We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Lovely hotel” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #34 of 845 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2013

Really nice hotel with great service. Spa and pool facilities were good, walking distance to some local bars and restaurants and not far in taxi to markets and tourist attractions like the palace. Would stay again

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laurak44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear laurak44

Thank you for your review and for recognizing the JW Marriott Bangkok for the location, the facilities (spa and pool) and for the service levels.

It is nice to read that you have enjoyed your time at the hotel and that you are considering staying with us again, should your travel schedule bring you back to Bangkok.

Thank you for choosing the JW Marriott Bangkok and sending you very best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,230 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,544
    487
    141
    31
    27
See reviews for
246
499
286
862
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
62 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The JW Marriott Bangkok is since may years one of my favorite place to stay in Bangkok. It is may not the real top hotel (6 star) you can get in BKK but it maintains since many years a constant level of quality and confort.
I was trying to contact the GM, a Swiss national, during my stay as I know him briefly from a couple of years ago. He is from the same small Swiss village as me (viva la Grischa) and helped my daugther by a reccomendations 3 years ago entering perfectly into her hospitality study.
Unfortunatelly my message remains without any respons, even the manager at the executive launge says she forwarded my message to the GM to his secretary ?
Never mine, I enjoyed my stay there as usual and hope that next time the GM find a small gap in his agenda for a short talk or leaving a message as a sign.

Once again, I feel still very happy at this hotel - its confortable and allways a friendly place.
I stayed in the past month in other BKK hotels does are of higher level such as the Oriental or Shangri La, but the JW is for me allways a alternative choice !

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Swiss_HongKong_xpat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear Swiss_HongKong_xpat

It is very nice to hear from you through TripAdvisor. Thank you so much for your review.

Surely I remember you and I like to apologize for not being available to meet you during your recent stay. I have since emailed you to your personal email address, stating that I have been out of town when you resided a the JW Marriott Bangkok. Meanwhile I do hope that we will be able and meet during your next stay with us.

Thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok as an alternative choice to the Shangri-La Bangkok and the Oriental Bangkok. These are indeed top addresses in town and it is nice to be mentioned in the same sentence as these two properties.

I am looking much forward to welcome you back in the hopefully not too distant future and to catch up with you over a cup of coffee.

Very best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

I was staying in the hotel for 3 nights 2 years ago and honestly I would recommend going to any other hotel! It was very noisy and the food was alright except when I ordered a virgin pina colada they gave me one with alcohol, the location is horrible so many beggars and the first night I went to walk for a bit and someone (not from the hotel) (outside on the main street) attempted to steal my purse, and so many kids begging for money one came to me and said " mummy, mummy, mummy"! One of my friends had problems with breakfast because all the cold cuts, bacon, and sausage was pork and she is muslim but other than that the staff where good! Thank god I was going to phuket after bangkok!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJenny9283
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear JenJenny9283

Thank you for posting a review about the JW Marriott Bangkok on TripAdvisor. I noticed that you have been staying with us back in January 2013, almost 12 months ago. May I provide the following comments on a couple of points you have raised:

It is fair to say that there are beggars in the streets of Bangkok. Many international cities around the world tend to experience similar instances including major towns in the United States. The hotel maintains close relations with the local city council and has been successful in relocating many of the beggars, some of them being provided with food and a more permanent shelter.

This is part of the spirit to serve activity the property undertakes in efforts to assist the community the hotel operates and support the under privileged where ever possible. It is also often referred to as "CRS" (Corporate Social Responsibility).

Marriott as an international organization takes pride in engaging with local communities and under privileged people in all the markets the company operates hotels around the world. The JW Marriott Bangkok is no exception.

I hope this puts you somewhat at ease when it comes to the location of the hotel. Thank you for bringing this up to our attention and thank you for staying at the JW Marriott Bangkok.

Best regards


Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
101 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 December 2013

- Fantastic hospitality from executive lounge staff at checkin & checkout
- Breakfast & cocktail offerings in executive lounge were among the best in Hotels I've stayed.
- Cleanliness & condition were outstanding and expected of an international hotel.
- Nearest train station is Ploen Chit BTS and takes around 5-10 mins walk ... location is not its virtue

Will be back for accommodation & service ... but not an ideal venue for shopping trips

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChristopherK226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear ChristopherK226

I like to thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok for the hospitality, the Executive Lounge with the daily food & drinks on offer, for the condition of the facilities and the cleanliness.

Mayor shopping centers are a short train ride away from the hotel (Siam Paragon - 2 stations, Emporium - 3 stations) by BTS. The hotel is surrounded by smaller, local shopping centers including many international restaurants. The Ploenchit BTS station is a 100 meters walk from the hotel along Sukhumvit Road.

I read with pleasure that you would choose the JW Marriott Bangkok again for accommodation and service and it would be nice to indeed be able and welcome you back again in the near future.

Best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2013 via mobile

I stayed here for 1 night on a business trip.
The staff are very attentive and helpful. Check in was seem less.
The rooms are spacious and clean.
Coffeemaker, mugs and mini bar. Complementary bottled water.
Large TV, with plenty of choice in English.
The bathroom had all the usual amenities, seperate shower and bath tub. Hairdryer provided.
24 hour room service with a good menu and the food was tasty.
Across the road from the hotel was a shopping centre and I would recommend the Bangkok hair do for a hair cut.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AnnieCat60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear AnnieCat60

Thank you for posting a factual and to the point review, stating the facilities of the JW Marriott Bangkok and recognizing the hotel for the service level.

I appreciate your comments with you being a top contributor to this forum, having reviewed 48 hotels previously.

I also like to thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel and I do look much forward to hopefully welcome you back soon again.

Very best regards

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
80 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2013

My only complaint is that they do not understand that "Do Not Disturb" means, umm, do not disturb. Middle of a much needed nap in mid-afternoon after a grueling week when the phone rings. Sir - would you like your room made up today? Right in the middle of the best sleep I've had all week. Sigh.

That aside, this is a very nice property. I give extra marks to any hotel that serves Thai Curry at the breakfast buffet. This morning it was Shrimp Curry - yummola. The shower has both a rain head and a regular shower head - love that rain. Great pool, excellent gym (pics below), nice room, great firm and large king bed. The air conditioner works great - had to turn it down. The internet is complimentary for Rewards members - a very nice addition. I hope this trend continues (Holiday Inn on Soi 22 also had complimentary internet).

Great location on Soi 2 - easy access from the tollway. And of course, the hotel is located near ample nightlife of Bangkok and an easy walk to the BTS train.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank johngannonlasvegas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear johngannonlasvegas

It is very satisfying to read your review. Thank you for recommending the JW Marriott Bangkok for the breakfast buffet, the bathroom including the rain shower, the pool area the free WIFI access as well as the central location at Sukhumvit Soi 2.

Meanwhile I have noted your comments about the DND (do not disturb) procedures at the hotel. Thank you for bringing this up. I have already initiated a basic training again amongst the housekeeping associates. It seems that some of the newcomers took a bit a relaxed view on the importance of the DND sign at a guest room door. I do apologize for the inconvenience this has caused.

I would be happy to welcome you back again should your travel itinerary bring you back to Thailand. Thank you for staying at the JW Marriott Bangkok and sending you very best regards.



Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2013

Stayed at JW Marriot Bangkok for work purpose, after a short trip to Pattaya Holiday inn in Dec 2013.. The hotel a power very good impression, even better than the Marriots sister hotels. Absolute & complete European standard. The room was just as big & good size bath tub & shower room. The food in buffet form was excellent, all freshly prepared cuisines. Apart from that there was nothing to criticize. I am definitely coming again.

Room Tip: Higher floor rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrix_kp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
peter c, General Manager at JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 December 2013
Dear patrix_kp

I appreciate your review - thank you very much for sharing your experience on this forum.

You have mentioned the size and comfort of the rooms and the food quality at the hotel as being outstanding. We believe in providing our guests with consistently high service- and food quality, regardless whether guests are staying on business or for pleasure.

I am looking forward to welcome you back soon again and I remain with thank again for your review and with very best regards.

Peter Caprez
General Manager
JW Marriott Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Sofitel Bangkok Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Thong Lor & Ekamai
Bangkok Marriott Hotel Sukhumvit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Pullman Bangkok Grande Sukhumvit
Sukhumvit
Landmark Bangkok
Landmark Bangkok
#60 of 845 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,895 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok

Property: JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Address: 4 Sukhumvit Road, Soi 2 | Klongtoey, Klongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#25 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#30 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#32 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#55 Family Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 441
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Style and substance combine for tremendous results at the JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok. Located on the famed Sukhumvit Road, our luxury hotel offers travelers an unbeatable city centre location from which to explore Bangkok. Arrive with ease - we're just steps from the BTS SkyTrain - and check into our modern, thoughtfully-designed guest rooms. Thanks to our luxury bedding, marble bathrooms, and an array of modern conveniences, you'll immediately feel pampered. Spend your days touring the plethora of local attractions, or take time to relax at our on-site spa and health club. Foodies will delight in our impressive assortment of restaurants, which include award-winning buffets at Marriott Café, sushi at Tsu Japanese Restaurant, and fresh pastries at Bangkok Baking Company. Moreover, with over 15,000 square feet of flexible venue and meeting room space, we're a fantastic choice for business and personal events alike. Come discover a unique brand of luxury here at the JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your JW Marriott Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marriott Hotel Bangkok
Marriott Bangkok
Bangkok Marriott

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing