We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Very nice JW. Nice Exec Lounge” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #34 of 845 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Very nice JW. Nice Exec Lounge”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2013

Enjoyed staying here. Nice JW with very nice rooms. Very nice executive lounge. Convenient to mass transit. Overall a good location.

My only complaint, which applies to all Marriott brands, is their keys are terrible and too often loose their signal. I love it when the staff tells us to keep the keys away from mobile phones. Our floor was restricted and one of the elevators didn’t seem to like the key most of the time. The staff gave us a bit of a look when we got our keys reset and then they wouldn’t work in the elevator. Of course the staff got us into a different elevator, which worked just fine. The other issue with many Marriott’s, including this one, is the nice large flat screen TV but no HD channels. I don’t get it, especially at a JW.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank adoyle71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear adoyle71

Thank you for posting a review and for recognizing the JW Marriott Bangkok for the service levels at the Executive Lounge.

I have taken note of your remarks regarding the room keys. It is true that we had a batch of keys which appear to have had a faulty magnetic strip. The supplier has been contacted and the problem should be rectified.

Thank you as well for your recommendation to add HD TV channels. The hotel is in process of renewing the cabling system into the guest rooms, upgrading the current analog connections to digital connectivity. The hotel will add HD TV channels once this project has been completed in the near future.

Thank you for your comments once more and sending you very best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,544
    487
    141
    31
    27
See reviews for
246
499
286
862
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
102 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2013

Overall, an excellent stay. With Bangkok as the first stop in our vacation, we were very pleased to be eased into the bustle and intensity of the city with the comforts of JW. Located a few blocks from the SkyTrain, the hotel was a good jumping off point for sightseeing around the city. There weren't too many restaurants in the immediate vicinity, but again, with the SkyTrain just a few blocks away, we didn't really consider this to be a drawback at all.

Besides the location, the service was generally excellent. The concierge was very helpful in booking restaurant and tour reservations for us. We asked about booking a tour for Bridge on the River Kwai and Damnoen Saduak Floating Market. The first concierge we spoke to recommended the hotel tour company, AT Travel, which was charging approximately twice the price that we had found on the internet through independent tour groups. Ultimately, we spoke with another concierge and she was extremely helpful in contacting independent tours and was able to recommend and book a private tour for us.

Additionally, as loyalty members of Marriott, we had access to the Executive Lounge which provided a wide range of good food for breakfast and evening snacks, which were great options for us as vacationers (when we were pressed for time in the morning to get breakfast and in the evenings when we were too exhausted to leave the hotel for dinner) and for business travelers as well.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mctang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear mctang

I like to thank you for publishing a detailed review about your experience at the JW Marriott Bangkok during your recent stay in Thailand.

I am thrilled to read that you have enjoyed the hotel facilities and the service excellence and I am pleased to read that you are recommending the hotel to fellow travelers.

Meanwhile I wanted to clarify the pricing issue you have mentioned for a sightseeing trip and the fact that AT Travel is more expensive than rates you may have found on the internet. AT Travel is a Marriott appointed partner, providing sightseeing tours to hotel guests as well as Airport transfers. The company complies with the required international liability and insurance policies. The vehicles AT Travel is using are new and have been hotel approved. The staff and drivers generally speak fluent English and know their ways when providing transport services to hotel guests. The hotel would therefore always recommend AT Travel as the preferred partner for this kind of services.

Thank you once more for your review and for staying at the JW Marriott Bangkok and sending you best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharjah, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

It was not in 2013 but before.
It is good for any purpose. For couple, business.

Sleeping is very comfortable.

Breakfast is too good.

Staff is really helpful and you will always be answered for any help u need.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank farazsaadi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear farazsaadi

Thank you so much for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok as your preferred hotel when staying in Bangkok. I appreciate your words and do look forward to welcome you back soon again.

Best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trondheim
Level Contributor
133 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2013

This is a top class (even for being JW) hotel in the middle of Bangkok center. I had my best upgrade experience as well since they upgraded me to the royal suite without any additional charges. The staff is extremly polite and helpful and you really feel welcome at this hotel.

The room was awesome with a fantastic view over the city. Room service was fast and you got what you pay for, and some more. Pool was nice and in combination with seats where you can order and eat food as well as being close to the exercise room it is for sure a nice place to be.

Breakfast at the lounge was an experience of delicious food and smiling staff. I highly recommend the hotel if you want to stay in the middle of Bangkok center!!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paal_Kri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Paal_Kri

Thank you for your review and for recognizing the JW Marriott Bangkok for its good city center location and facilities.

I am glad that you were impressed with your stay and that you have enjoyed the upgrade.

It would be nice to welcome you back should your travel itinerary bring you back to Thailand any time soon.

Best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
67 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013 via mobile

I've seen several people give this fine establishment less than stellar reviews and I'm truly puzzled!

The service was perfect. My room was fantastic. The concierge lounge was amazing. Tons of soft drinks from 6am until 12am. I'm not a drinker myself but everyone seemed to enjoy the four hours of open bar each night.

I'd stay again in a minute and would be thrilled to be fortunate enough to do so.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear Mike M.

I am thrilled to read your review and like to thank you to recommend the JW Marriott including the room product and the Executive Lounge.

It would indeed be my pleasure as well to welcome you back in the near future. In the meantime I remain with best regards and best wishes.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Cruz, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Our stay was brief but gave us a nice sampling of Bangkok on our way out of the country. Shopping higher and lower end available all up and down Sukumvit road which has sky bridges to cross over into the various shopping venues. The hotel interior is a welcome oasis after the hustle and bustle of this thriving city. Our room was quiet, spacious and comfortable. The service and the amenities are a big step above any stateside Marriott.
We didn't eat at the hotel but did go to the bar where the service was excellent.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JaneHPM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
Dear David W

Thank you so much for your recent review and for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok to fellow travelers.

I appreciate your comments and the nice words you have for the associates and the hotel facilties. I do look forward to welcome you back again and like to send you very best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The people in this hotel treat you right from the momement you arrive. This hotel is in a great location with plenty of restaurants and bars in the area. The hotel is very clean and has a great pool area for relaxing after a long day working. This is the second time I have stayed at this hotel and plan to stay here on my next visit to Bangkok.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 26 November 2013
Dear David W

I am thrilled to read your review and the good words you have for the JW Marriott Bangkok. Thank you for recommending the hotel to fellow readers and travellers.

I look much forward to welcome you back again in the near future.

Very best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Landmark Bangkok
Landmark Bangkok
#60 of 845 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,898 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Address: 4 Sukhumvit Road, Soi 2 | Klongtoey, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#55 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and substance combine for tremendous results at the JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok. Located on the famed Sukhumvit Road, our luxury hotel offers travelers an unbeatable city centre location from which to explore Bangkok. Arrive with ease - we're just steps from the BTS SkyTrain - and check into our modern, thoughtfully-designed guest rooms. Thanks to our luxury bedding, marble bathrooms, and an array of modern conveniences, you'll immediately feel pampered. Spend your days touring the plethora of local attractions, or take time to relax at our on-site spa and health club. Foodies will delight in our impressive assortment of restaurants, which include award-winning buffets at Marriott Café, sushi at Tsu Japanese Restaurant, and fresh pastries at Bangkok Baking Company. Moreover, with over 15,000 square feet of flexible venue and meeting room space, we're a fantastic choice for business and personal events alike. Come discover a unique brand of luxury here at the JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda, TravelUp, Odigeo and Southall Travel so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing