We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A place to recoup”
Review of Asia Hotel Bangkok

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Asia Hotel Bangkok
Ranked #330 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Hat Choeng Mon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A place to recoup”
Reviewed 15 December 2013

So you're flying to Bangkok which depending on you're starting point could be a 20 hour flight with layovers and time change. From the Airport take a cab straight to the Asia Hotel and recoup. They have a roof top pool with a cocktail bar and views of Bangkok. The staff is very helpful and friendly. The Asia Hotel has a great location and tuks tuks are right at your door. If you leave the hotel turn right and right again and you will find yourself in the most interesting food market and vendor stalls. Plan on spending some time there and immerse your self in the Thai culture. If your like me 3 days in Bangkok is enough so head South. Then when you are flying home plan on 2 more days of exploring all of Bangkok.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the market behind the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BlueMoonhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,365 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    149
    537
    419
    152
    108
See reviews for
259
409
141
115
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 December 2013

Visited in last week of October with wife & parents. The first thing to brag about this hotel is the awesome location...connected to the Ratchathewi Metro Station it's easily accessible to & from anywhere in Bangkok!
Checkin could have been faster though. Breakfast was good. Great street food available just outside the premises, so are numerous 7/11 shops & massage parlours.
Suggestion: They should construct a ramp on the stairs connecting the Hotel to the Metro bridge.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Soumyadeep G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra ACT
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

We stayed six nights at the Asia Hotel in November 2013. We stayed on the 14 floor in an Executive Room. The room was comfortable, spacious and very clean. The Housekeeping staff were excellent and friendly The reception staff were helpful and although extremely busy all the time, were attentive to your needs and helpful. We did have to wait about 20 minutes on arrival, but there were a number of people checking in at once.

The Asia is centrally located to MBK and Siam Centre, and lots of attractions, plus sky rail (the best way to travel around Bangkok) is right at the door. We purchased an all day (to midnight) ticket for 125baht which was great.

There is a very good dressmaker across from the hotel in the arcade next to the hairdresser you go out the side entrance not the front entrance. The hairdresser across the road from the hotel is very good as well, the first nail and massage shop next to the hotel going out the same entrance on the hotel side to the left of the hotel is excellent for foot massage and Thai massage.

We purchased our accommodation on Agoda - six nights for $389 without breakfast. The hotel offer a full breakfast for 300baht, but we preferred to buy yoghurt from the 7/11 Shop near the hotel, then walked to the Puff n Pie shop in the little centre to the right of the hotel going out the front entrance. They make great american coffee and have cinamon scrolls which are really nice.

The travel agency across from Puff n Pie is Asian Travel and they are very helpful plus the prices are reasonable and the trips and excersions they off and good. They also organise transport for you either to the airport or to Pattaya at very reasonable costs. Much cheaper than the hotel.

Room Tip: If staying at this hotel book any excersions you want to take through the little Asian Travel Agency...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank happytravellerACT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 December 2013 via mobile

Staff were so extremely rude on check in. We were considering forfeiting our deposit to look for accommodation elsewhere. Room smelt, no wifi, dated and very old/used decor. Plenty of other accommodation options nearby that would be better!!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bethy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Severna Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 December 2013

About all you can say for this hotel is that it is located close to the Skytrain and (now) the new Airport Link. Staff is god-awful slow when it comes to check-in and check-out. The buffet is marginal, at best. The beds were made up but the room, otherwise, looked like the maid had somewhere else to be. We paid for a premium room because, among other things, it included wifi -- except it didn't. Wifi never worked and despite complaining twice over a two-day period, there was no honest effort to resolve the problem. When I tried to get some compensation on checkout, I was met by a manager who presented the circular logic that since it was included "free" as part of the room (which I had paid extra for), she had no intention of even a token reimbursement. Do yourself a favor and try something else. Any rating above rock-bottom for this hotel would be overrated.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank symbiosis2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alexandria, Virginia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We only stayed here one night, but it was not the best experience. We waited in line to check in for about 45 minutes (even though there was only one family in front of us). We booked this hotel under the impression that the staff spoke some English, but in reality the staff spoke very little English and basic communication was very difficult. We had train tickets delivered to the hotel, and it took me an hour and half to find them, after asking seven different staff members who either pawned me off to someone else or insisted that they hadn't arrived (I got a confirmation email saying they had been delivered, and the seventh person was finally able to locate them). I'm sure this hotel was a great in its heyday, but you can tell those days are long gone. Room was definitely not clean, and since we got an "upgrade," I cringe to think what we might have stayed in without the upgrade. Breakfast & fitness center a plus, but overall, wouldn't stay there again or suggest it to anyone. Find a better place for the same price in a different neighborhood.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vbleds01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chonburi, Thailand
Level Contributor
158 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

Well we have stayed many times at the Asia Hotel and on one of the occasions early in the year I spoke to the manager and asked if the hotel would consider giving Free WiFi like many of the Bangkok Hotels, he answered by asking me to send an email with my request (adding insult asking me to email) anyway I did email and I got no response from anybody, the hotel has very little other than having a great location to offer,on check out this time I was asked have I taken a tea spoon as there is one missing, My wife Lesley and I had to stand at the reception over 30 min until the maid in the room said she had found it, I have in the past said to my wife maybe we should look for another hotel in Bangkok and maybe after this incident we will afer staying over 20 years.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
Ibis Bangkok Siam
#155 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,409 reviews
Siam
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
Hua Chang Heritage Hotel
#152 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
Chateau de Bangkok
#145 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 856 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Siam
Happy 3
Happy 3
#116 of 858 in Bangkok
4.0 of 5 bubbles 324 reviews
Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
Mercure Bangkok Siam
#99 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,012 reviews
Grand Diamond Suites Hotel
#334 of 858 in Bangkok
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,284 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asia Hotel Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asia Hotel Bangkok

Property: Asia Hotel Bangkok
Address: 296 Phayathai Road, Bangkok 10400, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Siam
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#107 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#207 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Asia Hotel Bangkok 4*
Number of rooms: 650
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Odigeo, Ctrip TA, Asiatravel.com Holdings, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asia Hotel Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bangkok Asia Hotel
Asia Bangkok Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing