special.

Key points for people staying here
Free towels at the pool
Breakfast is amazing
Book the different restaurants - all look amazing!
Free boat to asia tique the shopping mall across the river
Book a riverview room if you can afford it they are beautiful
I cannot recommend dining by design enough for a special occasion... it was such a beautiful night

Overall this is the best hotel we have ever stayed in for value for money, experience, ambience, the staff were brilliant, just the whole thing, we absolutely loved it!!

Thank you for making our trip so memorable :-)

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Traveller1986Em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear blondeEm1986,
Thank you for the time and effort taken to share your Anantara Bangkok Riverside experience so genuinely. It is such a pleasure to know how much you had enjoyed our resort and its facilities, having taken advantage of the various benefits and specials we had offered especially for dining.

‘Dining by Design’ is exclusive to Anantara and I am especially happy that you found this experience magical as this is what we envisaged when the idea for such a dining experience was first introduced.

The little touches such as the Torch Lighting Ceremony, the visuality of our senior associates and the personalised service, just to name a few, are the factors that make us unique.

Your positive and encouraging words are a testament to our commitment for excellence in service delivery and we will strive to ensure that is maintained at all times.

I would like you to write to me directly on your next visit to Bangkok, as I would love to ensure that you receive the attention and welcome you are now accustomed to at our riverside haven.

I look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

This is our first visit to Thailand so we reviewed, reviewed and reviewed many hotels until finally deciding on this one. Despite one or two negative reviews (which I have no idea what these people are on about!) we decided to stay here due to it's location being just outside the main hustle and bustle and also the relaxed vibe you sense from the pictures which seems a rarity in Bangkok with it's sky scraper hotels and business/conference feel about many a hotel.

From the moment we arrived to now (we are leaving in the morning!) I can honestly say the service, cleanliness, helpful attitude of all staff (too many individual names to mention) food, drink, transport (shuttle boats) entertainment, pool and facilities have been that of a 5* hotel.

Our rooms were left spotless each day, the communal areas were so clean you could not find a fault, the pool and loungers always had fresh towels on, the staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful and the food was lovely. Especially the traditional pad Thai!

Some people have complained of the location but personally we found it perfect. Close enough to be within 10 minutes reach of everything but far enough away to actually relax, unwind and to feel like your on holiday. The shuttle boats are regular and free and taxis are very cheap also. 90-130 baht (£1.80 - £2.50 approx) to get to all the main evening spots.

The hotel is also not a tall skyscraper style building and you feel you are in a tropical and traditional paradise not in the capital city with conferences going on all around you. Which is always a nice touch at the end of the day. As is the gorgeous pool and traditional poolside entertainment which occurs around 6:10, another rarity in the area. Much nicer than these small rooftop pools.

As for the reviews moaning about the building work on the shopping complex next door, yes it's unsightly as you drive past to get to the hotel and your heart sinks slightly when you arrive but once inside you wouldn't even know. No noise, couldn't see it and never heard one person mention it.

We are already hoping to return to Thailand next year she we will most certainly be returning here.

Too marks 10 out of 10

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank helen m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear helen m,
A perfect 10 out of 10, I am humbled and I thank you for sharing your wonderful experience. It is always a great pleasure to read about how much our guests had enjoyed their stay with us, and believe me, your review is a joy to read and the positive impression you have shown of our resort is truly appreciated.

Thank you for noticing the little things that make any stay with us unique and for recognizing the efforts we put in.

Please write to me directly when you plan to visit us again next year, as it would be my pleasure to offer you another amazing Anantara experience by the riverbanks of the Chao Phraya river.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014 via mobile

Thank you anantara riverside for hitting the mark on every level. Check in was quick, professional and calm. The pool is wonderful. Breakfast and buffet dinner are first rate and the regular water boat shuttle to Asiatique and the Skytrain stop were brilliant (the ice cold towels handed out on the return journey back to the hotel were inspired after 37C in the city!) A big thank you to the boat driver for the biggest smiles.

Our two children were made to feel so welcome with personalised elephant cookies on their beds on arrival and thoughtful beach bags.

We stayed at the anantara in bohput-samui and can't recommend this chain highly enough. We are already looking at returning to Thailand in 2015 and Anantara will be top of our list

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank KJ6200
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear KJ6200,
I am pleased to learn of your wonderful stay with us as well as your stay at our sister property in Bophut. Thank you for the nice choice of words to describe how much you had enjoyed your experience with us and for recognizing the small touches that made up your memory of a fantastic holiday.

We look forward to seeing you next year, and please write to me directly as it would be my pleasure to welcome you personally.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We decided to spoil ourselves in Bangkok so booked a Premier Suite with Riverview room and joined the Kesara Lounge as well. Our suite was absolutely fabulous with separate dining, lounge bedroom and bathroom, even with a guest toilet and a wine fridge. This is the most luxurious stay we have ever had, and the price was really good compared to other accommodation places in Bangkok.

Our check in, in the Kesara Lounge, was handled really well, in comfort, and without any hassles, and then we were taken to our rooms to settle in. What a surprise to see our accommodation, and the outside corner balcony allowed us great views of the river and across to the Bangkok Eye Ferris Wheel.

Anantara is a little bit out of the main city of Bangkok, which we preferred, but they provide free river transport to various spots that you might like to visit. They have a number of different restaurants to tempt you and the pool area was great.

The Kesara Lounge was available for continental breakfast, if you preferred not to join the main breakfast restaurant, but we much preferred visiting there for late afternoon cocktails and finger food before dinner. The staff there were fabulous, as was the food and the drinks.

We highly recommend this establishment if you are wanting to spoil yourselves when visiting Bangkok. We thought the value was great.

Room Tip: Premier suite with river view was opulent. Definitely recommend this if you want to spend a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Di S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Di S,
I am pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, in particular the benefits of the Kasara Lounge and the Resort’s amazing leisure and dining facilities.

Thank you for your kind comments and we hope to see you soon for another memorable Anantara experience.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dusseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2014

It's true that this hotel is a little away from the city, but not enough to be an inconvenience and the fact that they have a hotel boat to take you across the river, directly to the train station is just another excellent feature of the hotel.

After a busy day in the city, it was always a pleasure to return to this wonderful hotel and relax.

Excellent, friendly service and very comfortable, I can't fault the place.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Dear Billy C,
Thank you for your kind feedback and I hope we will see you again for another wonderful Anantara experience.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,298 reviews
Pathumwan
Anantara Siam Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#20 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Agoda, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Prestigia, Priceline, Southall Travel, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing