We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unusual quality of this hotel's restaurants....”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #70 of 892 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 January 2012

I was really impressed by the quality of the three restaurants I experimented in the Hotel; Usually in the hotels you find restaurants with average quality and if you go there is mostly because you are a bit leasy.... to go outside. I started with the Chinese restaurant and was really surprised by the innovative menu, the quality of food and the perfect service. So I decided to go to the other restaurants. I had similar impression ecxcept may be for the one in the basement which is a bit to noisy ( but the meat is great!!!). As far as the breakfeast, the service and food of the 32th storie is magnificent. Thank you, I will come back.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank gael43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,043)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,557 - 4,563 of 6,043 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2012

Hotel was average ,the Indian food for breakfast was ok considering that every second traveler in the hotel was an Indian one would expect better in the name of hospitality.The front desk ladies could do with a little more politeness..
Room was ok ,the bed too high and hard,bathroom large but all fixtures old,,the tub water wouldn't drain.
Since vegetarian Indian food was an issue travelling during the peak hours to Sukhumvit was tedious as most cab drivers either refused or charged 5 times more.
In all an OK experience expected more from Amari.
We were particularly peeved off with the fact that despite having such a huge chunk of Indian travellers they decide to provide visiting cards of Indian restaurants rather than having some items on the menu which were Indian and vegetarian..found that very arrogant!

Room Tip: Ask for the executive rooms ,although Grand Deluxe are good enough in any case there is no view arou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PreeaKumar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunish S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2012

We appreciate you sharing your travel details with the Trip Advisor Community. We have well noted your comments regarding the availability of Indian food at the hotel. Kindly be noted that Indian food is available both at our Promenade restaurant as well as in our room service menu with some famous items like Dal Makhani, Aloo Palak as well as Mutton Roganjosh to name a few. These are prepared specially by our Indian Chef. We have also briefed our Front Desk team as well as the bell desk team to highlight this to our Indian guests. Kindly do accept our apologies for the inconvenience caused.

I invite you to contact me directly if you will be coming back to Bangkok to give us an opportunity to do better on your next stay.

Sincerely,

Sunish Sadasivan

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2012

we stayed here twice and its really was a pleasure. Its smack bang in the middle of bangkok, so all the shopping is just outside your door.The room we had was a grand deluxe suite but it was basic enough for a 5star hotel.Nothing really to complain about.The pool area is shaded for most of the day but they do have a sunbathing area at the back of the pool which is in the sun all day.The pool is freezing but very refreashing.At night the pool area is delightfull, we were here twicw at xmas and its all lit up with lights.The food at the pool is pricey for thailand, if i were you id just pop across the steet to the big C and get a dish for e3.....I would stay is this hotel we really enjoyed our stay here the staff are lovely & more than helpfull.The hotel has a great gym and class for free - just be careful of the yoga class the instructor i had nearly broke me into 100 pieces, i guess thats how they teach over there ha ha....

Room Tip: ask for a view at the front of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank karleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

We stayed on our first two nights of our honeymoon. We loved the hotel! the staff were very friendly and polite, it was great awesome location, lovely room with a comfy bed we were upgraded to the excutive floor and received a bottle of bubbles and a cheesecake :) which we unfortunately didnt get time to eat or drink but the thought was lovely we also had free WIFI the pool was nice and cool and meals were nice at the pool bar the only complaint I did have is that being a smoker after 10pm I had to go all the way down to the lobby as the pool and garden was closed off and also the buffet breakfast was bland/ horrible and expensive

Room Tip: Upgrade to executive floor & shop at the markets next door and to the left along the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nat M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

I stayed here on the last few days I had in Bangkok and was so glad I did. The hotel is gorgeous. We upgraded to the executive floor which was a real treat - had buffet breakfast service right there at our door. Am going again in Feb we loved it so much. Food great, service great, close to shopping and hospital Bumrungrad. Had everything and more - I could live there happily. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Clairer23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2012

Stayed for one night this week and wish I could have stayed longer. Rooms are very spacious and well appointed. Location is excellent, especially in view of the heavy traffic in Bangkok. From Watergate you can explore the entire central Bangkok district by foot. This includes Central World, Paragon, Platinum and many other shopping centers. Food is excellent and breakfast is one of the best I have seen. For the extra kick - book the executive floor, where it feels like coming home. But best of all is the friendliness and caring attitude of the entire crew from management to the staff. Highly recommend to anyone visiting Bangkok. I shall return.

Room Tip: As far as I know all rooms are the same size - i.e. very spacious. For extra comfort book the Execut...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kuede
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2012

We always return to the watergate, centrally located and within walking distance to a number of shopping malls and markets. The buffet breakfast is the best in Thailand. A great gym if you have strength left after bag carrying.

  • Stayed: January 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Terry252
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#52 of 892 in Bangkok
5,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#63 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £79 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing