We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel, very central for everything.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #68 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Liverpool, Merseyside
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Hotel, very central for everything.”
Reviewed 27 August 2014

Really enjoyed our 4 day stay in the Amari Watergate. Lovely room, very helpful staff and the most varied choice for breakfast. Nice pool and pool bar, quite expensive but very nice. Rooms lovely and clean and room service great. Central for everything, water taxi, sky train, tuk tuks and plenty of taxi's. 1 minute from the night market to grab some real good bargains (take an empty case)! Loved our stay, if we go back to Bangkok will definitely stay at the Amari Watergate. Excellent.

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor right at the front, didn't get disturbed at all. Could not hear the tr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrGraham421
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear MrGraham421,
Thank you for your lovely review, I am delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience during your recent stay
Again thank you for your comments and on behalf of the rest of the team here at Amari Watergate Bangkok, I do look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,291 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,268
    1,460
    394
    107
    62
See reviews for
1,270
1,789
330
822
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (974)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2014

This hotel is a great base to explore Bangkok and is close to the Airport rail line which we used to get to and from our flight. It is located opposite Platinum Fashion Mall as well as other shopping malls such as Central World and Big C, making it a good location for shoppers. Our room was spacious with neatly done up furnishings. The bed was invitingly large and the mattress was extremely soft.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Sandra J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Sandra J,
Thank you so much for your lovely feedback. I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you with a great experience and I look forward to welcome you back soon in your home in Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
38 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014 via mobile

Positive experience:
1. Hotel is directly opposite the Platinum Fashion Mall (a large wholesale centre), nice food place nearby such as the famous Wanton Noodle and others like McDonalds and A&W.
2. Well-facilitated hotel with gym, swimming pool, spa, fitness centre, Resturant and business centre
3. Room is spacious and clean
4. Large LCD TV and sofa area
5. Free wifi (with good connection)
6. Separate bath tub and shower area
7. Good services provided by the staff; prompt response and staff were friendly
8. Comfortable waiting area at the hotel lobby

Rooms for improvement:
1. The cleanliness of the bath tub / water - when we tried fill the tub, the water appears yellowish due to the dirt accumulated on the tub. Hence, we decided against using it. The shower at the tub area was also not functioning. Luckily, the stand-up shower area appears to be relatively clean and the shower was working fine.
2. The sound proofing of the rooms was not tip-top, but bearable. We could hear movements when people walked past and talking, also, we can hear the flushing of the toilet from the room next door.
3. Despite having the security in place in the lift to previous non-guest from going to the floors where the rooms resides, it was not activated. Thus, non-guest can freely move in and out to all the levels in the hotel, including the guest rooms.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Karen T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear YuriyeKren,
Thank you very much for taking the time and writing a review about your most recent stay with us. We are always thankful for constructive feedback as we learn from it in a quest to become better, please rest assured that your comments are duly notes and have been shared with the rest of our team in order to follow up and avoid such incidents to re-occur.
Thank you once again for your comments and I do look forward to welcome you back soon.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Last winter I stayed at the Amari Watergate 6 times, using the hotel as my base while I travelled in south east Asia; I must say that the level of personalised service that I received on every occasion was by far the best that I have every experienced, especially considering that it is such a large busy hotel, where service can often be impersonal……..

A special mention goes to Nina Saidi, Director of revenue, who was extremely helpful, and to the staff at the concierge desk, who were always available and full of useful information and suggestions………..also the Cascade bar and restaurant on the ground floor has great food and wonderful service from the professional and very friendly staff………..and every evening in the lobby, two ladies sit playing music on traditional Thai instruments, which lends a lovely calm ambience to the area

This is not a budget hotel, but great value considering the quality of service, the quality of the rooms and the location; located on Petchburi road, directly opposite the Platinum shopping mall, which is a huge mall selling lots of good quality items at budget prices……….it is just a short walk to Central World and Siam Paragon shopping malls, which are both, up market, air conditioned mall’s where you will find international labels, but more importantly, some wonderful clothes from some of Thailand’s great young designers………..so the hotel is in a fantastic location for anyone with a penchant for shopping……….

You can find tuk-tuk’s on the road outside the hotel 24 hours, and the hotel has a constant stream of taxis arriving at the front doors, where they have a taxi calling desk which is manned 24 hours, so organising temple visits or getting anywhere that you want to is never a problem…………

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 11 September 2014
Dear Alan B,
Thank you for taking the time and writing such a lovely comments, I am delighted to read that we were able to provide you a great experience.
Thank you for your continuous loyalty and we look forward to welcome you back in your home in Bangkok.
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kfar Saba, Israel
Level Contributor
167 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Although room's bathroom need to be renewed, the hotel itself is great.
rooms are big and clean, breakfast is reach and the pool & fit room are great.
it's all about location , hotel is in the heart of the shopping area of bangkok and easy to reach anywhere in town.
greatly recommended.
Wifi is working at all rooms and even outside of the hotel near the road :)

Room Tip: upper floor, ask for softer pillows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nisimbarda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 12 September 2014
Dear nisimbarda,
We would like to thank you for your kind words. We really appreciate you taking the time to comment about your recent stay and do hope to host you again soon in your home in Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

This is the 2nd time I am staying at Amari Watergate and am glad to say that this hotel never fail to amaze me once again. I have stayed in a few hotels in BKK, from 3-5 Stars, and Amari Watergate is definitely a level above the rest.

I would like to thank the staff for their hospitality during this stay especially Kingfah who took the extra time and effort to make this stay perfect. It's such helpful staff which makes the guest feels like home. Will definitely be staying here again when I am back in BKK.

Room Tip: Rooms are great in general, but for those who would prefer a newer looking room, do book the Grand D...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pingpongker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 22 September 2014
Dear pingpongker,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience in our property. We really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay and do hope to host you again soon in your home in Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Macquarie
Level Contributor
27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights in Bangkok and were very pleased to have selected the Amari. The main reason initially was that we could book in late as they had 24 hour reception. our plane did not arrive IN Bangkok until 1.30AM. As it turned out the Hotel was located in a great position alongside many popular shopping centres and was a short walk to restaurants. We arranged a pick-up from the hotel for a dinner cruise around the harbour on the 2nd night.
The hotel was a much better standard than we expected. the price was really competitive and the rooms & service were top class.
We are now planning another trip next year and will be using this hotel for sure.
Rabbitoes

Room Tip: We had a high floor which was beautiful
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rabbitoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nina S, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this review, 23 September 2014
Dear Rabbitoes,
Thank you for taking the time and sharing your experience in our property. We really appreciate your feedback regarding your recent stay and do hope to host you again soon in your home in Bangkok
Kind regards,
Nina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#89 of 858 in Bangkok
1,544 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#54 of 858 in Bangkok
5,150 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Property: Amari Watergate Bangkok
Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#61 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, Amari Hotels, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing