We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wow wow wow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #24 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
141 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Wow wow wow”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014 via mobile

First time staying at this hotel usually stay elsewhere, but will definitely be going back. From check in the staff were so polite and friendly, the room 288 was gorgeous everything you could possibly require and free wifi. The bbq buffet was exceptional along with the breakfast. The swimming pool was large and a haven of flowers and trees you wouldn't know you were in the middle of a busy city.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Glennyfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,406 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,769
    1,263
    264
    84
    26
See reviews for
1,472
2,354
235
339
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,001)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
132 reviews
110 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 113 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2014

There are some Hotel stays that stand apart from the rest, this was one of them. Every staff member from cleaner, to receptionist greeted with us with a welcome and a smile. Fabulous pool area with tropical gardens around giving a sense of calm in the middle of a busy city. Rooms are elegant, contemporary and very comfortable (we even had a coffee pod machine). Free ferry shuttle across to a local night market (good option for a budget meal), many lovely restaurants, but they are a little expensive. We ate at the Italian and it was superb. We had a bit of an issue with noise which kept us awake late into the night and we slept through the alarm. The reception staff immediately organised a late checkout and as we had missed breakfast, organised a complimentary meal in their cafe. This is the sort of service you expect from a Hotel of this calibre, and Anantara delivers. 10/10 to management and staff... exceptional ...we can't wait to come back.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank yogaflowjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 28 July 2014
Dear Yogaflowjo,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experiences. Glad you enjoyed our swimming pool and our Italian restaurant but it gives me great pleasure to see that the team managed to recover your day by providing an alternative for breakfast. We look forward having you as our guest again soon.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

The setting is idyllic and the Asiatique market across the river is a good place to go to, if one feels too guilty being lazy. The resort has a free boat service every 30 minutes. We've travelled quite a bit as a family and this time we didn't want to plan our holiday. As a result, just landed up in Bangkok and the hotel staff took care of the rest - Thai hospitality at its best. Must make special mention of Mr. Visono at the Concierge who made all the sight seeing arrangements and local translation. The breakfast at the Market Place was the highlight of the stay. The spread is amazing and the ambience by the riverside, very relaxing. The only downside though, we didn't get good views of the river though we were upgraded to premier rooms as we stayed there for 5 nights. Worth it!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Harsha_Rao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear Harsha_Rao,
Thank you for your kind words on your stay with us at Anantara Bangkok Riverside. It is indeed great to know that you enjoyed our locality and the easy accessibility provided by our regular shuttle boat service.

Your mention of our warm gracious Thai hospitality and the recognition of our associate in particular is greatly appreciated – thank you.

We look forward to seeing you and your family again for another great riverside experience!

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manama, Bahrain
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 July 2014

Our second time in Thailand, we certainly wanted to spend a couple of nights in Bangkok. Choosing Anantara Riverside was a no-brainer. We like to stay outside the center of the city, and found the riverside location, just accross from Asiatique to be unbeatable. The hotel provides a complimentary river shuttle service that brought us close to all the shopping malls in Bangkok (from Saphan Taksin sky train station it's only 10 minutes by metro).

The wide offering of restaurants, bars and lounges kept us well-entertained. And during the WorldCup, the hotel even opened the hotel bar at 3am in the morning, so we were able to watch the Dutch soccer team in Brazil.

The hotel is undergoing a renovation, but we didnt see or hear any of this work going on. The hotel closed an entire wing, ensuring that none of the guests were inconvenienced in any way.

Service at Anantara is extremely good. Intuitive and professional, there only when you need it. We had a super time. Anantara Bangkok Riverside - Thank You!

Room Tip: Check out Asiatique across the river for a great shopping experience. The hotel restaurants, however...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PatrickdeGroot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear pdegroot2712,
How wonderful it is to read about your stay with us and how the little pleasures that we have provided had made a difference to your experience, thank you.

I am glad you were able to enjoy the World Cup in the comfort of our resort as well as enjoy the various dining and entertainment available.

Thank you for highlighting our service ethos so wonderfully, this is what we strive for, to ensure that our valued guests receive the comfort and experience that they deserve.

Thank you to you too for being a fabulous guest!

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We stayed here for part of our honeymoon. We actually stayed there in May 2014, traveled around Thailand and then instead of staying at another hotel in another area in Bangkok before our flight out, we decided to stay at the Anantara again for a few days. We absolutely loved it. It is a gorgeous property and so unexpected in such a large city setting. It was the best of both worlds - it was a getaway but also, close to most things we wanted to do. The night market, Asiatique, was just across the river (free by the ferry) and the ferry also went to the other pier where you could take the train around Bangkok, which was very convenient. We thought the service was excellent. One of my friends had recommended the Mandarin Oriental, but we are glad we stayed here (instead of in a large high rise). Also, the buffets the hotel had were incredible. Some of the best food I've had at any hotel. The pool was very nice and had a swim-up bar. The staff was extremely helpful and there were letters under our door every day telling us about the situation in Thailand with the military coup. (We didn't see any evidence of the coup). There was no interruption except for the fact that there was a curfew. The curfew didn't bother us because we were getting up sight-seeing and swimming every day, so didn't feel up for partying at night).

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KrisChmiel1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear KrisChmiel1,
So wonderful to know that you had a fabulous time with us on your honeymoon!

I thank you for choosing to stay with us and am glad that you enjoyed our Resort’s wide range of facilities, dining concepts, our swimming pool amidst lush greenery and the services of our associates.

It would be great to see you again for another amazing Anantara experience.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Sauveur des Monts, Canada
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

We have stayed 3 times here, while in Thailand, for 4, 2 and another 2 days. We took riverside regular rooms, but were systematically upgraded to a premium riverside view. Rooms are a bit small, for us and our 2 daughters 10 and 8. However, they are very well arranged, and this was not a handicap. Bathrooms are very well designed, very nice shower and bathtub, but faucet is too low. The balcony is also extremely convenient and nice. All common areas are exquisitely decorated. Pool area makes you think you're not in Bangkok, but in some resort in the countryside. The regular shuttle boats to Asiatique or Thaksin bridge make you think you ARE in Bangkok. This is ideal with kids, allowing you to take them out of the city "fury".
WiFi is not free, unless you register for Anantara free fiedelity program :).
Last time we came here was because we missed our flight, and the earliest connection we could get was 3 days later. When back, staff recognized us and asked what happened. They arranged a room very quickly, and gave us a very friendly price (actually cheaper than on any etravel agencies!).

Pros:
-Extremely professional and nice staff.
-Rooms made twice a day
-Beautiful place and rooms
-A bang for your buck
-Both close and far from the city

Cons:
-Bigger rooms are very expensive

Room Tip: Take a high floor, 5, 6 or 7th.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 244erict
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear Eric T,
Thank you for returning to stay with us during your travels to Bangkok. It is nice to know that you enjoyed our Resort’s riverside ambience and that the warm hospitality and services rendered by our associates. I have taken note of the little shortcomings you have mentioned, and will look into them with urgency.

I am glad you found our Resort to be an affordable luxury and I hope I will see you back again for another amazing stay.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014 via mobile

Very friendly staff and Such a beautiful building. The room was luxurious and clean. I would highly recommend this hotel. The boat was a very enjoyable way to go to the nightmarket and sky train. Location was not very central but perfect to relax and the sky train was quick and easy.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank traveltrenin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear traveltrenin,
Thank you for your positive take on our overall resort and I am happy to know that you enjoyed our facilities and the services of our friendly associates. I am truly glad that you found us to be the perfect resort for relaxation, and conveniently located with easy access to the skytrain and to the city center.

I look forward to seeing you again at your ‘perfect riverside retreat’ and thank you for highly recommending us.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,201 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#22 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotelopia, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing