We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“SUPERB HOTEL IN A GREAT LOCATION”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Dusit Thani Bangkok
Ranked #105 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
160 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“SUPERB HOTEL IN A GREAT LOCATION”
Reviewed 11 April 2010

Spent one night here on 8th April before flight home to Australia. This is a superb hotel with excellent staff. We have stayed here previously.
Room was fine, breakfast was good with a wide choice.
Location is on the corner of Silom Rd and Rama IV road with Patpong close enough to walk to but far enough not to be a distraction or hindrance if you don't want to be involved.
Lumpini Park across the road is vast and a great place for a walk. Not this time though as it appeared to be a resting point for the Red Shirts who I must say caused no problem in this area whilst we were there.
Where the demos were I have no idea but we felt perfectly safe.
Skytrain and underground stations are right outside, it's a shame their tickets aren't intergrated. Catch the skytrain to National Stadium station for direct access to MBK which has some of the best markets my wife has ever seen. It is a must on every trip to Bangkok.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TK1956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,928 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,578
    912
    292
    110
    36
See reviews for
456
963
331
578
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (531)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level Contributor
109 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 97 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2010

The only thing I can personally do not understand is why this Hotel has ranking Nr 52 , when it should belong to the Top 10 Hotels of Bangkok. The service, the ambiance, the rooms and the cleanliness,the great views, the great restaurants especially D' Sense, the Thai touch in every detail, like the young Thai girl playing the Thai Harp in the Lobby. Everything is as expected. The location great, for night life, for night bazaars, for the Lumpini Park and the Skytrain and the Metro of Bangkok have got a station just outside the Hotel. In a city like Bangkok with the never ending traffic jams and the crowds make the transportation of tourists difficult the location of Dusit Thani is at the best possible position. Two Skytrain stations from the Siam Square and 2 Skytrain Stations from the river.
So many things make this Thai answer to the international chain Hotels to a great experience. Do not miss 2 things here: The D' Sense experience which is one of the best restaurants in town and the Spa which is an other wow . The tranquility, and the professional personnel, the architecture of the spa with water pools and candles everywhere make is an experience even worth visiting it even if you will not have a spa- which is actually too overpriced.
This Hotel is a great oasis which painted my days in Bangkok so colorful.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TravellerCY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2010

Luxurious. Traditional. Courteous. Efficient. Friendly. Wherever you go in this hotel there is the ever present smile and welcome greeting. It makes you feel so relaxed and happy to stay at this gorgeous long established hotel. Set in the heart of Bangkok everything is at hand. On you doorstep are shops, markets, skytrain, subway, with the main shopping malls -e.g. Paragon, Central World only 5 mins away, and best of all, Lumpini Park is across the road. It is the perfect way to balance the bedlum that is Bangkok, get up early and do a few laps around this fantastic park and watch the city wake with you. Hundreds of Thais, all up early to take their excercise. Yet it is so peaceful and invigorating. The hotel rooms have all undergone complete renovations over the past few years - so they are comfortable and modern. The hotel restaurants are all good - our favourite is Il Cielo. Not only a great place to have breakfast, but also terrific Italian style lunches and dinners - perfect place for a great pizza. Staff at Il Cielo always attentive, and have amazing memories for names - even after 12 months. Fantastic hotel experience.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank archter2f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
55 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

Stayed in a Club room - my wife, myself & two children aged 11 & 13 - advanced booking rate on the net around £80. Thought this was fantastic value - room was huge, basically a suite with two separate rooms, bathroom and dressing area; included internet access, superb buffet/a la carte breakfast, use of lounge all day (coffee and soft drinks) plus cocktail 2 hour in the evening (great snacks, cold beer - what more do you want?!). At the nice pool they bring you cold water and complimentary fruit. Granted, it's a 1970s building, so not as ultra modern chic as some, but public areas have been modernised (including a funky looking bar) and are very nice. Staff uniformly friendly, helpful and sweet. Good location for all transport (metro on site, sky train 3 mins walk), and shops/restaurants/banks on Silom Road just outside the entrance (so you feel like you are actually in the city itself, not in an isolated enclave). Very modern gym on site too. I would recommend it wholeheartedly!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ringofriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
60 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2010

First, nice welcome to the hotel, very fast booking , but as you step in your room, reality come 100 miles and hour and hit you in the face. The smell of the room, the dirty carpet, the very dirty shower etc etc. A call to the reception office and thank you we were move to the front tower in an upgrade room. Without the change it would have been a total disaster. After the change, it came along better, the staff is very good and the breakfast included was also very good. Near the BTS and the metro. Location is good and near the market etc etc.
But again the Hotel need a super make over. The swimming pool is not the main attraction, very small and not the focus point.

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JacBer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2010

This hotel is well located in Bangkok. The rooms are well furnished and well maintained. The staff are all friendly and welcoming. The swimming pool area is very pleasnat and there always seem to be enough loungers. There are a number of restaurants - the Benjarong is excellent for Thai food. internet is available in the rooms, via ethernet connection. I recommend this to anyone visiting Bangkok.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simonjh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
34 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 April 2010

I stayed here for three days with a friend, after having got a great rate online.

My friend wanted to stay at the Mandarin Oriental - but I'm actually glad we stayed at the Dusit Thani, and saved a large amount of Baht in the process.

On checkin, we asked for a non-smoking room with a view over the city, and were given one of the older style rooms on the 11th floor. The room was lovely, the bed comfortable, the bathroom fabulous. If I have any niggling doubts at all, it was that the elevators were quite a distance from the reception area.

I enjoyed the swimming pool area, which isn't huge but has the advantage of being completely surrounded by the hotel building and offering a choice of sun or shade. The staff were happy to bring iced water at no charge, or you could order from the menu. We actually had drinks in a pleasant outside area one level below the pool (which benefitted from an artificial waterfall, and a carp pond) several times.

On the last night of our stay we upgraded to get the benefit of an extended checkout (5pm the following day in our case), as well as use of the Club facilities on the third floor, and breakfast (not included in our rate). This was great value for around B1400. Breakfast for two would have cost more than that. Breakfast was fine - we opted to eat ours in the main area, as opposed to the "exclusive" breakfast room set aside for Club guests, which our upgrade entitled us to. It was probably more exclusive, but it also seemed to have a smaller choice than the main area, which puts on a great offering.

The location in Silom may not be the best, but the easy access to the subway (in the hotel grounds) and the short walk to the other, above ground, train system, made up for that.

Many of the staff at the Dusit Thani have worked for the hotel for a long time and that's reflected in the service - for us nothing went wrong. It felt very easy being in the place, and when I have the opportunity to be back in Bangkok in a few months time, I'll be back at this hotel in a flash.

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dundas3071
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Crowne Plaza Bangkok Lumpini Park
Silom
Le Meridien Bangkok
Le Meridien Bangkok
#12 of 858 in Bangkok
3,433 reviews
Silom
Royal Orchid Sheraton Hotel & Towers
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Silom
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
Pullman Bangkok Hotel G
#88 of 858 in Bangkok
3,157 reviews
Sathorn
Banyan Tree Bangkok
Banyan Tree Bangkok
#25 of 858 in Bangkok
6,140 reviews
Sathorn
The Sukhothai Bangkok
The Sukhothai Bangkok
#37 of 858 in Bangkok
2,372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusit Thani Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusit Thani Bangkok

Property: Dusit Thani Bangkok
Address: 946 Rama IV Road, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#59 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#65 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#73 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#80 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#94 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Dusit Thani Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally located in the heart of Bangkok, known as the 'City of Angels', it sits opposite Lumpini Park with its broad boulevards and expanse of lakes. The luxury hotel is adjacent to both the sky train and subway systems within easy proximity to major business, shopping and entertainment centres. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dusit Thani Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dusit Bangkok
Hotel Dusit Thani
Bangkok Dusit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing