We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful but hot water didn't seem consistent”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Amari Watergate Bangkok
Ranked #68 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful but hot water didn't seem consistent”
Reviewed 7 March 2011

We just returned from our wonderful stay at Amari Watergate

The staff were fantastically hospitable and certainly very polite. Wireless access is free at the Lobby.

Booked the deluxe room and was extremely impressed with toilet which came with 2 separate sinks. There was also a separate shower and tub.

What was disappointing though was that the hot water for showering didn't seem very consistent. It seemed that everytime someone else from another room flushed, the water temperature would suddenly fluctuate. This made my partner and I substantially annoyed

The DVD player attached to the flat screen tele didn't seem to work either.

Overall though we had a wonderful time.

Just a tip though - when taking a taxi back to the hotel, remember to specify that you want to head back to Amari watergate as some taxi drivers may take you to Amari Atrium instead.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SuyinSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

5,331 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,294
    1,470
    398
    107
    62
See reviews for
1,291
1,799
330
825
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (980)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2011

Its really nice when a hotel just delivers on what you expect.

Service great, food great. Slept well - loved my flatscreen TV and was well looked after across the board.

in terms of location - so central - bit of a shame no easy access to skytrain but you can't have it all.

strongly recommend this to all.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank asiawanderer57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 5 March 2011

We have been staying
this hotel since our 1st grandson is born (2004). The staff are very courtesy and helpful we have experience many hotel on Bangkok eg. Inrda Regent , Pathumwan Princess, novotel@ Siam square, Grand Diamond and Narai @ silom we still preferred Amari Watergate as we get good thai, Chinese and western cuisine food and we find that thier service was excellent among all the other hotels we have
stay before.

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philiplim2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
1 review
Reviewed 3 March 2011

At Amari Watergate, we had the greatest stay ever !
It was the best way to start and finish our honeymoon in Thailand.
Staff is amazing and very helpful. They care for all little details.
Rooms are very clean, large and very comfortable.
The location in the centre of the shopping malls is very convenient.
We treated ourselves with the executive floor package.
Amazing breakfast and happy hour buffet (with French, Asian and continental food and wines).
Great service.
We will back one day.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Schukkateam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2011

location - Centrally located right next to Pratunam wholesale market + Indra market; bang oppposite the Platinum mall, very close to MKB + Bug C malls; in close proximity to Siam area too...

The hotel rooms - large room space with diwan / couch offering the best of services - dont be surprised to see a condom on the sale in the room (remember its bangkok!!!). Double sinks in the bathroom, bat tubs and shower area separate and a nbathroom dorr which doubles up as a toilte door makes it ideal for conference / business colleagues sharing a room.... In room amenities - all excellent including tea / coffee maker, water, iron and ironing board etc.... Rooms were cleaned daily and amenities replensihed daily. We were on a conference - hence the hotel rooms were suprrb - rooms were not turned down daily in the evening (dont know why) Newspapers would be given to other rooms but not to ours (i never asked for one) - guess the hotel was trying to save on costs? The only challenge is a travel adapter which you need to carry as the plugs are different from India stanrads (flat instead of the round shapes)...

Food - breakfast was inclusive in our package and since we were on a conference there was Indian spread too which never tasted Indian ... I was on fruits and breads and preserves... For vegeterains from India it could e a challenege. I ordered room service for tomato soup which was pretty sour... Be prepared for a lousy service ... speed is something they just dont know...

Bar in the lower lobby was an awesome choice for drinks.. Lobby had some lovely live performance of local musical instruments.

Conferecing - the staff was very poor in service - apathy and scorns mounted thier face if one woudl request for anything to be done including chaging in set-up or lowering the airconditioning. ..... the rooms themselves were large / spacious... vene getting an extra tea or coffee was a challenge as water would be cold

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kapil A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martigny, Switzerland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2011

As usual at Amari WaterGate, another very pleasant stay, feeling at home with the attention and friendlyness of the always smiling staff.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TaKaTen_VS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pretoria, South Africa
Level Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2011

As you traverse through the roads entering Bangkok, the Amari Watergate appears as a tall, shiny beacon welcoming you into the city. The glitzy exterior does not betray the splendid insides of this towering giant. Modern, immaculate and spacious aptly describes what was defintely the best hotel we stayed in during our honeymoon abroad. We received complimentary champagne and a delectable chocolate mousse cake. The staff were friendly and attentive. They kindly packed us a breakfast as we had to depart for the airport before breakfast had commenced.

The breakfast menu was comprehensive and delicious. We had been checked into the grand deluxe suite and it had a huge flat screen tv and not to mention a massive, comfortable bed. Another great addition was the inclusion of an iron and ironing board in the suite.

We would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and everyone!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoopaMoses
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Novotel Bangkok Platinum Pratunam
GLOW Pratunam
#90 of 858 in Bangkok
1,548 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
Pathumwan Princess Hotel
#54 of 858 in Bangkok
5,166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amari Watergate Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Watergate Bangkok

Property: Amari Watergate Bangkok
Address: 847 Phetchaburi Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#38 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#41 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#61 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Amari Watergate Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 569
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Feel the excitement of Bangkok at your very doorstep. Amari Watergate Bangkok puts you in the heart of the vibrant Pratunam neighbourhood in downtown Petchburi, known for its bustling landscape of shopping bazaars and lifestyle malls. At the 5-star Amari Watergate hotel, you are just steps away from all it has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Expedia, Agoda, Amari Hotels, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, TravelUp, Travelbag, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Amari Watergate Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Watergate Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Hotel Amari Watergate

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing