We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Manbir Singh Sandhu”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #67 of 894 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 30 August 2012

This was my first time in Bangkok and I really felt like home for my stay in Amari Watergate.
Very nice staff and very nice place to stay. Closely located to all the major shopping areas. ( if i would have thrown a stone from my window , it would have hit the Platinum Mall panes , literally).
Also it is close to Siam Paragon (Asia's biggest shopping mall).
Overall experience was awesome.

Manbir

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Manbir S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,349 - 4,355 of 6,127 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2012

First time in Bangkok and this will be our home away from home next time we visit. From the time we checked in till the time of check out (5.00 am) we found that all staff to be friendly and attentative to all our needs. The rooms were neat and tidy with loads of room to rest,bathroom was clean and spacious ,good to have seperate shower and bath,. Buffet breakfast had loads of different cuisines available and was suffiecient for us not to have lunch most days.We particually enjoyed the Lobby Restuarant/Bar/Coffee shop,where we found the staff to be very friendly and always willing to give advice on local attractions and directions .We thank every one at Amari on making our first visit a dream regards Anne & Tom Kony

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Thomas K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

Everytime I go to Bangkok i always stay in Amari watergate, (take note that there are 2 amari hotels in Bangkok city, this one is the better one) It is located at the Pratunam Area which is a good shopping location. in front of the hotel is the platinum mall, a multi level shopping mall which has the latest in fashion finds. a buildings away is the Pantip Mall where you can get the best deals in electronics, not to mention the convenience of having money changers near the area. If you are taking the train from the airport then the last stop is very near the hotel already. you can buy soveneit items on the sidewalk near the hotel and there is also a massage place beside the hotel. Thir breakfast is very good with a wide selection for everyone.Its definitely the hotel to be in bangkok if you want to shop and still have the luxury and comfort afterwards.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank manilabiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

Great location, market shopping very close with great bargins. Hotel staff very helpful and rooms very tidy and a good size.
Nice Swimming pool and a great breakfast. Bar prices a bit expensive....................................

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raewyn1708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2012

If this hotel claimed to be a 4 star, I'd give it excellent marks. However, as a "5 star", it was below par.

Staff greeting was very friendly, and check-in was very smooth. Room was beautiful and well decorated with great view. However, there were issues with our TV not working, phone system was broken, pool service was good but not great, spa was under renovation. Wifi only worked in hotel lobby, and required new password daily. Rooms were clean, but not the spotless look I would expect for a 5 Star.

Restaurant and coffee service were overpriced for Thai standards.

As a tourist, location was perfect.

I'd stay there again as the price was favorable, and overall the experience was very good. However, set your expectations for a 4 Star, and not a 5 star if you stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MatthewEason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 27 August 2012

Dear Matthew Eason,

Thank you for choosing the Amari Watergate for your recent visit to Bangkok. Thank you also for mentioning the positive elements of your stay such as the friendly staff, decor of the room , housekeeping standards and great location. This was great to hear and I will relay these words to the teams involved.

With regard to the elements of your stay which did not meet expectation, I would like to sincerely apologise for this. The Spa was indeed under renovation during your stay, we were offering treatments in the breeze salon during this time, I do hope you were advised this. The Spa has just re-opened over one week ago and I hope should you return you will be able to see the work which has been done and enjoy the benefits. The maintenance issues you had in the room, such as the TV being broken and the phone not working. This should not occur as these are part of a standard check prior to any guest arrival. I am genuinely sorry for this and that we feel short here. I am sorry you felt the coffee prices were on the high side, we do constantly check with our competitors to ensure we remain competitive and also good value.

Here at the Amari Watergate, we work hard continually both on our product and service to maintain the 5 star standard which our guests normally receive. I am sorry we were not quite there for you on this visit however I would relish the opportunity to welcome you back and offer you a service that will leave you convinced of our 5 star status.

Once again, thank you for your very constructive feedback, it's really appreciated.

Yours sincerely,


Ciaran Brazil

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012 via mobile

The Manager is very personable - made the effort to greet and ask for feedback.

Great room, loved the fluffy pillows! The cistern flush left much to be cleared though, for some reason, it wasn't functioning properly.

Breakfast buffet covered wide cuisines but some of the food were neither tasty nor flavorful.

Love it that access to the pool, sauna, and shower facility is available even after check-out. It reflects very well on Amari Watergate that they consider that guests who are flying out later in the day could do with a proper freshening up before heading out to the airport!

Location wise, it is quite convenient. Better to take a taxi to MBK Centre than to walk.

Left the hotel at 4pm and the journey to the airport via the expressway took less than half an hour and cost BHT 450.

One curious observation - there was a significantly large number of guests of 2 particular nationalities.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Greg122011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

Enjoyed our Stay in this Hotel.. A beautiful city view room on 28th floor.... Good breakfast spreads.. Good food...Staff were good, Reception staff were great... Will definitely love to stay in this hotel next time.

regards
Manuel Nelson

Room Tip: Excellent Hotel... Choose to stay at Higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank manuelnelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#141 of 894 in Bangkok
5,869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#33 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#59 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £82 - £148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Amari Hotels, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing