We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Our Second Family Away From Home........”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #64 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Chorley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Our Second Family Away From Home........”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

Having stayed at the Watergate for each of the past seven years and most recently this year both at the beginning of our trip and at the end for 3 days and 6 days respectively I am rather ashamed that I haven't written earlier but better late than never! Having stayed at many hotels in South East Asia over many years The Watergate remains my firm favourite.

I apologise for the length of my submission but this hotel deserves the time so read on......

Through all the trials and tribulations of recent Thai history this hotel has steadfastly stayed an oasis in what can be a mad but alluring city.

From the team who greet you at the door from your taxi/limo with such friendliness and enthusiasm whilst running an extremely busy operation with the efficiency of a military unit to the smiles that greet you at reception and check-in both my mum and I always feel like long lost family members and not purely guests.

The rooms are exceptionally clean, well equipped (flat screen, DVD, etc.) and stocked. The bathrooms spacious with deep bath, twin sinks and separate walk in shower. Extensive storage space and nice touches such as orchids, fruit and chocolates all add up to make you feel special.

The garden, pool and pool area on the eighth floor is enchanting (especially when the sun goes down and the lights go on) or if you just want to escape the city below and the gym one of the best I have encountered. I cannot vouch for the spa but it does look tempting if I wasn’t so afraid of Thai massages.

The breakfasts are a well balanced feast of western, Asian and eastern food which set you up for the day. I have only eaten at the restaurants Grappino (great wine list) and Thai on Four but would recommend them without reserve. The Lobby Bar, managed perfectly by Tui (who I believe has now moved upstairs) provides you with everything you need (my mum especially enjoys the cakes and pastries) and the new addition Cascade looks terrific.

If after a long day in the heat you want to sink a beer or three or sample a couple of cocktails then head down to Henry J’s downstairs and Din, Bee and the team will look after you with a smile and great conversation (with some well directed banter) whilst you relax and listen to the band or get involved in one of their fully involved theme nights.

The tour desk will organise any trips you want and remove the stress and worry you might have about organised tours and for anyone who wants a new outfit or suit then Paul’s Fashions is both professional and timely. My mum and I have had loads made here and it looks as good now as when it did when made, (not always the case at other tailors).

If you need anything from advice and help to recommendations and directions then Pui, the concierge is your man.

Last but not least the management is superior. It is not just highly visible and engaged (unlike many other luxury hotels) but also very approachable and friendly. I thank you Ingo and Pierre-Andre.

On a more personal note and a lovely touch it was my mum’s 70th birthday this year and without any prior notification we were both upgraded to the executive rooms and lounge with all the added extras included (that’s another submission!).

So, all in all if you want fantastic facilities and exceptional, natural service look no further. What you might recognise about most of the other Watergate submissions is that people say that they will go back. Well we have, again and again. This is a secret gem of a hotel!

If I had one complaint it would be that a couple of years ago they removed the small, plastic ducks from the bathroom......I miss them!

From your far away ’friends’ Angus and Helga. See you all next year.

Room Tip: The higher up, the better the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Guilty_as_Sin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,006 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,111
    1,366
    371
    103
    55
See reviews for
1,160
1,706
319
790
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (931)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 December 2011

We stayed just 1 night on the way back to the UK. Everyone we met at the hotel was so helpful and happy, it was a real eye opener on how a hotel could be run.

Our room on the Executive floor had a great view plus free drinks and food early evening, what more can you ask for!

Room Tip: Executive floor is a must!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LovePlayWorkUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2011

The only way to descbride my stay at the Amari watergate was like flying around the world first class. Everytime I return to the Amari it is like coming home- but even better. The hospitality and friendliness of the staff is heartwarming and even though so far from home, I feel as if this is home! To be remembered by staff and greeted personally with no request being too small, makes ones stay even more memorable and to me there is no other place to stay in Bangkok other than the Amari.The quality of service is outstanding , the rooms extremely comfortable and food outstanding. my spa experience was a dream. A special thank you to the general Manager and his team for going that extra mile.

Room Tip: non smoking floor -
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tbilisi, Dushet'is Raioni, Georgia
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Great Hotel, we felt at home. The rooms are really comfortable and nicely decorated. The location is ideal, walking distance to Mall and Cinema and short Taxi ride to Cultural attraction. I will recommend this hotel to everyone :)

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patricia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2011

Went with family for a week to Bangkok and booked the Amari Watergate after reading other reviews on Tripadvisor. The Hotel is pretty good, room size was great and it was nice to have the sofa bed for my 11 yr son also in the room with no extra charge. The breakfast spread is really pretty big and has variety to suit various tastes. Staff is very helpful and I would recommend visitors to always opt for taking a taxi from the Hotel - it was always cheaper than the Tuk Tuk's that we took sometimes! Platinum Fashion Mall right in front of the Hotel, Pantip Plaza for computers, Mobile Phones and other electronic stuff is just about 200 meters away and walkable. Overall, I would recommend this Hotel to anyone planning to visit Bangkok for a few days.

Room Tip: Take a room at the higher floors for a good view of Bangkok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashish S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 November 2011

The Amari Watergate is one of the best hotels I've stay at. Its in downtown Bangkok and convenient to everything. And if you like the beach Pattaya is just 2hours away by car or bus. The staff at the Amari went out of there way to make my stay as pleasent as possible. They have a top rated staff in the restuarant, people like Mr. Thanawin, Mr. Manop, and Mr. Nuttawutcstaff, went out of there way to help me. The rooms are large and VERY nice. with everything you will need.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switzerland
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2011

Stayed here for 3 nights, staff particularly the concierge staff were very helpful. The room was excellent, spacious and clean, with a good view of Bangkok. It is the first time that we have stayed in this Hotel, but have now re-booked for our visit in May 2012 and August 2012.
The Pool area is small but has very good changing facilities and showers.
Really looking forward to our return.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jalibu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#86 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,514 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#57 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,969 reviews
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Property: Amari Watergate Bangkok
Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#57 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Expedia, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Amari Hotels, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing