We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent hotel for the price paid” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of St. James Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
St. James Hotel
Ranked #414 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
petporter
Level Contributor
38 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel for the price paid”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2010

Hotel is modern, spacious, clean, has all that you need in a hotel and room, has a small by good swimming pool to cool off after a day out in bangkok. the location is about 5 mins walk to the sky train. no shopping in the area, but lots of japanese restaurants in the area. we found this hotel to be amazing for what we paid which was $50 per night on a deal that we found through trip advisor.
can't fault this place, we were even given early check in as the counter staff could see we were worn out from our travels.
thanks for a great stay St James.
Yes i would recommend this hotel to anyone traveling to bangkok.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank petporter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    127
    318
    54
    10
    5
See reviews for
9
28
27
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

This hotel was a great find for us. It is very well located close to the skytrain with exceptionally helpful and polite staff. Breakfast was extensive in a very modern, pleasant restaurant setting. We ate at the restaurant twice during our brief stay because the meals were delicious, service was exceptional and the environment was so quiet and pleasant. Our room was cosy, clean and comfortable with a pleasant outlook. Thanks to the staff for our stay. We'd like to visit again.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ray2709
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2010

Great Hotel in a relatively quiet area although only 5 minutes walk to the sky train...
Lovely Staff,room was clean.....great value.......
Breakfast was much better than we expected and the breakfast area was extremely trendy.....
Pool area was nice although you are surrounded by buildings(was to be expected in Bangkok!)
Take the skytrain to mo chit(20 minutes in air conditioned train) to go to the best weekend Market in the world....

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank brompeter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2010

St James hotel is in a fairly built up commercial/ business area so first impressions make you think you are a bit far away from things. However, turn left out of the hotel and left again at the bottom of the street (short walk) and you are right by the skytrain and walk a little on from there to the Emporium shopping centre, bars, restaurants etc etc.

Overall this is a very very nice hotel, just like the photos on the website. Very clean, well maintained & great service, beds are a little firm but not too bad. Swimming pool is a bit small but good for catching the morning sunshine. Breakfast is buffet style i.e. help yourself to what ever you want, plenty to choose from and good food. We paid £45 per night for a deluxe room which some will think is expensive but then again it is a definate 4 star experience. Would stay there again !!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Journeywise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
526 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 259 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 April 2010

i stayed here for 3 nights and was very happy that i chose this hotel. i have stayed in other areas of bangkok and personally feel that the sukhamvit area is the nicest.

i arrived at midnight after a long flight and ordered room service, the food was great and clearly made fresh in the hotel.

the room was clean and modern. the restaurant on the ground floor was fantastic and the food was great.

i would definitely stay here again, especially because it was so cheap!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank foodfootballbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2010

I stayed in St. James Hotel in May 2009 and was pretty happy with my choice.
It's located on Sukhumvit Soi 26, just a short walk to sky train Phrom Phong Station and my beloved Emporium Shopping Center (all stuff at the top floor food court is a must try!:)
I didn't pay for breakfast, so don't have any comments on that (I usually just grab a pack of fresh fruits on the street, it's an easy way to start a day for smth like 20 baht).
The room was nice, fresh and clean, pretty much like the pictures I saw on the website, the only issue could be the walls - they are rather thin so if you're unlucky to be set next to noisy neighbours it could be disturbing. No noise from the street though, which is good for a hotel in the center. The bathroom was clean and the service was faultless, so although you shouldn't be expecting much of the place, it's a decent and clean hotel, which I could easily recommend to a friend as a budget option.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Iris_07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
48 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2010

Room - We got a free upgrade to a deluxe room. Room itself was still on the small side but adequate for our needs. Room has LCD TV, sofa, queen size bed and bathroom. We didn't expect much for $40/night and it certainly exceeded our expectations.

Service here was great - staff were friendly and helpful at all times.
Location - its about 5 mins walk from the BTS station which is a little dark but manageable.

Overall I would stay here again given the value for money!

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puringu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
Arize Hotel Sukhumvit
#287 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 233 reviews
Sukhumvit
24 Inn Hotel
24 Inn Hotel
#351 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Sukhumvit
Ariston Hotel
Ariston Hotel
#456 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Hope Land Executive Serviced Apartment
Sukhumvit
RetrOasis Hotel
RetrOasis Hotel
#400 of 849 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 113 reviews
Sukhumvit
The Four Wings Hotel
The Four Wings Hotel
#380 of 849 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to St. James Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about St. James Hotel

Property: St. James Hotel
Address: 18 Sukhumvit 26 Road | Khlongton, Khlongtoey, Bangkok 10110, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Sukhumvit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #414 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — St. James Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 78
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located center of the town .And near by Sky Trian ,and shopping mall only 5 min.by walk,also near by hospital.Far from Suwannaphumi Airport 40 min.by express way.All of the 78 guest rooms and suites are stylishly furnished,and include the following features,Air conditioning with individual controls ,private bathroom with bath and shower,satellite TV in room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your St. James Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
St James Hotel
St James Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing