We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stunning ..”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
lebua at State Tower
Ranked #92 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,361 reviews
379 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4,002 helpful votes
“Stunning ..”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 December 2009

We arrived at the Lebua Hotel totally exhausted after a long haul flight and having to catch a bus which took another 1hr from the airport as no taxis were available due to a taxi strike.

Check-in – The bus stop is just outside the State Tower for those interested catching the shuttle bus. The staff were incredibly slow in checking us in. We asked numerous times what was happening. My husband eventually went into the office and asked for our passports back if they couldn’t quicken up the service. (Not a good start)...

Room – We booked through (--) and got a great deal on a 66msq Signature Suite. We were told they had given us an up-grade; however we are sure that our room was exactly what we had booked.

After taking one look at our massive suite all our troubles disappeared instantly and we quickly forgot any previous gripes.

Our suite 5315 was enormous the size of a two bedroom apartment with sweeping 360 degree views of Bangkok. The suite consisted of a spacious lounge room and combined dining room. The full size open plan kitchen came complete with a microwave, fridge, coffee and tea facilities. The second bedroom was off the kitchen.

The massive main bedroom was located down a hallway with a walk-in wardrobe, plasma TV, king size bed and a luxurious bathroom next door.

Facilities: The best aspects of this hotel are the restaurants. The rooftop Sirocco Restaurant located on the 63rd floor has sweeping spectacular views of Bangkok and Chao Phraya River. We booked a table when we checked in so not to be disappointed. It’s a fine dining restaurant so one needs to dress up for the special occasion.

The Mezzaluna Italian Restaurant is also highly impressive located on the 64th floor with magnificent views. On the 51st floor is the Thai Breeze Restaurant which also has outdoor setting and divine views. As being located on the executive floor we were allowed to have free canapés and drinks between “happy hour”.

The breakfast room is located on the ground floor looking over the swimming pool was highly impressive and the food selection fantastic.

Swimming Pool – We found the pool to be extremely cold and so did most of the other guests which is surprising in Bangkok. Everyone was complaining so I didn’t bother but hubby did and he only lasted a few seconds in the water.

Gym – A wonderful spacious gym located next door to the swimming pool, probably the best I’ve seen in a hotel.

Overall: We absolutely adored our suite and I would highly recommend others to search for a good deal on their signature suites as they are brilliant. This hotel is perfect if you just want to relax and enjoy all the wonderful restaurants, bars and facilities what the hotel has to offer. A little out of the way but still workable for getting around.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ellemay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,966 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4,418
    1,658
    551
    197
    142
See reviews for
800
3,719
367
355
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,012)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
brighton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2009

I loved this hotel, it is the best 5 star hotel I have ever stayed in.
From arrival to leaving, staying in this hotel is an amazing experience. The staff are extremely polite, friendly and professinal at all times. This is Thai hospitality at its best.

  • Stayed December 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank firstthaimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Noosa, Australia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
170 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 243 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2009

This is the second time I've stayed in the Lebua and it's one of my favourite hotels in the world. Huge, well equipped rooms, good facilities and some of the best dining around.

The service is among the most impressive I've ever come across.

Only niggle was that there were some maintenance issues in the room that really should have been dealt with. Otherwise, as good a hotel as you'll find.

Stayed December 2009, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian_Pratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

We live in Bangkok, but in the suburbs. A surprise 30th birthday treat came by way of a night in Lebua...Truly memorable. Fantastic views over the city, great suite with lots of perks, amazing rooftop bars and top facilities. For one night or a weekend, it is amazing. The breakfast was the best I've seen in Asia, with food from Thailand, India, European pastries and 'full englsih' options, and much more.
We were so impressed we have made another reservation to treat ourselves for Christmas!
The hotel made me feel very special as it was my birthday, and unlike other hotels that sometimes forget that you have to be friendly as well as offer high service, this hotel genuinely felt like they did wish me a very happy birthday!
Highly recommended as a birthday treat! The view is simply amazing.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank benaroundtheworld99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lingen, Germany
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2009

had room on 57th floor!!! suite of 66 m²
really great place to stay in bangkok!

Stayed January 2008, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank deymi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, AZ
Level Contributor
188 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 December 2009

We stayed for two nights on the 55th Tower floor of this magnificent hotel, in a 64 storey tower adjacent to the Shangrila Hotel. We couldn't decide whether to book at the Banyan Tree or the Lebua and are glad that we made the choice that we did. Our room had a drop-dead view of the river and indeed we had to sign a waiver in order to have the door to our large terrace unlocked. We had complimentary use of the 52nd storey lounge and complimentary beer and soft drinks in our room. Bath products are from Bulgari.

The Sky Bar on the 63rd floor is absolutely amazing - a huge outdoor space overlooked by the dome of the hotel. A full orchestra plays while one can have a drink overlooking the whole city. Not suitable for anyone with vertigo.

The service at the hotel is impeccable. The gym is huge. The pool is nice but in the shade during the December afternoon that we tried to sunbathe.

Highly recommended for the discerning traveler.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank markjay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
677 reviews
128 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1,858 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2009

Lebua doesn't quite feel like a 5-star hotel, more like a 4.5 star, but still is very nice.

LOCATION - The Lebua is kind of away from everything, not the greatest location, but the Sky Train is only a couple blocks away, so that makes the more touristy areas pretty convenient. It is located a couple blocks off the river, giving you a nice river view from that side of the hotel, but not river front like the Peninsula across the river has. In the immediate vicinity of the hotel, you have Robinson that is about 2 blocks away - it has a supermarket and department store. There are several 7-Elevens nearby to stock up on things, and lots of tailor shops. There is also plenty of street food if you're looking for that.

CHECK-IN: Entrance to the hotel was flawless, with the bellman dressed to the hilt helping us with our bags, but that was short-lived. We were asked to take a seat on the sofa, where we waited for over 20 minutes before being attended to. I'm not sure what they were doing either, there was only one person at the check-in desk. We sat there for all that time with no welcome drink (every other hotel we stayed at in Thailand gave one) or any explanation (I'm sorry sir, just checking out one guest and I'll be right with you, for example) getting angry. Finally we were attended to, without an apology for the long wait, and we were told that they had overbooked the riverview suites so were upgrading us to a 2-bedroom executive suite. That works, all was forgiven.

ROOMS - The 2-bedroom executive suite was massive, at about 1270 square feet (118 sq meters). There were three balconies, giving us about a 270 degree view of the city, and allowing us to watch both the sunrise and the sunset from our balcony. We had both a river view and a downtown city view on the 52nd floor. Simply magnificent. The balconies have no furniture, so it's only to stand out there and look at the view, but that's ok. What a feeling. We had three 40" Samsung flat screen televisions, a full kitchen, a washing machine, two large bathrooms with marble touches, marble countertops, and free wired and wireless internet (advertised at 4 MB/sec, but was in reality very slow at about 500 Kb/Sec - couldn't even talk on Skype). The decor of the unit was pretty entry-level though, very simple, low end furniture and decorations. Not up to the luxury levels of a 5-star hotel in Bangkok. Did I mention huge? Separate bath and shower in one bathroom, shower only in the other. Windows were filthy, which was disappointing, had to walk out on the balcony to enjoy the view. Furniture was showing wear, but the bed was comfortable. There was an alarm clock on the bedroom which was a shock because we'd never had one in all our travels in Asia.

BREAKFAST - Breakfast was included in the room rate. The buffet was massive, and very good. One of the best buffets we've had in Asia. Everything from sushi to dim sum to Western Breakfast to Prime Rib to Indian specialties. Something for everyone. You can sit either indoors or out by the swimming pool which we did.

RESTAURANTS - The highlight is Sirocco of course, which is on the 64th floor terrace. Sirocco charges about 30 times the price of an average tourist-class restaurant in Bangkok, which is obscene. 30 times the price of an average tourist-class restaurant in the USA, for example, would be about $1,500.00 for a dinner for two. The food was good but not spectacular, the views from the restaurant were actually not great, but the ambience with the live jazz stage and Sky Bar was awesome. Up to 2500% markup on the wine, totally ridiculous. Then they don't even let you take a photo of the place you just dropped $300 on dinner at, practically manhandling you, then lie to you when you ask them why they do that. Didn't leave us with a good feeling, wouldn't go back. There are better views at other Bangkok restaurants where they treat you a lot better. There is a Sky Bar, which is small and claustrophobic with no seats and $14.00 cocktails, but trendy and with a good view from one side of the bar. The pool bar serves Indian and Greek food, also very expensive, but not as bad as Sirocco. There is also an Italian restaurant which we didn't try, but other people we talked to said it was too expensive for what it was. There is one other restaurant as well that we didn't try either. We didn't appreciate that they advertise a dress code policy, so we abided by it, but then got upstairs to find lots of people in jeans and sneakers, flip flops, etc.

BUSINESS - There are all the business facilities you would expect, but the extremely slow 500 Kb/Sec internet speed rendered us impotent as far as business went. The internet is free though, which was good.

AMENITIES - There is a swimming pool which some people thought was small, but seemed fine to me - there was only one guy ever in it, so didn't need to be bigger. There is a spa and fitness center, but we didn't see them. Room Service is overpriced big time. There was a mini-bar in our room with no pricing - after seeing the prices charged by the hotel restaurants we passed, but then found out later that it may have been complimentary. Oh well, nothing too exciting in there anyway.

STAFF - Except for the wait at check-in, the no-photos policy at Sirocco and the bald-face lies we were told when asking why, and the indifference of the manager when confronted with this, the staff was excellent. The only other issues we had were when our bellman tried to send us to a tailor and upon check-out we called ahead for a taxi that we then had to wait 10 minutes to get once we got downstairs and checked out. Other than that, the service here was outstanding. Always prompt and friendly, greeting us with a smile and a "Sawaidee!" and a bow, very well trained.

The view from our three balconies and the gargantuan size of our suite were the highlights of our stay - awesome. Even though it wasn't as luxurious as some other hotels in Bangkok, it was enjoyable and a good value for the room (not for the restaurants though, especially Sirocco). We were impressed by the staff for the most part, and had a good one night stay - if it wasn't for the bizarre photo policy, we would have enjoyed our stay much more. Their treatment of us was just offensive, however, so we would not stay here again as a result. If you do stay, skip Siroccos and go over to the Banyan Tree and eat at Vertigo instead, where they value your business.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johann&Sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Tower Club at Lebua
Tower Club at Lebua
#53 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,808 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,035 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,909 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Anantara Sathorn Bangkok Hotel
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to lebua at State Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about lebua at State Tower

Property: lebua at State Tower
Address: 1055 Silom Road | State Tower, Bangrak, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#54 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#74 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#81 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#83 Business Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — lebua at State Tower 5*
Number of rooms: 357
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
lebua at State Tower is Bangkok's finest 5 star all suite hotel. With an undying passion to innovate and redefine hospitality at luxury city hotels in Thailand, lebua is more than a destination; it is a world-class experience. Enjoy the most opulent experiences at lebua at State Tower, Bangkok. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Travelbag, Agoda, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your lebua at State Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lebua At State Tower Hotel Bangkok
Lebua At State Hotel
Lebua At State Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing