We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing, supposedly top-class hotel in Bangkok” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of lebua at State Tower

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
lebua at State Tower
Ranked #86 of 849 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Disappointing, supposedly top-class hotel in Bangkok”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

From the glossy website photos, we had expected - looked forward to in fact - a boutique hotel on a grander scale. We got off to a bad start when they couldn't accommodate our booking of a riverside view, non-smoking room with a king-sized bed - even though this room type is specifically bookable on the Net. We tried a smoking room with a riverside view but the stink had us settle for a city view from a cleaner room. As we finally settled, we took in our surrounding and found them depressing. Yes, the bathroom is marble and the bedsheets soft but all the furniture is a dull brown. The rooms are rectangular so the part next to the window gets the light but a few meters into the room and you must turn on the light no matter what time of day. There is nothing on the walls. Save for 2 orchid pots, nothing indicates one is in Bangkok. The decor is nondescript to the point of soul-less. Our last issue with the room: the 2 ACs were so noisy that we had to turn them off in order to be able to fall asleep and in a hotel of that standard in a country which is both hot and humid, thus making the use of AC machines mandatory, I for one thought this was unacceptable.
We were also disappointed with the pool area and the lifts. With respect to the pool area, while the pool itself is large, it has very few deck chairs around which means only a few guests can actually stay by the pool. Clearly, the pool area is not designed to welcome even a small portion of the hotel's guests. Last criticism: the lifts. The hotel has a lot of visitors who come to the Dome area at its top to enjoy its restaurants and bars. That means a lot of traffic in the elevators for which guests have to wait for long minutes. All the more so, while there are clearly designated service lifts, the hotel staff keeps on using the non-service lifts, adding to the weight of traffic on the already over-burdened elevators.
Do I have anything good to say about the Lebua? Yes, 2 things in fact. First, about the Dome and I will post positive reviews of "Mezzaluna" and "Breeze" where we had dinner. Second, about the staff which as often in Thailand is warm and kind and did its best to help us with our room choice.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandra S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,874 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,367
    1,638
    541
    191
    137
See reviews for
791
3,662
364
352
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (998)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
192 reviews
97 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

the hotel smelled of the building boom that eventually crashed the Thai and Asian economy in 1997. the facade is strange but unmissable and unmistakably. the building was too huge to be completely occupied so it has that unfinished feel to it. the building lobby stood in stark contrast with the hotel lobby which is on the same floor.
i don't like the staffs' attitude here. they are not nice, nor friendly cos they very much know that the hotel and the restaurants can fill themselves. so they don't try. they just do. this is esp true with the receptionists and concierges.
the room is ok. not that well kept. i like the balcony which is also where the compressors for ur air con are kept. the view however was amazing. i think that's the thing that keeps people coming.
breakfast was ok this is a very crowded hotel, so expect a lot of bustle and hustle. don't expect peace and solitude.
the wait for the elevators were damning, esp in the evening when the people are starting to go to the roof top restaurants. i hated that.
the pool is at the breakfast area. no privacy and no view. a lot of people for too small a pool.
i had a good time nonetheless, but i think i managed that for myself.

Room Tip: book the rooms that face the river and west. u can watch the amazing sunset.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank banjapat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

I stayed for 3 nights in this hotel and i don't know when time flew by.
I had a suite at the 64th floor, incredibly good, breath taking river view, king size bed, everything that you need for the best holiday.
Arrived at 9 am, we had to wait until 2pm for the room to be ready, but we have been noticed about it upon arrival.
Breakfast is rich, all kinds of juices (even though not the best i ever tried), omelette, sushi, bacon, lots of types of bread, and many more.
The prices are high indeed, but if you want 2-3 days of feeling spoiled, this hotel deserves every penny.
The SkyBar is ok, the view is very nice, although the prices for a Coke, for example, can reach 8-9 euros.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ZanGaBoY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kihei, Hawaii
Level Contributor
36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

We ended up staying at this hotel more by accident than anything else. The hotel itself is nice enough and the location is very good. We also got a reasonable rate, so we were quite happy with the price of the room. The rooms themselves are huge (suites, really). I think this is due to the tower originally being built for condos only (we are told). The overall amenities are certainly very nice.

Nevertheless, the hotel immediately managed to annoy us. We got there at 10am as part of an overall trip arranged that way by the organizer. So I would have expected an early check in more than if I would have just booked the hotel. Either way: We got there, and although you could tell that they had plenty of available rooms, they would not let us check in even a minute before their normal 2pm check-in time. Which really sucks if you arrive on a long flight.

Instead, they told us to sit down at a table in the lobby and ran off with our passports (which I am never too thrilled about). 2 minutes later we were told off in a rather unfriendly way by someone else since where they sat us down was reserved for someone else.

Our room was also prepaid, yet we immediately had to put down a $500 hold on our credit card for incidentals. Not that big deal in general, I suppose, but the combination of all things really rubbed me the wrong way. It is rather obvious that the hotel is way more concerned with separating you from your money than it is in providing an enjoyable stay. One more example: A diet coke and an espresso at the swimming pool cost almost 800 baht ($25 or so), which is far more than many a good multi-course meal for two costs. (We had an excellent meal for just over 100 baht each the night before).

The hotel also seems to do a lot of stupid things that just annoy you. For instance, they have a nice pool. But the hotel is very large (the tower, although not exclusively a hotel, is the second tallest building in Bangkok) yet they have only a handful of pool chairs. So you head to the pool after a long, hot day of sightseeing, and then there are less than 20 chairs, so you can't use it. The other end of the pool is the restaurants. They also have some beach-chairs and baskets there. You are welcome to use them, but you are not allowed to use the pool from there, even though there is steps into the pool 2 feet from the beach-basket. It just pisses you off for no reason!

One more example: The sky bar at the top is a Bangkok landmark. Everyone knows it is a tourist trap (especially since the hotel gained fame from The Hangover 2 movie) but it still is kinda cool and you head up there. So you basically buy drinks at the price equivalent of a month's wage for many rural Thai people, just to enjoy the view. But don't think you can really enjoy the view. If you are unlucky, you are ushered off into a small area that isn't the real sky bar. If we wouldn't have asked if there was a way to look out the other side of the building, we would have never known. We then had to wait for other people to leave because "it was too busy". After a while we were allowed out to the real sky bar (which didn't look all that busy to me). It's a very cool place, so I pulled out my camera. But wait! No photos here "for the safety of the diners" (there also is a restaurant). How would me taking a picture endanger them? I have no clue! But you can't take a picture that shows part of the restaurant I am told. Only the actual bar. So I walked a little ways over to take a picture of the bar, but nope! Can't take a picture here either. "But you just told me...". Nope, no pictures. "Too dangerous". M-hm! So we stood on the stairs that are seen in the movie, but nope! Can't stand here! Not sure why. Look here, lebua: If you charge me an outrageous rate just for the place and the view, you better let me enjoy the place and the view. If you do not want anyone there, you better shut the place down.

In the end, I couldn't help but feel ripped off. Which is too bad, since the hotel could be quite nice.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MarkusEgger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2013

This hotel has some really great offers. But ...

UPS

1.
Great location in Silom - I love this area! It has it all.

2.
Really good offer. We had the one with upgrade to river view suite, huge breakfast buffet at Mozu, free bar almost 24/7, lunch and afternoon tea at the lounge, laundry and massage.

3.
Really good service in the lounge. All the ladies and gents are doing their utmost.

4.
The view and the ambience in Skybar is really great (but very expensive and always too crowded. In opinion it's not worth it. See the view and experience the ambience, but go somewhere else to drink - there's plenty, plenty, plenty of places near by).

5.
The food in the lounge and Mozu is in general of very high standard.

DOWNS

1.
We were specifically promised early check in at 8 am in an e-mail from the hotel, but when we arrived our room was not ready.

2.
We then had a room around 10.30 am, but it was a smoking room even though we had specifically booked a non smoking room.

3.
We were then transferred to a non smoking room at around 12 am.

4
We didn't get anything to compensate for the inconvenience except being moved to a higher floor, but the suite was exactly the same.

5.
The suites could really need refurbishment they are far too worn and so is the furniture. The pictures that you see are not the siutes you're having.

6.
There's no furniture in the balconies - there's nothing so you can just stand there, nothing else.

7.
Half of the pool area is in the shade by 10 am and the whole pool area is in the shade from around lunch. The area is small and has very few sun beds so they are usually all occupied when you get there. So this is not the place to tan if you're not an early bird.

8.
If you're not an early bird also be prepared for chaos at breakfast in Mozu.

9.
If you choose to eat lunch or afternoon tea in the lounge everything is inside. You are never able to enjoy even a beer outside. The outside restaurant is closed during the day. The interior of the lounge is ok but it could use some refurbishment and styling.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Spirits-in-the-night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
41 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

We checked into the hotel for only 1 night sadly, but had a very good experience. We were travelling with our twin babies and had chosen the hotel primarily for the larger size rooms. Upon checkin we were offered an upgrade to one of the 2 bedroom suites, which was most welcomed and ideal for us with the 2 babies enabling us to be much more self sufficient with a Kitchen. Check in staff and staff in general were most helpful during the stay. we had a slight issue with the bedoom AC which was rectified very quickly late at night by one of the onsite engineers which was good service. Breakfast was very plentiful and pleasant..

Room Tip: Try to request for River facing. Sadly we didn't have a river facing view, but have heard the vi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank BritFlip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

I stayed here after a friend raved about it after seeing it in the Hangover and we looked up pictures online which looked amazing. I was very disappointed.

The lobby is very grand and gives a good first impression, however that was quickly reduced by the $10 cans of coke and the wait of over 45 minutes to be checked in (which was signifiantly reduced by my husband complaining and us skipping a bit of the queue - apologies to any one that had to wait longer because of that!).

Our room was on the 54th floor and the elevator was painfully slow and opened up to a run down corridor which lead onto a room, which despite being large, was very 3-star ordinary and had two single beds in it, not the two queens we were promised. The saving grace for the room was the balcony and amazing view.

Our set of elevators were the ones the public uses to get to the Sky Bar and restaurant. That means that after a long day of site-seeing, you have to queue for half an hour to get to your own room. I think the hotel should give occupants first preference for the lifts. Coming down the elevator between 7 and 10pm is also a nightmare as the lifts are often full and you have to wait for several to be able to get in.

The location is fine. Short walk to the river and the train station, however it is a fair hike on the train to the shopping areas around Siam Paragon. There are a lot of restaurants around the hotel.

The biggest plus for this restaurant was it's breakfast. It was amazing, maybe the best buffet spread I've had in my fledgling 5-star travel experiences. It was fresh, varied and excellent service. It is the breakfast buffet that inspires me to give the Lebua a 3 instead of a 2.

Overall, I would not stay again and I don't recommend it. I wouldn't even recommend the Sky Bar as it is extremely expensive, very crowded and a bit of a gimmick. The views from the Baiyoke Sky Tower are better.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms above level 40 (I think) so you don't have to share the elevator with restaurant pat...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Batmane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Tower Club at Lebua
Tower Club at Lebua
#53 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,766 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,921 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 849 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,786 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to lebua at State Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lebua at State Tower

Property: lebua at State Tower
Address: 1055 Silom Road | State Tower, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#51 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#75 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#83 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — lebua at State Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lebua at State Tower is Bangkok's finest 5 star all suite hotel. With an undying passion to innovate and redefine hospitality at luxury city hotels in Thailand, lebua is more than a destination; it is a world-class experience. Enjoy the most opulent experiences at lebua at State Tower, Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelbag, Southall Travel and TravelUp so you can book your lebua at State Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebua At State Tower Hotel Bangkok
Lebua At State Hotel
Lebua At State Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing