We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Beautiful one day & stunning the next"” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Ranked #22 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“"Beautiful one day & stunning the next"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2014

This is the best hotel we have stayed in Bangkok. We travel to Thailand every year and always stay in a different hotel usually on the river. Anantara was divine. Fantastic staff met us on arrival and made our check in seamless. Our room 6th floor middle front was to die for. Not big but had everything we wanted with a view over to Asiatique and we were able to watch all the river activity which is so much fun. Lovely pool with plenty of chairs and a great spa. The Monarah dinner cruise is a must do also. Breakfasts very nice with lots on offer. Will stay here again and again and again. Another plus is the shuttle boat that goes back and forth regularly to the other side of the river. We took it the first day just for the ride and then did the same every other day. Very enjoyable. See you soon Anantara Riverside !!!!!!!

Room Tip: Book a new river facing room which is just fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Leejune777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear Leejune777,
I humbly thank you for the lovely feedback on your stay with us. Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay with us and for wanting to return for another great stay. Your recognition of our personalized services and our resort’s facilities from the seamless check-in, great dining to the easy accessibility of our shuttle boat services is greatly appreciated.

I am also glad you enjoyed the exclusivity of our Manohra Dining Cruise and the experience at our Anantara Spa.

Please drop me a line when you plan to visit us again, as it would be my pleasure to welcome you personally and to ensure that you experience another wonderful stay with us by the riverside!

Kind regards,
Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,239 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,652
    1,227
    255
    80
    25
See reviews for
1,412
2,291
230
327
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (984)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 August 2014

I just love the location of the hotel, it is close to the river and the BTS station is just across the river. They run free boat shuttle from one side to the other side. There is also a very good market across the river. You will just love to spend time on the river side and in the boat. You can get the ferry from the hotel as well to see the city. It was a great, memorable experience.

Room Tip: You can take the train from airport which will take you sathon station and you can get the free boat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Uday Pratap S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 7 September 2014
Dear meudaypratap,
I am glad you had a great and memorable experience with us, enjoying the great locality of our resort and the easy accessibility to major places of interest surrounding the area.

I look forward to seeing you return for another riverside experience at our tranquil oasis.

Kind regards,
Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

The slightly out of town location of the hotel was a bit of a concern for me prior to arrival, but on arrival we were informed of the hotel's free boat shuttle which runs all day to the nearest BTS station as well as to the night market. We used the ferry on a regular basis and it was a great way to see the city.
The hotel is all one would expect from a hotel of it's calibre in Bangkok. All wishes could be accommodated.
Apart from the Italian restaurant Brio we only ate at the hotel for breakfast and one 'afternoon tea', all of which were superb.
I was there with my wife and two daughters aged 8 and 12, for them the high point of the hotel (apart from breakfast and a iPod speakers in the room) was the pool with a pool level bar, which we all sat at pretending we were a cross between James Bond and Hugh Hefner!
The staff were a great help, especially Vincent (from Switzerland) who took time out to show us around the hotel on the morning of our arrival.
We only stayed for 2 nights - I wish it could have been longer.

Room Tip: Some of the rooms in the doth wing don't have a particularly great view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Zippyzoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Zipyzoe,
Thank you for your lovely feedback and I am happy to know that you and your family had a great time with us, and enjoyed our resort’s location, easy accessibility to the skytrain and Asia’s largest night market, and especially our swimming pool with a pool bar.

I am glad our associates have been sharing the wonders of our resort with you and I hope that your wish to stay with us longer the next time you are in Bangkok comes true!

See you soon.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barcelona
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2014

We loved our stay at the Anantara. When you first walk in, the whole hotel just smells fantastic - like a spa. The hotel is huge with a couple of different restaurants and bars. The staff are very friendly and the rooms are large, clean and comfortable. We upgraded to a River view room and they through in free wifi and some fruit which was a nice touch.

There's a fantastic pool on the ground floor, great after a day exploring the city.

The breakfast is plentiful and there is a huge variety, we also had the special buffet one night while watching some typical thai dancers and the food was also very good.

There are great views over the river and the hotel boat takes you over to the other side so you can catch the water taxis or the "metro"·

Overall a great stay

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank spipit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear spipit,
I am indeed glad that our welcome had been pleasant and that you had an enjoyable stay, with a comfortable river view room, fantastic pool and great dining experience.

It would be wonderful to have you stay with us again on your next travels to this part of the world.
Please do contact me.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budapest, Hungary
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel has a great location on the west bank of zhe Cha Praya River. The hotels private boat takes you in every half an hour to the central pier which has the best connections to discover Bangkok. It has a very good restaurant with thai food, a beautiful terrace for the brakfast just above the river. You can feel the essence of Bangkok.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bence H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Bence H,
Thank you for sharing your wonderful experience of the Anantara Riverside. I am happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at our Thai-inspired resort.

I hope to see you return for another great Anantara experience.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
125 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 August 2014 via mobile

This hotel is fantastic!! The rooms are large and beautifuly decorated and kept spotlessly clean, staff were all very friendly and all went out of their way to help and always said hello with a smile when passing. The pool is lovely, its large and deep with a great swim up bar and almost feels like you are on an island rather than in the middle of a big city.
Location is fantastic, the free hotel shuttle was 100% reliable over our 9 night stay and it takes you right to the sky train station, the water taxi station (station 13 I think) and also Asiatique in the evenings. The water taxi is the best way to travel, great way to get to Kho Shan Road or back without traffic or exhaust fumes, plus it works out about 20p per person for the water taxi!! So cheap.
Can't wait to go back to Thailand and without a doubt I will stay at this hotel again and would encourage anyone else to do the same!
Ps _ breakfast buffet is amazing!!!

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Rossmackay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 28 August 2014
Dear Rossmackay7,
Thank you for your generous feedback and it is really wonderful to read how much you had enjoyed your stay with us. Your recognition of our associates and our resort’s range of facilities are great appreciated.

Thank you for highly recommending our riverside haven, and for wishing to stay with us again!

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sussex England
Level Contributor
181 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 389 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2014

We booked ahead for a very good Sunday Brunch. It was very excellent in all respects. We took a very pleasant exclusive ( just us it turned out) Anantara boat from Saphan Taksin pier. The hotel boat pier is to the left of the river ferry pier. This was part of the fun. It runs regularly to a timetable.

The brunch was one of the most excellent in Bangkok and you choose different prices dependent whether you want soft drinks, which include delicious juices or alcoholic drinks. Brunch starts at 11.30 and continues to mid afternoon. Recommended.

If this review was helpful to you, please press the green "yes" button

Stayed August 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Travellerforpleasure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnantaraGM, General Manager at Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort, responded to this review, 25 August 2014
Dear Travellerforpleasure,
Thank you for your lovely comments on our International Seafood & BBQ Sunday Brunch, and I am glad to know that you had a fantastic time with us, beginning right from the pier with our complimentary shuttle boat; right to the end of the Sunday feast!
Truly appreciate the recommendations, and we hope to see you back to enjoy more of our other 10 concept restaurants which include our magnificent floating restaurant, our Manohra Dining Cruise with our more than 100-year old rice barge and the delights of authentic Thai specialties.

Kind regards,

Nikolaus Priesnitz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,786 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,921 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort

Property: Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort
Address: 257/1-3 Charoennakorn Rd. | Samrae, Thonburi, Bangkok 10600, Thailand (Formerly Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Bangkok
#5 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#7 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#15 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#17 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#21 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort 5*
Number of rooms: 408
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tropical Serenity In An Urban OasisSet on the banks of the grand Chao Phraya River, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa is a thriving oasis offering a unique way to experience the City of Angels. Majestic palms swaying in the breeze. Spa treatments hidden within lush tropical gardens. Luxurious suites lit by the twinkle of the city skyline. Delectable meals fusing tastes from around the globe.Situated on 11 riverside acres of verdant gardens, Anantara Bangkok Riverside Resort & Spa seamlessly blends the thrill of urban living with the serene charms of tropical luxury. Imparted with Thai tradition and legendary Anantara service, this exotic Bangkok resort offers a respite from the hustle and bustle of the busy metropolis. Take in the sunset from the edge of the pier, watching as river life unfolds before your eyes. Indulge in pampering spa treatments set in the tranquil environment of your own private garden. Enjoy unforgettable meals at any of our 10 bars or restaurants, each offering individual delicacies. Embrace the unique harmony of luxury and nature within this stunning Bangkok resort & spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, LoveHolidays, Holiday Gems, TravelUp, Agoda, Travelbag, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel and Hotels.com so you can book your Anantara Riverside Bangkok Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anantara Riverside Hotel Bangkok
Anantara Riverside Spa And Resort
Marriott Bangkok Resort
Marriott Bangkok Hotel
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing