We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel but mortgage needed for food & drinks!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
lebua at State Tower
Ranked #92 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Leipzig, Germany
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Nice hotel but mortgage needed for food & drinks!”
Reviewed 26 October 2012

We stayed here for 3 nights and overall we were very impressed. Hotel room was spacious and modern with fantastic views of the city and bed was very comfy. Good value for money especially if you get breakfast included.

However we were very disappointed with the price of food and drinks. We ate once in the hotel at cafe mozu which is a poolside cafe and nearly fell off our chairs when we saw that soft drinks were 290 Baht plus an additional 17% for tax and service.That means that a coke that costs approximately 15 Baht in 7-11 costs over 300 Baht (£6), quite a mark-up! That was our last meal at the hotel as when we looked at the room service menu and saw they were charging 1200Baht plus 17% for a burger (around £25) we decided they were taking advantage. We are residents of Bangkok so know how much things cost. We do obviously expect to pay more for drinks at a 5* establishment but that just felt too much. Ironically we had lunch the next day at the Shangri-la hotel which is just across the road and is an equally nice 5* hotel and they were charging half the price of Le Bua.

Overall service by staff was excellent and cannot be faulted other than that it felt too much and sometimes we just wanted to be left alone. We couldn't even push a lift button without someone swooping across and doing it for us! I know you can't complain about attentive service but this did become waring after a while!

The pool area is quite small but there are a good number of lounges and it was quiet the whole time we were there. The one complaint I did have about this area though was that it was a smoking area and when people smoked there was no escaping the smoke. Being over 8 months pregnant I found this to be an uncomfortable experience.

The hotel is not in a great area unfortunately, and we wouldn't recommend this hotel for people passing through the city as there are equally nice hotels in nicer areas. The main attraction is the skybar situated on the 64th floor and that would be worth a visit but you don't need to stay at the hotel to have a drink there.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EnglishGirlinBangkok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

7,100 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,495
    1,699
    562
    199
    145
See reviews for
817
3,795
374
359
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,031)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
90 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2012

I've stayed at this hotel 6 times in the past few years and it remains constant. If you need a hotel that has more than enough room to spread out or conduct a private meeting, this is your place. Each room is an apartment. A standard room is a 1-bedroom complete with a furnished living/dining room, kitchenette with fridge, stove, microwave and a few utensils. You can't really cook, but you can microwave if you have some left over Phad Thai!

In addition to being in a great location, the staff is professional and efficient and security is good. The hotel is a short walk to the river and the sky train and shopping. When you arrive they take your passport and seat you in the lobby while they process the paperwork. If I had any suggestion, it would be to take care of some of this paperwork before the guest arrives...usually pooped from an airplane ride. We booked a king bed but since none were available when we arrived, they "upgraded" us to executive club privileges which include some free cocktails in their lounge and breakfast there if you like (52nd floor)...away from the "riff raff"!

There is a 52nd floor bar and restaurant, but it's so expensive that it's hard to enjoy it. $11 for a cup of coffee is high priced by almost any standards, and if you just want a glass of wine before dinner (or after) this place is a splurge unless you are indeed included in the 1%. Also, there is a strictly enforced dress code which I feel is justified. No flip-flops for anyone, and no shorts. In other words, if you're going to the top to pay top dollar, dress like you belong there. There are plenty of bars that will admit you dress in your beach clothes, so go there!

Don't change money in this hotel as there are plenty of nearby banks, and the fee is about 7%. One other thing we noticed was that the room ammenities have been "downgraded" from the yummy fresh smelling Bulgari to some Brand-x...kind of a disappointment in a 5-star property. BUT...there was a lovely coffee maker with 6 choices of coffee and stocked refrigerator in the kitchenette.

We had a late flight (1:00 am) so had to hang around until about 10:00. They graciously allowed us to lounge at the pool and use the facility to shower before we checked out. Plus, since we had been shopping our way through Asia for 3 weeks, we had 4 large suitcases that forced us to hire a larger than normal taxi. The bellman who collected our baggage from our room also arranged in advance for a large taxi and negotiated the fare we requested of him. Nice send off. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Higher floor - river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

This was my second time staying in the lebua and it is still the best hotel in Bangkok . After staying in numerous other Bangkok hotels, I still would not stay anywhere else, even compared to the Shang ri la. The staff are so friendly and really make every part of your trip amazing.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lk24680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southend on Sea
Level Contributor
34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2012

We stayed here on the last night of my boyfriends suprise 30th birthday trip to Thailand - it was by some stretch the most expensive accommodation and for that very reason we enjoyed the luxury of a proper bed and western bathroom (we had been roughing it!)

However once we had come back down to planet earth, while the hotel was luxurious, it was not quite as mind blowing as we had expected. We were fortunate to receive a free upgrade from the 25th to the 57th floor which meant that the views were breath taking - the night sky line was simply fantastic!

However this hotel comes as an expensive package if you wish to really experience it - and while we would have loved to dine at one of the fine restaurants (e,g, Sirocco), our budget simply did not permit! As such we settle for pre-dinner cocktails at the sky bar - which were out of this world! The best cocktails i have ever had and in the most superior of locations - everyone should visit here!

Perhaps this is down to age and preference, however my boyfriend and i then enjoyed getting our travelling togs back on, hoping in a tuc-tuc and back to exploring the real Bangkok! This is definitely a place to try - and the breakfast it amazing!

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Helen L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2012

As a discerning traveller, we allowed ourselves the luxury of staying at this hotel as it came with a high star rating and I managed to acquiesce a good price for this level of accommodation....
so treated myself and husband.
We both found it to be rather spectacular on the internet and were not disappointed when we arrived. As the week progressed, during our stay we found the quality of house keeping to be erratic and unreliable..Also the bedding for me personally was uncomfortable and rock hard.. but my husband didn't mind as he could sleep standing up anyway ( and be the first person to tell you of this special skill). I felt the carpets in dire need of steam cleaning....
If you go to their Sirrocco restaurant, you'll get wonderful views over Bangkok, and pay $140 for a steak. Good location in Silom and 5 mins from Skytrain,...
but I wouldn't go back.
I could afford the rent, but the real cost of staying if you want to use the amenities is expensive and not that special.Cant knock the staff,...wonderful as most Thai people are.

Room Tip: all given above.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

We stayed here at the end of our holiday for 4 nights in a 1 bedroom club suite. It was on the 56th floor on the corner so we had 2 massive balconies and the view of the city is spectacular.
When we arrived there are staff members everywhere to assist with the bags, hold open doors and escort you to the lobby to check in. We were then taken to our room on the 56th floor and it was truly amazing. our bags were also brought up very quickly and the concierge offered us his services for anything we needed, he helped us over the coming days to get around the city.
The breakfast is huge and there is plenty of choice for even a fussy eater like me, it was all delicious. We also had the added bonus of being on a club floor, so we were able to visit the lounge for complimentary drinks and pastries all day to 6pm.
The sky bar is amazing, not much to say here but it must be seen to be believed.
All in all it was a great stay and I don't think I could stay anywhere else if I were in Bangkok again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlexB533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2012

The Lebua hotel was gorgeous. We booked a riverview suite (tower club package) which was deifnately worth the money. The view from the hotel room was fantastic. The room was spacious, large bathroom (including a bath), a living room and a mini kitchen including a coffee machine. The club room had other benefits included in the price such as access to the Mozo area for breakfast which was amazing - it was a buffet style breakfast but they cooked the food in front of you and there were made to order omelettes which are definately worth saving space for. The tower club access was great value for money as we turned up at 4pm and had umilmited wine/beer had a range snadwiches, pastries, chees and fresh bread and ended up not needing to have an evening meal.

The staff were very friendly and the view from the roof top bar (The Dome) is amazing even though the drinks are very expensive. I would not recommend eating in the reaturant at the Dome as it is very busy with people visiting for the view that i can imagine it must be disruptive for those who have paid for an expensive meal. I would recommend just popping up for a drink and see the sights.

The only thing that let the hotel down was the location as it is not in a fantastic area but is close to the sky train. Be careful of people on the streert near the hotel trying to con you and making you get in a tuktuk. Don't speak to anyone you tries to talk to you. Use the hotel mini bus/car where possible as they offer free rides to the sky train.

Overall, this hotel is great value for money, with fantastic views

Room Tip: We had a club room which was excellent value for money as the room included a free airport travel (o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClaireWilkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Tower Club at Lebua
Tower Club at Lebua
#53 of 858 in Bangkok
1,867 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#26 of 858 in Bangkok
6,154 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Millennium Hilton Bangkok
#124 of 858 in Bangkok
5,236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to lebua at State Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lebua at State Tower

Property: lebua at State Tower
Address: 1055 Silom Road | State Tower, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#53 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#82 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#83 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — lebua at State Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lebua at State Tower is Bangkok's finest 5 star all suite hotel. With an undying passion to innovate and redefine hospitality at luxury city hotels in Thailand, lebua is more than a destination; it is a world-class experience. Enjoy the most opulent experiences at lebua at State Tower, Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Priceline, TravelUp, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your lebua at State Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebua At State Tower Hotel Bangkok
Lebua At State Hotel
Lebua At State Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing