We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable convenience, and you can still tour Bangkok”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok
Ranked #164 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Comfortable convenience, and you can still tour Bangkok”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

I arrived in BKK at about 1pm and had to fly out of DMK at 7am the following morning. I wanted to explore a bit of Bangkok, but didn't want to worry about getting to DMK on time, or getting extorted by a taxi in the final hours prior to departure. So, I booked Amari for the night, which is literally at the airport. It is attached by a very short tunnel-bridge. We took the free shuttle from BKK, checked in at Amari very quickly and were very impressed by the large, clean, modern building and room. We had a view over a some kind of traditional Thai building that wasn't gorgeous, but wasn't ugly. The room was cool, had a super comfortable bed, super quiet, and of a suitable size for a short stay. The convenience of being attached to the airport was of great value to us. I don't know why they gave us two side by side beds instead of a proper king or queen, but for one night, we didn't care. Just outside of the hotel (ask a concierge to direct you) you can get bus 59 which takes abotu 45 mins to go all the way to khao San Road. Sukhumvit and other popular areas will take even less time. The point being that you can have the convenience of staying at the airport and still spend an evening out in Bangkok. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slimkoppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,654 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    764
    1,283
    443
    104
    60
See reviews for
518
978
332
209
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (261)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Navi Mumbai, India
Level Contributor
69 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 188 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

The 3 words to describe the Amari Don Muang is the convenience, cost and connectivity that it offers. Simply put, it does the job of allowing you to rest and refresh, before/ after you connect to your next flight. But if you are expecting fantastic rooms and great service, then this is not it!

I have given this hotel a 4-star rating because it does the job of an 'Airport hotel' perfectly. Let's not be too critical, its a hotel with a purpose, and it fulfills that purpose. It is connected to the Don Muang airport with a covered walkway, so you can just walk across to the airport 24 hours a day, no need of negotiating heavy traffic that flows below this bridge!


BOOKING -


E-mails were NOT answered at all, and the reservation agent responding to e-mails was a fairly indifferent person called Roypim. Neither was any answer given to the direct query posted on their website form. We found this quite odd.

Finally, when Roypim did reply, he/she quoted us a rate much-much higher than what was available on the hotel's official website!! Can you believe that...?

Ultimately, we booked through the Expedia website, and got an almost same rate as that offered on Amari's website. The reason to book through Expedia was that we got a 10% discount on using a Citibank credit card!

The prices of the rooms go higher if booking within 14 days of your intended stay. So book at least 15 days in advance to enjoy better rates. We booked the deluxe with pool view for THB 1800 including taxes, and the Expedia discount.

We stayed here twice in a 6-day span. Booked both times through expedia. If you have a Citibank card, then there are discounts to be had.


FIRST STAY -

arrived in the afternoon at about 3 p.m. on the free shuttle bus from Suvarnabhumi Airport. (Arrivals level 2, Door no. 3). It dropped us off at Don Muang airport, from where we took the elevator to the Amari hotel signage, which dropped us off at the start of a covered skywalk between the airport and the hotel. Very convenient, it's a small 3-4 min walk and you are at the mezzanine floor of the hotel. Take the lift/ escalator down to the lobby area.


CHECK-IN -


on our first stay we were checked in by the friendly lady called Metinee. She took a deposit of THB 1,000. Instead of going through the hassle of blocking the credit card, we just gave her a 1000 baht note, which was returned upon check-out the following day. Lack of English is a problem with ALL the staff here.


ROOMS -


Long walk to the lifts! The hotel floors are like a maze! They go round and round and it makes you wonder how many rooms does this hotel actually have... Phew! We were given room 5109, supposedly newly furnished, but did not suggest anything of the sort. These are the deluxe rooms with no views. Plain, dark and drab interiors..Poor lighting, though the room was of decent size with a comfy king-bed. NO views of any kind. Fridge, room safe all there, coffee tea facilities, decent toiletries in the bathroom, all fine to spend the night. OLD colour TV in room, not many channels. Shower - was so low on the wall at an angle, that it is impossible to stand upright for a shower. Unless you are a kid! What a ridiculous placement of the shower head. Have to bend for a bath.


FREE SHUTTLE -


This is a great service - we took the hotel's free shuttle at 5 pm to the Future Park Rangsit Mall. It's about 15 min away by car. Free pick-up from there at 9 pm too. This was a good and useful drop service by the hotel Good shopping here, not cheap kind, and good places to eat.

The hotel also has free shuttle to the Chatuchak weekend market on sat and sundays in the mornings. ( 9.30 am and 12 noon). About 20 mins drive. So a good service again, but we didn't use it.


THINGS TO DO -

There's really nothing in the vicinity, so either go to the Future Rangsit mall with their free shuttle, or go to the newer Central Plaza Ladprao Mall, which is also about 20 mins by taxi in the other direction, towards Suvarnabhumi airport in fact.


CHECK-OUT -


Wake up call came on time at 3.30 am. Check out was fine and quick at 5 a.m. The THB 1000 deposit was returned after the staff checked whether the mini-bar had been used. (I wasn't even aware there was a mini-bar...)


FREE WIFI -

free wifi password from the reception for a 3-hour period, which can be used at the lobby only.


LEFT LUGGAGE -

we left our luggage with the concierge boy Phachakorn, I think his name was, who was very friendly and polite. He was also the chap who drove us to and back on the hotel's free shuttle to the F P mall. We received back our luggage on our return in fine condition.


2nd STAY -


came back after 6 days, at 1.15 am. Lobby was empty as expected, except for 1 concierge boy, different one this time, 2 ladies at the counter and 1 guard.

This time check-in was NOT friendly. Different girl, no Metinee, so No smiles, just to-the-point. 1.15 a.m, fine by me, let's just get to the rooms! Again deposit of THB 1,000. This time, got a Deluxe with pool view. Better view from the room of the pool, and the red umbrellas.


ROOM -

well, this time, its a newly furnished room no 4057, cleaner, with pool view, (odd nos have pool view), King bed, clean bathroom with new fittings and ZERO power in the shower, LCD TV (yay! not the crappy OLD crt like last time), lots of Thai channels, good air-con in the room. Went down to get a beer from the concierge fridge, got a Heineken bottle for THB 60 (outside at 7-11 it's for 40) so its a decent price for a chilled beer at 1.30 am after a flight! The 7-11 is a fair 7-8 min walk away...

Next day check out was fine and quick at about 11 a.m. Did not take breakfast as that was very expensive. The concierge boy called a taxi for us to take us to out hotel in Sukhumvit 11 (President Palace, see separate review). So this concierge boy found it very funny that we had a lot of luggage with us. No tip for him. HAHAHA, who's the joke on now... We always tip the concierge, and did handsomely the other 2 boys here - Phachakorn and the chap from last night at 1.30 am.

So what's the bottomline? - Well, now that Air Asia has shifted services to Don Mueang airport, the Amari couldn't care a damn about service with a smile, whether it's about answering e-mails, basic questions, or hospitality at check-in/ check-out. Not to mention the concierge boy who found luggage in an airport hotel funny (morning of DEC 30.) The hotel is always going to get business thanks to its fantastic connection to the DMK airport and Air Asia.

You are not going to use this hotel for its service anwyay. It's only for that flight in/ out of DMK. That's why, even though the Amari is a 3-star hotel at best, I've given it a 4-star rating for being the perfect connection to DMK airport.

So until there is another choice near DMK, Amari does the job just fine..

Room Tip: Book at least 15 days in advance, ask for non-smoking, and Deluxe rooms are just fine!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RainmanMumbai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontichaR, Manager at Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear RainmanMumbai,

Thank you for taking the time to write such an extensive review. Whilst we are delighted to hear about the benefits of staying with us, we take very seriously the parts of your experience which did not meet your expectations.

The management team will be carefully reviewing each of the points you have made with a view to addressing the issues where we can, so that there is no recurrence in future.

It’s unfortunate that the first time you stayed you were given a room that was not renovated, we are in the process of doing so, and have been doing it in phases. We always endeavor to give the best rooms, but sometimes due to high occupancy we have a limited choice available.

In regards to the internet access, we just wanted to inform you that we give unlimited Internet in guest rooms and public areas, for bookings made with our official website.

Once again, apologies for the negative aspects of your stay with us and we hope to have the chance to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
109 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

I was catching an early flight, so for the low cost and convenience I stayed at the Amari. The best feature is that the rooms are large. I tried both restaurants and the food was fine, nothing special but fine. The staff are nice. The only drawback is that there really is nothing within walking distance if you have extra time. So enjoy the room, the selection of TV channels and wait for the time to go to the airport

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mash49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 November 2013

We stayed in Amari close to DMK, the location of the hotel is very convenient with easy access to trains and taxi's. Room was clean and we had no problem. The hotel also offers free baggage service. The hotel is right opposite to the DMK airport. Though the price is on the higher side compared to other hotels, the location is excellent if you need to catch a flight from DMK.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GAP_adze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

We stayed here for one night transiting from BKK to DMK airport.
God sized room and convenient to DMK airport. The free airport shuttle bus was helpful as well. No problems at all and we were able to get dinner at the airport.
Room was clean but the hotel is getting a bit tired and small things (like the bedside lights) are not working properly.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank KiwiAntz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

When the bell boy brought us up to the room, I thought that they had put us in the wrong room and even asked him whether it was the right one. But alas, it was the right one and the room that I was expecting to be really tight for 3 people was huge! There were 2 bathrooms, a lounge, three beds and 2 tvs! (This was the deluxe room) And the beds were the most comfortable I have ever felt; it felt like I was sleeping on a cloud :) Overall, the service was good and the walkway was awesome to get to don muang for an early flight; Its great for a one night stay between flights.

Room Tip: Dont drink the water from the fridge. My mom drank the water from the fridge instead of the free wat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cadia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
96 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2013

this place is a catastrophe.
We arrived at BKK international and spent 20 mins looking for our airport transfer... No sign of them, so we got into a taxi to the hotel
Despite the fact that I have confirmation of an airport transfer they didn't find it in their system (oh they managed to charge me for it though!!!)
When we came to get the rooms we asked if they were interconnecting as requested "they are nearby" we can't exactly put a 6yr old and an 8yr old "Nearby" on their own... well some would but we're better parents than that so eventually they upgraded us to an interconnecting room.

When I asked for a refund for the airport transfer I noticed that they had ALSO charged me for a transfer back to BKK. Why would i stay 1 night overnight at a different airport just to be ferried back to where I started??? Anyway when I explained that I only asked for 1 way transfer and they failed to deliver on that they said that because I pre-paid that I would have to trust them and they would refund me in 5-10 days on my credit card.
(to their credit they did actually do this without my asking them)

We decided to have a dip in the pool which was a bit grotty and then went for dinner which was actually ok. (in the american diner place).

Seriously though, this place is a last resort, the only thing in its credit is that it's 100m walk across the road from the airport.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrKazza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MontichaR, Manager at Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok, responded to this review, 18 November 2013
Dear DrKazza,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok. Our deepest apologies for the problems you encountered during your arrival and check-in with us.

Due to this nature of this review, we’ve reviewed the situation and I believe there was a misunderstanding due to the Grand Deluxe category not having any inter-connecting rooms, which is you were upgraded to Junior Suite.

In regards to the Airport Transfer, this was an error on our part and we accept responsibility for this. Those concerned have already been dealt with to stop this from happening in future.

Once again, please accept our sincerest apologies hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,

Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
0.4 mi away
Thip Mansion Don Mueang
Thip Mansion Don Mueang
#385 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 62 reviews
3.5 mi away
Miracle Grand Convention Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mida Hotel Don Mueang Airport Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
12.5 mi away
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Amari Watergate Bangkok
#67 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,118 reviews
2.8 mi away
Casa Residence Hotel
Casa Residence Hotel
#508 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 10 reviews
0.3 mi away
Don Mueang Airport Modern Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok

Property: Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok
Address: 333 Chert Wudthakas Road | Don Mueng, Bangkok 10210, Thailand (Formerly Amari Airport Hotel)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#109 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#137 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#151 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 423
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok is an open door to the endless adventure that awaits in Bangkok and beyond. Located just north of the downtown area and adjacent to the capital's domestic airport, Amari Don Muang offers first-rate accommodation, fine dining, and service excellence to make your trip comfortable and smooth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Amari Hotels, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Amari Don Muang Airport Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Don Muang Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Don Muang Airport

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing