We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We truly enjoyed the fine service and comfortable room as well as great restaurants.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #25 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 9 October 2013 via mobile

Not our first stay at this fine 5 star Bangkok.hotel and again it was a most enjoyable experience. The service is outstanding and most courteous in all aspects. The rooms are very well appointed and equipped with all the necessary IT requirements and the wifi is very fast. The bed is fantastic and one does not like to get up in the morning.

Food is great and so is the speedy and excellent 24 hours room service. We had cake and coffee at their bakery outlet which was delisious and so was the dinner at their buffet cafe restaurant...exellent selection of international food. Also nice is the Bar on the second flour with fine wines and cocktails they had wine promotion for only 99,- baht glass. Thanks and we will be back...

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lorelonge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear lorelonge

Thank you so much for another nice review post your recent stay at the JW Marriott Bangkok. Reading your lines I noticed that you have visited many of the hotel's Restaurants and Bars.

We believe that the JW Marriott Bangkok offers a unique dining choice to hotel guests and local patrons alike.

I also like to thank you for your loyalty and for returning again and again.

Very best regards and good wishes.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,963)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,909 - 1,915 of 2,963 reviews

Reviewed 8 October 2013

We have stayed at the JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok a number of times and have loved it each time. The staff is amazing! Much thanks to the Executive Lounge Staff for spoiling us. Thanks Pat, Lip, Kae,Mimi, Apinya, Supaporn, Thaviporn, Pook and Varisa! Both the executive lounge and the incredible lunch spread are delights.
The location is ideal, rooms very comfortable, but again, the main reason to book here is the service. Outstanding!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bill2311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear Bill2311

I am very pleased to read your review, sharing your experience about the JW Marriott Bangkok. Thank you for recognizing the associates of the Executive Lounge including Pat, Lip, Kae, Mimi, Apinya, Supaporn, Thaviporn, Pook and Varisa!

They are thrilled to read that there efforts are being appreciated. Indeed, there are over 550 associates taking care of the guests at the JW Marriott Bangkok. All of them take pride in their jobs.

Finally I like to thank you for your loyalty. I look much forward to welcome you back to the JW Marriott Bangkok soon again.

Best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2013

This hotel once again stands out in the crowd, the service is exceptional, the staff on the executive lounge make your stay so enjoyable and the guest relations manageress Meow always makes our stay there more special, this hotel is probably the best in the world.

Room Tip: 16th floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjthedj26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 30 October 2013

Dear cjthedj26

Thank you for posting a review sharing your experience after staying at the JW Marriott Bangkok once more.

I am very pleased to read your comments and the good words you have for the service levels at the hotel, including the Executive Lounge on the 16th floor.

Thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok to the readers of this forum and thank you for returning again and again.

Best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 October 2013

I happened to stay in this hotel for a couple of nights recently.
From the entry to my exit, the staff were more than friendly and very very courteous.
I would like to share like some have on the site about the electricity situation on Sunday night, I think it was the 29th of sept. Although it was a very bad situation with no lights at all, the staff did their best explain a situation that seemed to be out of their hands. I checked in that night and was spoken to by a lady in the lobby. I think she is the GM of the hotel? She went out of her way to let me know what had happened, offered me drinks and even came back several times to check on me. Well she did this I think with all guests in the lobby at the time. I could see many people getting very upset and some even shouting, but she seemed to handle every thing very patiently and with a smile always. I even saw her the next morning and joked if she owned the hotel!!
I must commend the fact that although the place was in darkness, the people of this hotel did a fantastic job taking to guests, taking them up the stairs as the elevators were not working and explaining the situation to the best of their ability. I think this was an external problem as I did not see lights along that street.
While this was not the best of situations, I think the people and that lady in particular I think made a huge difference to many people including me. I am sorry I did not pick up her name :(
I will surely be back - just to make sure the "lady with the flashlight" is still there! Thank you to all the staff at this fantastic hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear R P

Thank you indeed for the review you have posted here on this forum in relation to your recent stay at the JW Marriott Bangkok. I am very pleased to learn that you have been impressed with the service recovery during the unexpected recent power cut.

Please allow me to explain as follows:

External electric power cut off just after 10pm Sunday evening September 29. All the surrounding buildings were affected. Sabreena Jacob, the Resident Manager and Suradech D. the Director of Engineering were on site less than 1 hour later with Sabreena taking care of the guests and Suradech assessing the technical problem.

The JW Marriott Bangkok has an emergency generator for such cases which sprang into action as designed. Power started to return as early as after midnight, just to cut off again five times in short intervals. These events caused the emergency generator's automatic system to malfunction, causing the black out. Normal electric power was restored by 3am Monday morning.

Sabreena and Suradech did a fantastic job in view of the unexpected nature of the issue. Both stayed on the whole night and the entire next day, attending the various emergency meetings besides continuing responding to guests and coordinating repairs with outside contractors. All affected equipment was back to normal by mid of last week.

It is during times of crisis’s or unexpected events individual team members have an opportunity to stand out through their leadership, passion and common sense. Both, Sabreena and Suradech have done exactly that and I like to thank you once more for noticing this and for sharing your experience in public.

I look much forward to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you for staying at the JW Marriott Bangkok!

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

We were here for 2 nights on business. It is an old hotel, but very established and well-kept. I loved the old-ish décor that reminded me of a grand old lady.

The room was spacious and comfortable. Bed was great. Loved the bananas they left daily on the complimentary fruit platter. Bathroom was spacious, strong shower. A good quality room for a good night's sleep.

The steam and sauna facilities were nice. In the ladies' dressing room at the pool level, there is a steam and sauna room along with hot and cold dipping pools. Lovely.

BTS was about 5 minutes walk away, uncovered. Next door there is a Starbucks, McDonald's, some other eateries as well as a local supermarket. It is also very close to where I make my work shirts, Gulati.

Would I come back? Maybe, although my first choice would be Sheraton Sukhumvit with a covered walkway to BTS Asok.

Room Tip: We had a corner room where the window is small, and the tv was located at an awkward angle from the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fong28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear fong28

Thank you for recognizing the JW Marriott Bangkok. I appreciate the favorable comments you have made about the guest rooms, the bathroom and the shower as well as the comfort of the bed. I am glad that you have also enjoyed the Gym and the Hotel Spa.

There are indeed many shops in close vicinity of the hotel of both, local and international flair.

Thank you once more and sending you very best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 October 2013

J.W. is, by definition, supposed to be Marriot's signature brand - this hotel does not live up to it.

Check-in on the club floor was very slow (albeit friendly), despite having booked through the Marriot website and their having all my details.

Room is nice - large enough, relatively modern, clean. Very comfortable bed. Good amenities. Like many other reviewers, my only complaint about the room is the shower - and like the response to other reviews, I'm confident mine will get no action. For whatever reason, the shower door leaks, allowing water to cover the bathroom floor. Secondly, the engineers appear to have come up with acoustic alchemy in designing a shower drain that amplifies the sound of draining water so much that it sounds more like a freight train passing each time you shower (small complaint but very easy to fix).

Several previous reviews note poor service quality in the lounge. Nothing appears to have been done. The lounge is large, with breakfast and evening snacks served. The staff are friendly, but there is no management whatsoever and the few service staff (normally only 2) are incapable of serving the guests and clearing the tables. I left something on a table, coming back 1/2 an hour later to collect it - the table was still not cleared! In total, therefore, the table remained uncleared for an hour. On several occasions staff accepted an order or coffee and it didn't come. The two chefs at the counter are very efficient. The fact that this issue has been raised several times before and is so obviously below standard says that management just does not care about feedback. Note to management: cockroaches on the buffet counter should probably be dealt with swiftly, not in the nonchalant, this-happens-so-often-I-can't-be-bothered way that is was.

This is the only hotel I have ever stayed at (including many in the Marriot stable all over the world) that does not allow club floor guests to use the "regular" breakfast facility. Why?

On one night, the electricity supply was cut to the hotel (apparently, to the whole area). The emergency lighting worked, but no other facilities in the room. The caused havoc with the main room control panel and TV. There was no communication from any hotel staff (unless you called the switchboard), except for a small notice at the lift lobby on exit (!). Again, management does not appear to know how to deal with issues. Where was the notice on entering the building, where was the note sent to rooms, or the voicemail? The next day, the problem persisted and for about an hour in the afternoon the lifts were not working either. The hotel staff struggled in vain to contain the problem; but at least they served drinks and cold towels to guests waiting in the lobby.

While the hotel is, in the absolute, a good hotel, my expectations of a Marriot - and particularly a JW Marriot - are much higher. This hotel is managed at the level of a Courtyard. The product is not bad, but there is evidence in so many areas that management and service leadership are gravely lacking. Let's hope someone from group level is reading this and action is taken.
.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank G T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear G T

I have read your review and discussed the issues and I am very concerned about the number of problems you have raised in your review.

May I first apologize for coming in short of your expectations and for not delivering the kind of service you have come to expect from a Marriott property.

The JW Marriott Bangkok has been often recognized for the hotel facilities and the service levels across the property. It is the hotel's aim to be as good in service delivery today as we have been yesterday and will be tomorrow.

I am taking the liberty respond to you off line to your email address in more details about the challenges you have encountered.

It would be a privilege to welcome you back to the JW Marriott Bangkok once again in future, enabling us to restore your faith in the hotels product and services.

Sincerely Yours

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2013

I have stayed in this hotel about 4 separate occasions now. I can honestly say that this is a great hotel to stay in. The staff are terrific. Incredibly polite and courteous. They 'wai' every time you approach or pass them.
As for the hotel itself, it's very clean. The executive room is first class. the gym is very good and the pool is pretty big and good for a swimming session. It catches the sun from about 11am onwards. despite being right in the city it's a tranquil place to relax.
The hotel is well placed next to Sukhumvit Rd and you have everything at you doorstep. The Nana BTS stop is a short walk. This is the overhead rail network that opens up the whole of Bangkok to you..
So if you don't like incredibly humble, polite, helpful staff working in a really nice hotel then don't stay here!

Room Tip: Round the corner from this hotel in Soi 4 you will find a number of Laundry shops. Their prices are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GOMAROMA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 7 October 2013

Dear GOMAROMA

It is very nice to read your review. I like to thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok to readers of this forum.

You have mentioned the facilities, from the Executive Rooms, to the Gym and the Pool. You have mentioned to location and the proximity to the Skytrain (BTS).

Most importantly you have mentioned how graceful the associates are. It is indeed true to say that Thai people are very hospitable and humble. All the employees of the hotel take much pride in taking care of the guests. They know that a happy guest will return again and again.

I do hope to be able and welcome you back to the JW Marriott Bangkok soon again as well. Thank you for your review once more and sending you very best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit Park, Bangkok - Marriott Executive Apartments
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pathumwan
The Athenee Hotel, a Luxury Collection Hotel
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#11 of 891 in Bangkok
3,707 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Address: 4 Sukhumvit Road, Soi 2 | Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#19 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#24 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#46 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £126 - £235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok is committed to providing refined luxury at every turn. Located in the lively city centre, just a short distance from the BTS SkyTrain, our hotel enables you to discover Thailand's capital city in unforgettable fashion. Beautifully renovated accommodation boasts sumptuous decor, marble bathrooms and a host of modern amenities. Visit one of our extraordinary on-site restaurants for fresh sushi, sizzling steaks, mouthwatering Chinese fare and more. Our 5-star hotel also features a peaceful spa and a modern fitness center. Those planning events in Bangkok will be impressed with our versatile venues, attentive planning services and customizable catering. If you're interested in exploring, our city centre location places attractions including Terminal 21 and Siam Paragon well within your reach. We look forward to making your stay in Thailand truly remarkable at the JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing