We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oasis amidst the mayhem”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #67 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Aberdeen
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Oasis amidst the mayhem”
Reviewed 23 April 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights before Northern Thailand tour and then for two nights after. Due to information mix up with flights we arrived at about 3am but staff registered us very quickly. Room was large with huge, comfortable bed. Hotel is very well looked after and staff were very friendly and informative. Swimming pool on 8th floor was great (we hung about here on last day as we had to check out at 2pm but not picked up until 8pm) Lovely pool, sauna, steam room and jacuzzi and the staff here were fantastic. On last night we had dinner in Henry J Beans which is in the lower level of hotel, very nice but the chips with chilli powder might not be to everyone's taste.

Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank BigredAberdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 24 April 2013
Dear BigredAberdeen,

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read you had such an enjoyable stay with us and all aspects from the early check in, friendly and informative staff, large bedroom and pool area contributed to this.

I will be sure to pass your kind words to the team. We genuinely appreciate you taking the time out to write and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,314 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,283
    1,465
    397
    107
    62
See reviews for
1,282
1,795
330
824
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (978)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Co Meath
Level Contributor
38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Lovely hotel. very central. Had our room ready early as we arrived at 9am after a long haul flight. Great service. In a nice part of the city. Lovely room with comfy bed. Has that big hotel feel where it is very busy but everything runs well. Would stay again

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worstnightmare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear worstnightmare,

Thank you for your brilliant review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such a great stay and that all aspects from your early check in, good service, location and comfortable bed all contributed to this.

We really do appreciate you taking the time to share your experiences and I hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok again.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
145 reviews
114 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 174 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 April 2013

Great location, great service, great room ! Huge room , clean and nice ambience, shopping centres just surrounding the hotel , you can just back to your room when you are tired of full with shopping stuffs !

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ngsiewcheng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear ngsiewcheng ,

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and that all aspects from the room size and shopping location contributed to this.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013 via mobile

I Stay for 2 nights in this hotel during April 2013. i found it has a nice Room, clean and big TV. this hotel serve a good breakfast with variety of food from western, Indian, Chinese and etc.

There is a nice swimming pool at 8th floor, which also has a nice night pool view.

Opposite is The Platinum Fashion City shopping mall. Surround with local bazaar and store. Good place for shopping.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chingsiang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear chingsiang,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay and the room, breakfast options, pool area and shopping location all contributed to this.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and I do hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

checked in 0703 this morning, when i arrive at the exesutive lobby, my breakfast favorite was ready on the table. this i awsome place. if you thinking of traveling to bangkok severeal time and your first visit was good,at amari. it just get better better

Helpful?
2 Thank fagerheim
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear Fagerheim,

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I am delighted you had another enjoyable stay with us and great to hear our service is continually improving. We always try to both remember and anticipate our guests needs so it was great to hear your breakfast was ready and waiting for you on arrival.

We really appreciate your recommendation and for taking the time out to write and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
tel aviv i
Level Contributor
25 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Great hotel, very nice and clean room, huge full equip gym, huge sweeming pool, good location- just in front of platinum mall. they have very helpfull information desk wich you can ask 24 hours watever you need. geat breakfat and exellent valeu for your money.
we will definitely come back.

Room Tip: We paid few more bhats and upgraded to the executive room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ddffuunn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 April 2013
Dear ddffuunn,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I was delighted to read how much you enjoyed your stay with all aspects from the room, location, breakfast options and helpul information desk contributing to this.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2013

This was the first time we stayed at the Amari Watergate Hotel. Be specific when telling the cab driver which Amari hotel you are going to or you might end up elsewhere. The location was fantastic. Platinum Mall was directly opposite our hotel. Other malls like Central World were within walking distance too although in the Bangkok heat, I wanted to walk as little as possible outdoors.

We had a few minor hiccups with the staff at the hotel. The lady at the desk who served us seemed to be a bit confused about the bedding we wanted in our room because we had three people ina room. After a while, another staff member came and explained to her what we wanted so luckily that was resolved quickly. Another time was when I was in the shower. We had asked for extra toiletries/towels so a lady came to put it in our bathroom while I was still in the shower. My husband said to her a few times that someone was in the bathroom ( the door was also closed). However she didn't seem to understand and she walked straight in to put the things down. I had switched off the water then so I was awkwardly standing behind the glass not knowing what to do. When she turned to leave, she then realized where I was so she quickly apologized and rushed out. I wasn't angry. It's quite a funny story to tell actually. I just put it down to her not understanding english properly, although she should have checked to see if someone was in the bathroom seeing that the door was closed.

Besides these few minor incidents, the staff were generally polite and helpful. We had to go on a tour at 4:30am and asked the staff if they could pack us breakfast since the buffet breakfast didn't open until later. They organized all this and we ended up with a massive box for each person filled with different Danishes, sandwiches, a croissant, a banana, another fruit and a bottle of water. Wow, I wasn't really expecting so much food at 4:30am in the morning but I wasn't complaining!

The beds were comfortable and the bathroom was big. It was nice to come to a room with fruits and a box of treats for us.

The buffet breakfast was excellent. They had a wide variety of food - Western, Japanese, Chinese and Indian. The food was tasty and of a good quality. All the other buffet breakfasts we had after the Bangkok leg of our trip could not compare to this.

I would definitely recommend this place to others, especially given its great location and buffet breakfast.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank C A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 20 April 2013
Dear C A,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had an enjoyable stay and despite the few hiccups, the overall experience was good.

With regard to to those hiccups, thank you for being so understanding, especially with the bathroom incident. Please do accept my apologies for this happening and we have spoken to the housekeeping team abut this to ensure it does not happen again.

I am delighted we were able to arrange your breakfast boxes for you as it seems such a shame to lose out due to early departure when you have it included in your package.

Thank you so much for taking the time to write, we genuinely appreciate it and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok again.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#89 of 858 in Bangkok
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#54 of 858 in Bangkok
5,160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Property: Amari Watergate Bangkok
Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#60 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Amari Hotels, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Priceline, Southall Travel, Agoda, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing