We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from home”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #72 of 862 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Perth, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 29 May 2013

This is the 4th time we have stayed at this gem of a hotel. The location is perfect, markets on one corner, shopping mall straight across the road, MBK shopping centre is a 5 minute taxi ride. You are spoilt for choice with restuarants/coffee shop on the premises of this hotel. We last stayed here in April 2013 for our sons 21st birthdayand were not disappointed. The cascades promenade serves sandwiches, cakes, tappas and freezing cold beer, Just what you need after a day's shopping. Henry J Beans has happy hour on cocktails every night, also a great choice of American, Thai, Mexican food. There is also a pool table and BIG screen tv with all sports to watch . There is a chinese and Thai restuarant also. The gym is very impressive. The staff are amazingly friendly and are very obliging and the G.M. goes out of his way to say "hello". The rooms are lovely and clean and the pillows are to die for!!! We will definitely be returning to the Amari Watergate. Sawasdee

Room Tip: Grand deluxe rooms are very nicely decorated and would book this room again.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jkmmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 29 May 2013
Dear jkmmz,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I was so pleased to read that you had another enjoyable stay with us and that all aspects from the location, Henry J Beans, the gym and most importantly our welcoming General Manager and his team all contributed to the experience.

We are very grateful to you for taking the time out to write and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your home in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,446 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,353
    1,508
    407
    110
    68
See reviews for
1,336
1,834
333
841
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,000)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vaughan, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Traveling to Thailand I wanted to try some authentic experience, what better then choosing a hotel which is owned locally by Thai's. Based on the reviews I decided to settle for Amari Watergate, centrally located and in the hub of Shopping District.

Well, truly impressed with the Thai traditional welcome and smoothness at check in. The people are nice and lead you to your room.Luggage delivered promptly and what is nice is room service is quick and efficient. The minibar has several choices and even in the middle of the night any food order is welcome.

The breakfast was great and yes had over a hundred choices.

Excellent Value for money and location gets you shopping the moment you step out of the property.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rita M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 June 2013
Dear Rita M,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you choose us based on the reviews and that we did not disappoint. It was great for us to read that you felt you had an authentic Thai experience also as we like to keep that traditional element entwined with a modern service.

We really appreciate you taking the time out to write and hopefully it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 3 nights from 19th to 23rd May and were very impressed with all aspects of the service, accommodation and food/drinks provided. The staff were welcoming, attentive, friendly and efficient and we would recommend this hotel to anybody. Value for money was excellent as is the location in downtown Bangkok.

Room Tip: If you can do so, do upgrade to an executive room. It costs a bit more but is well worth the differe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Tony S,

Thank you for your excellent review of the hotel. I was delighted to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that all elements from the location, accommodation, food and drinks and most importantly the staff all contributed to your experience.

It is always great to hear that you feel you have received value for money too.

We really appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 28 May 2013

I always love taking photos of their orchids decoration. It makes me really feel that I am staying in Thailand. Their food is great with reasonable price, especially at Chinese Restaurant and Henry J Bean's pub. The room is nice and clean. I love their service - hotel staff with friendly Thai smile.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WSWorldTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear WSworldtraveller,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I was delighted to read you had such a great stay with us and that the Orchids, dining outlets, nice room and most importantly friendly staff all contributed to the experience.

We are very grateful for you for taking the time out to write and I do hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok again.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wales
Level 6 Contributor
64 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The location could not be better ...loads of shopping close by , also the sky train not such a far walk.
Wonderful staff, polite , attentive.... Great size rooms and bathrooms , wonderful views from any bedroom window across the city... Poolside and rear garden real sun trap. Health club well equipped and sauna steam room great to relax .
Bar in basement can be fun with the live music, place to unwind and enjoy.
Boat station across the road from hotel ,,, give it a try for an adventure ... Platform furthest from hotel , last stop takes you to the golden dome, close to Chinatown, 12 baht,,, bargain....

Room Tip: If your not staying in the top floor , ask to take some photo from there,,,,it's spectacular...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank thaitravellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear thaitravellers,

Thank you for your amazing review of the hotel. I was pleased to read that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and that the location, rooms, pool area, access to BTS, our bar at HJB's all contributed to your experience.

Of course the most important part was to hear that our staff were polite and helpful throughout your time with us. We are so grateful for you for taking the time out to write and I sincerely hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your 'home' in Bangkok again.

With warmest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

My wife loves this hotel. It is near to platinum mall which is her favourite shopping centre. That aside, the rooms are comfortable. Executive rooms may not be worth paying extra for if you are out most of the time. The normal rooms are just as good and we have stayed in both before on different occassions.
Service is good and the rooms have a nice layout. I am not so sure about the toilet doors though. It seems you are facing the door if you are using the toilet.
There are nice touches for example they leave a complimentary cake in the room on my wife's birthday. They also call the cab for you take down the cab number and make sure the cab driver on the meter and understands your destination. They do airport transfers at a price but i find it reasonable given that we do not have to deal with cab drivers wanting to charge you a lump sum halfway. The hotel is quite far from the subway station too.
However this hotel is showing a bit of age but we can feel that the staff is trying to make your stay memorable. If you are well travelled, you may not agree that this is a five star property but sometimes it is good and healthier to ignore the stars and just enjoy the different management and staff cultures at different hotels at different countries instead of getting worked up if someone or something does not meet your expectation.
I think the service matches what we have paid and we will be back.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Song_HS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear Song_HS,

Thank you for your great review of the hotel. I was delighted to read you had another enjoyable stay with us and that whether it is in Deluxe or Executive rooms, you have enjoyed both room categories.

It was great to hear your wife enjoys the location for shopping and that the finer touches such as the birthday cake and the attention to detail with sending our guests on their way in a taxi do not go amiss.

We too recognise that we have a need to update our product and this is currently underway, the Executive floors & lounge, the spa were enhanced last year and we will launch another updated 5 floors this year with new bathrooms.

We really appreciate you taking the time to write and I do hope it won't be long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 27 May 2013

The hotel is very pleasant the locations is really great (if you like shopping ) very close to shopping mall .The staff was awesome and very helpful The room was very big , clean nd well organised hotel with decent amenities

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LokillaJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ciaran B, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 28 May 2013
Dear LokillaJ,

Thank you for your wonderful review of the hotel. I am so pleased that you had such an enjoyable stay with us and everything from the location, big rooms, decent amenities and welcoming staff all contributed to your experience.

We are so grateful for you for taking the time out to write and I do hope it won't be too long before we are welcoming you back to your "home" in Bangkok.

With kindest regards,

Ciaran Brazil
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#90 of 862 in Bangkok
1,559 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#53 of 862 in Bangkok
5,256 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Property: Amari Watergate Bangkok
Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing