We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still going strong”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Ranked #103 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Adelaide, Australia
Level Contributor
74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Still going strong”
Reviewed 7 January 2014

Enjoyed 3 nights here at the end of our holiday in an executive club suite and had a wonderful time. This hotel may be getting on in years but it shows in the best of ways. The presentation of the property inside is just delightful, the staff pleasant and welcoming. The lovely garden with waterfall shows what can be done with a small space and the floral decorations inside equally gorgeous. Our experience of the Club was most enjoyable with, again, excellent staff and attention to detail. The drinks flowed very well and the canapés delicious. We had breakfast in all three locations available to us and had a great feed each time. Our suite was very comfortable with a great bed, spacious bathroom but unfortunately "powdered milk". A pity as the tea provided was lovely but most properties tend to supply this. One day on check in, we'll be asked if they can give us a jug of fresh milk & heaven will have been attained! Had dinner in their Thai restaurant and this was just so good, sea bass & duck curry will never taste the same. This hotel may not be the most modern & chic, but it has a style and grace that we thoroughly enjoyed.

Room Tip: Our room was away from the expressway on the 19th floor, an excellent choice. Could open the outer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chris g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear Chris G,

Thank you very much for your compliments on our services and facilities but especially your compliments on our staff. We are delighted to learn you have enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to your continuous support and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,897 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,561
    903
    289
    108
    36
See reviews for
449
958
328
566
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (525)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 January 2014

We booked a transfer to the Dusit from the airport which was a very smart Mercedes and from bag pick up to sitting in the vehicle, took around 4 minutes. On arrival at the Dusit, my husband and I were greated personally and given beautiful flowers. We were promptly escorted through reception direct to our room to check in (we had booked a Thai Heritage Suite).

The check in process was swift and efficient with our luggage arriving within minutes. Our butler was extremely polite and able to point out the club benefits afforded with our room and a promise to deal with any questions we may have.

We used the club lounge for evening canapes and cocktails which were plentiful and varied. The service in the lounge was absolutely spot on with table service being afforded for drinks whilst allowing guests to help themselves to canapes etc. We also had breakfast in the lounge which again was extremely pleasant. There was a varied selection of hot and cold fayre, with items cooked to order should you wish.

The room itself was beautiful. We had a separate lounge and dressing area along with a large bathroom with wonderful rain shower and free standing bath. The toiletries provided by the hotel are some of the best I have ever used, so much so that I am looking to purchase the collection for home.

Check out was again efficient at the club lounge, with our transfer back to the aiport being available immediately with our baggage as soon as we hit the reception floor.

An absolutely outstanding hotel with impeccable service. I will certainly make sure that we use the Dusit Thani on our return visits to Bangkok and cannot recommend this hotel enough.

Room Tip: Treat yourself to a club room to enjoy the benefits and excellent service. You won't regret it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsmillsee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear mrs millsee,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience during your stay at Dusit Thani Bangkok – such a beautiful letter. We are very delighted to receive your compliments on our services & facilities and especially your comments on our staff. Even more pleased to learn that you have enjoyed your stay with us.

We look forward to your continuous patronage and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 5 January 2014

we opted for the relatively inexpensive upgrade to a deluxe room and I am glad we did. the room was a good size with park views. some road noise from rama iv road but not enough to keep you awake at night. the rest of the hotel was cool, quiet and peaceful. a perfect escape from the craziness of silom road. the staff were really pleasant and professional and the services - fitness centre, different restaurants and bars - were good too. we got a 50% discount on the buffet breakfast and that made it really good value. most days did not even bother to have lunch! the fact you could walk out the front door and have so much to do. the proximity to the sky train and underground rail line was a bonus. if you want to be near the action, but get away when you need to recover, the DT is a good choice. Overall, a really pleasant experience. But opt for the deluxe room if you want to get the best out of the experience.

Room Tip: the park side is nice but noisier. the other side has no real views but is quieter. a deluxe room wi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 21 January 2014
Dear James D,

It is indeed a great pleasure to receive your compliments on our services and facilities but especially your compliments on our staff. It was very kind of you to recognize their friendliness and efficiency. We are delighted to know you had an enjoyable stay with us.

Thank you for the positive review and we look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We paid $79 AUD for this hotel on some mystery deal with no breakfast.

Upon check-in we were offered a room upgrade for $40 AUD but I declined. So we were put in the non-renovated wing where the rooms were very dated with a very musky smell. The bed was OK and apart from it being old it was quite roomy with a big bathroom area.

The gym was the best in our trip. Very big and quite modern even with a free weight bench press. We didn't use the pool but it looked good for a cooling dip. The hotel lobby and restaurants and bar areas looked modern and inviting but we didn't dine there.

The location is awesome. Turn left when you come out of the hotel and 5mins walk later you are in Silom Plaza were you can go to the supermarket or have meals from the many restaurants there. The MRT also allows access to Sathorn Pier (4 stops I think). From Sathorn Pier you can go by boat to check out the reclining Buddha and pho wat. You can also go to Chinatown and Asiatique.

Taxi ride from here using both tolls was around 400 baht one way.

I have given this hotel a 4/5 review purely based on the price paid and fantastic location and great gym.

Room Tip: There are 2 wings. 1 is renovated the other is not. Try to get an upgrade for free to the renovated...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank studlim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 22 January 2014
Dear Studlim,

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments following your recent stay at Dusit Thani Bangkok. Your compliment on our gym facility and location is much appreciated. We hope you had an enjoyable stay

Looking forward to your continuous support and hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok. Please let us know if you require any assistance on your next visit.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PP
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

You can get the best deals on Booking.com. I enjoyed greatly the fitness center and the excellent (but expensive) food. It is just beside the skytrain BTS which is a great help with the traffic jams in Bangkok. Staff well trained.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mohmo g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear mohmo g,

On behalf of my Team, I would like to express our appreciation for the positive review and we are all delighted you had an enjoyable stay with us.

We look forward to your continuous patronage and we hope that we will be able to welcome you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2014

Dusit Thani is the grand old dame of the Bangkok hotels but she's very much alive and kicking.

Look, if you prefer your Hotel made of steel and glass this is not your choice. If you, however, like it if every corner of a building has a story to tell, you'll find plenty of that.

Well managed, well maintained. Lots of value for money and the service attitude of staff is top class, you even get the impression that their friendlyness is genuine, well done!

We booked the Heritage Suite, which was a very pleasant experience. Spacious and the decoration gave a glimpse of how Thai royalty must have lived like in the olden days.

I have to admit that I also enjoyed that the guests of the hotel tend to be on the mature side, therefore no party people or annoying kids and instead you get a sense of peaceful relaxation.

Room Tip: The Heritage Suite is awesome, get the 'Suite Life' package which even comes with free prior...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 16 January 2014
Dear Jan K,

Thank you very much for the positive review. We appreciate your taking the time to write and it is indeed a great pleasure to receive your compliments on our services, facilities and staff.

We look forward to your continuous support and to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon at Dusit Thani Bangkok.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 January 2014

My family have stayed at Dust Thani Bangkok for nearly twenty years. We have always preferred Dusit Thani to the more modern upscale hotels of Bangkok for its unique traditional Thai style sense of luxury. However, it seems that the glorious days of this once outstanding beacon of hospitality are gone. I had the impression that either the management is absent or it has been changed:

The check-in/ check-out procedure lasted much too long by far and reminded of hotels in the former Soviet Union. The welcome drink has been cancelled. The suite room that was booked and reconfirmed three times ! turned out to be a different room and the reception managed the problem in a rather poor way. Several times, when contacting the room service via the reception no one showed up. Upon check-out the reception was about to charge one day more than we stayed. The suite room and the lobby need some painting. The room service did not arrive although contacted via the reception twice. Some years ago the beautiful Thai dresses of the lobby bar staff was substituted by some orange design - which in a way happened to match the impact of Christmas Music after Christmas on New Years Day. Finding a waiter to serve coffee for breakfast turned out to be a real challenge. However, the lack of service was compensated by the free performance act of the cleaning staff when snatching food from the buffet when feeling unattended.

I am sure the founders of Dusit Thani who saw the high society going in and out would grief when seeing what has been done to their heritage ..

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank I-Berlin-Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James W, General Manager at Dusit Thani Bangkok, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear Dirk,

Thank you very much for your constructive comments during your recent stay with us. On behalf of my team, I would like to sincerely apologize for all the inconveniences you have experienced. Your comments and observations have been shared with my management team to ensure we rectify and correct these and that we act upon the comments you have made in your review. I readily welcome such feedback as this allows us to focus our efforts on those areas and ensure that our guests and visitors do not encounter such issues in the future and I thank you once again for taking the time to detail this.

I do hope that I may have the pleasure of personally welcoming you back to Dusit Thani Bangkok in the near future and allow us to provide you with the level of service and attention that we failed to do so on this occasion.

Yours sincerely,
James Robert Wilson
General Manager
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,402 reviews
Silom
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
#92 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 6,084 reviews
Silom
SO Sofitel Bangkok
SO Sofitel Bangkok
#14 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,950 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Bangkok

Property: Dusit Thani Bangkok
Address: 946 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#80 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#93 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Bangkok, known as the 'City of Angels', it sits opposite Lumpini Park with its broad boulevards and expanse of lakes. The luxury hotel is adjacent to both the sky train and subway systems within easy proximity to major business, shopping and entertainment centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TravelUp, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dusit Thani Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Bangkok
Hotel Dusit Thani
Bangkok Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing