We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service is good but showing signs of age”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #72 of 885 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 22 January 2011

This hotel knows how to make things comfortable for business group travelers. The group check-in was well-organized and really well-done.

The room was acceptable. Large and comfortable though not really very luxurious. For a hotel of this class, I expected a pillow menu which was not available.

The bathroom was a disappointment. Large but showing signs of age. Toiletries provided were limited - no hair conditioner, no shaver, no toothbrush.

The breakfast buffet was also a little disappointing. Again, I expected more from a hotel of this class. Spread was quite limited in variety.

The hotel's at least 10min walk away from the nearest sky train station. Not exactly a very convenient location. Taxis are plentiful but one would have to contend with the famous traffic jams.

In summary, the hotel is not too bad. But I would prefer to stay at a hotel which is nearer to a train station.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SINGTRAVELLER_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (5,742)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4,592 - 4,598 of 5,742 reviews

Reviewed 20 January 2011

Has a wonderful 5 nights booked as a special package direct with the hotel (cheaoer than all of the other sites).

The staff were so welcoming anf friendly and very happy to assist as needed.

The room was a good size with excellent facilities. The gym and surprisingly the bathrooms were wonderful. I love having a sauna then being able to lay in a jet bath to refresh.

The food was excellent, I ate at the hotel's Chinese, Thai restarnats and coffee shop dowstairs. The Chinese restaurant was slightly too pricy but service and quality could not be faulted. I'd recommend avoiding the The American restaurant downstairs, dark and the food was bland.

Breakfast was amazing, with a very wide selection. Excellent quality and cheap (it wa sincluded in the room rate).

Finally, the BMW 5 series limousine from and to the airport was excellent, and cheaper than Viator who I have previously used, and the complimentary chilled water and newspaper was a pleasant welcome after sitting on a plane for 9 hours.

Overall, exceptional.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SteveB1967
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

On Short business trip with a little bit of shopping.
Rooms - Clean and comfortable
Staff - Helpful on directions, friendly on check in
Location - Near to Shopping centre, 30 mins to airport by taxi
Food - 24hrs Mac nearby, Breakfast in hotel average

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HeavenFire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2011

Stayed at the Amari twice. In February 2007 I had to move rooms in the middle of the night because the bed sheets were stained with body fluids & hair. In January I caught the waittress at the restaurant ringing up my credit card twice and not telling me - when I informed the restaurant manager she put up a huge charade in Thai and dragged me back and forth between the restaurant and reception without solving the problem, I had the demand to see the hotel manager who swiftly rectified the situation. Had I not walked in and saw the two slips I would not have known I had been charged twice until I got home. Beware, be very aware!!!

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank TravelreporterSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
domaschke, Manager at Amari Watergate Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2011

First and foremost, we would like to thank you for your comments.

The experience you described on this website causes us deep concern.

We would like to offer our sincere apologies for any frustration or anxiety that was caused to you during your recent visit to our Thai on 4 Restaurant. Please let us explain, that it is common practices in any establishment accepting credit cards, when such declined during charge to ask for a cash payments. We run the sum through 2 different credit card machines without any success therefore our Team Members followed the normal hotel policy. Nevertheless we learnt that you had enjoyed your meal in the restaurant. We noted that you did not stay with us this time, only before the renovation 4 years ago. Therefore we were surprise to see your remark in terms of rooms, sleep quality and cleanness.
Once again, thank you for eating in our Thai on 4 restaurant with us, and we do appreciate you bringing this issue to our attention.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

The Amari Watergate hotel provided us with the best possible experience we could expect from a hotel. The staff was friendly, professional and helpful. The quality of the food, especially the breakfast, was excellent. The room was very comfortable, clean and offering a great view of the Bangkok skyline. And let's not forget to mention the location of the hotel which is walk distance from the main shopping destination of the city. We highly recommend this hotel to any visitors coming to Bangkok

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kimasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

The staff on the executive floor are simply warm and friendly. Family -like atmosphere and you see them treat all guests with such hospitality, not just you.

  • Stayed: January 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChanSL13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

We enjoyed our stay in Amari Watergate Hotel from Dec 12-17, 2010. It's very central and the hotel is very nice and cozy. I bidded the standard room through Priceline at US$55/night (without breakfast). When we checked in the hotel, the hotel staff highly recommended us to upgrade the hotel room with breakfast at a higher rate. It was actually very easy to get food around the hotel. There's a 24-hour McDonald's across the hotel. The only dislike is that you have to pay for in-room internet service. We chose to use the free internet in the lobby, but was quite slow. The Platinum Fashion Mall has great selection of cheap, yet fashionable, ladies fashion. I highly recommend you shop in the mall and stay with Amari Watergate. There's also cheap foot massage around the hotel for THB200 (60 min).

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vazworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#95 of 885 in Bangkok
1,591 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#53 of 885 in Bangkok
5,504 reviews
Siam
Centara Grand at CentralWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £67 - £120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Amari Hotels, Agoda, Booking.com, Southall Travel, TravelUp, Travelbag, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing