We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and clean, and not in the tourist area”
Review of St. James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
St. James Hotel
Ranked #393 of 895 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 17 December 2012

We stayed here as a group of friends, and got a good rate through their website.
The stay was good, and comfortable, however there was quite a bit of distance from the hotel to any of the tourist sites (both plus and minus points).
Had a good nights sleep there, but the wifi was a bit slow.
The (small) swimming pool was a nice addition though. So nice being able to relax with your feet in the water drinking a beer after a hard day traipsing through Bangkok.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank David J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (528)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

40 - 46 of 528 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2012

i stay there during my transfer flight to another city. just stay there one night and during the fasting month. the service is abolutely good, they send me a breakfast at the room on 03.30 am in he morning. bts is on walking distance, you can go all around bangkok by bts. but i love this hotel, nice and clean, enough for me.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gondel g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2012

Hotel was nice and rooms were lovely. Pool was small and in the shade. hotel was quite empty when we stayed and there was very little atmosphere. Abit out of the way and a taxi required for most trips.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Saja_S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2011

The hotel was reasonable value for money, one of the receptionists and a doorman were very helpful, and the hotel is very well located.
However, on this second visit to the hotel, I was disappointed to see how it had deteriorated. The first room I was given faced ongoing construction: the second room, while quieter, was full of mosquitoes. It took me over an hour every day to get someone to come and spray the room, with one of the receptionists suggesting I change my room a third time! I was given one small and one large towel, and no face towels, but I decided not to complain; however, as I was leaving, the receptionist came chasing after me asking if I had returned the face towel I'd never received! All in all, a change for the worse after my very pleasurable visit last year, as a result of which I didn't think twice about returning this year.

Room Tip: Specify that you want a room that does NOT face construction work, and that overlooks the poolside.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AM207
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2011

It's small but nice!

Location:
good, surrounded by massage and spa houses.
10 mins walk to the nearest train station.

Rooms:
Modern interior
Clean
Large windows
Carpeted
Soft bed
fluffy pillows
have hot and cold shower and a Tub
Complete toiletries

Staff:
Very nice
Accomodating

Rates:
Quite cheap if you book in advance

This hotel have a mini pool and it's clean.
Restaurant is nice and cozy. Located at the lobby.
Small Elevator (but good for 4 person only)

i recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Bangkok.:)

Room Tip: Nothing in particular. All rooms are beautiful and well decorated.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Janelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I have stayed at this hotel many times when in Bangkok cos of its good location -- walking distance to the BTS and other amenities like the Emporium Mall & local restaurants just down the road with a cheap laundry service (compared to the overpriced one in the hotel!). Its a small boutique hotel where staff kind of know most of their guests. As a frequent stayer one would have thought the hotel would get better, just like fine wine that tastes better upon maturity! Unfortunately, on my last and most recent trip staff were unhelpful and the quality of service had deteriorated, especially from the front desk staff. The management should take more interest in its guests, especially since there are so many other hotels of this type at the same price range as well.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank travelmania070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2011

This hotel does seem like it is more suited for the business travelor than young couples but never the less it was nice. It was the more expensive place we stayed and laundry was super expensive compared to everywhere else. They have a full restaurant and bar and it's very modern and updated. You do have to pay for your wifi use which was the first time in Thailand we had to do that. The staff were pleasant but I don't think they much liked us. Not rude but not over friendly either which I had gotten used to in Thailand. It is very close to the skytrain and near many restaurants, bars, a night market and plenty of taxi's and tuk tuks.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nefertitiboston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
#277 of 895 in Bangkok
289 reviews
Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
D Varee Diva Bally Sukhumvit
#339 of 895 in Bangkok
737 reviews
Sukhumvit
Citadines Sukhumvit 23 Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Admiral Suites Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Sukhumvit
The Four Wings Hotel
The Four Wings Hotel
#337 of 895 in Bangkok
323 reviews
Sukhumvit
Aspen Suites Hotel Sukhumvit 2 Bangkok by Compass Hospitality
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Address: 18 Sukhumvit 26 Road | Khlongton, Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #393 of 895 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range: £38 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located center of the town .And near by Sky Trian ,and shopping mall only 5 min.by walk,also near by hospital.Far from Suwannaphumi Airport 40 min.by express way.All of the 78 guest rooms and suites are stylishly furnished,and include the following features,Air conditioning with individual controls ,private bathroom with bath and shower,satellite TV in room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel
St James Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing