We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Fabulous Hotel"”
Review of Grand China Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Grand China Hotel
Ranked #368 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“"Fabulous Hotel"”
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My partner, my best friend and myself, went To Bangkok for a nice holiday and we stayed in this hotel. This hotel is beyond amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean

The best thing that I have loved in this hotel is their sumptuous breakfast. And also I have enjoyed the rotating restaurant. Plus the location is perfect, it's in Chinatown where markets are everywhere. It's also in the centre of all attraction, especially near MBK the shopping Centre.

This hotel is worth visiting, in fact has recommended this to friends and families.

Actually we stayed here last October 2011, so this is a retrospective review :)

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

514 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    73
    225
    142
    40
    34
See reviews for
107
217
34
27
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our friends who lived in Chiang Mai for 2 years recommended this hotel in Bangkok as it is right in the thick of Chinatown activity. We arrived tired and jet lagged from the airport late evening and had good service on checkin (and during the rest of our stay, although English was a bit of a problem at the front desk when we tried to get information on tipping). The room was clean and had all the basics, except no in room WI-FI.

Both nights we enjoyed drinks in the lounge with the beautiful view overlooking the city. We also had 2 mornings of gorgeous sunrises in our room.

The view around the pool is nice (like the lounge view), however, the pool itself is not memorable.

Most of our time was spent on a pre-arranged 1-1/2 day tour (see review), but we enjoyed walking the area around the hotel in the evening after our tour was over. We felt safe strolling in the vibrant area. Other than the breakfast buffet which we found very satisfying (although the service was a little slow), we did not eat at the hotel. We did have a delicious street food dinner about 3 blocks away.

We would stay here in the future.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank endlesstravelwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 October 2013 via mobile

If you're wanting to stay in Chinatown, it's probably a good location. Friendly service by all staff, however the rooms were very worn out, and needed a good scrub. When requesting a room change, we were made to feel quite awkward about it at the front desk.

Very poor wifi, (not free) that does not work on some levels.

There is a pool and rooftop bar, although these are very lack lustre and uninviting.

Danny a very helpfull driver, and bell boys very friendly too :)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurenpoppins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 September 2013

Excellent value for the price, includes lovely breakfast and very friendly staff. Rooftop pool is nice and provides wonderful views over the city. Room was a good size, nicely appointed and clean with great views. Elevators worked well. Danny is a tour guide who works from the lobby - great guy who can organise your trips and transport needs. Well worth using and very focussed on giving customers a great experience

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Malrmalr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2013

Early check in promised but had to wait in lobby for 4 hours, Booked this hotel as it had a gym but gym was terrible - equipment old fashioned and no air con! Breakfast buffet - poor selection of food and furniture dirty - poor slow service but the main complaint is the hotel was very dirty and internet pictures of room are very deceiving ............... do not recommend this hotel sadly. I chose this hotel for my family and I was so embarrassed!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank U11cjb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Bangkok hotels

Humble, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
68 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 September 2013

Great location and charmingly decorated. Typical Chinese hotel. We enjoyed the balcony but there were no chairs to relax on while enjoying the view of the river. Low season price was $42.00 per night. The room (#1906) was dated and these little biting gnats were a bother. The revolving restaurant had fantastic sushi and the service was good. The little hole in the wall restaurant across the drive way from the reception desk was a good value. We ate there every morning.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jane O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights, the room was excellent, the view was outstanding. We used the revolving restaurant, which again have beautiful views, especially when the city is lit up at night, however the a la carte food was a bit bland, maybe we were expecting too much, but we found their was a lot of English food on the menu, which is not what we went to Thailand for!! However, breakfast in the main restaurant is outstanding, their is choice for English, American, Continental and Asian guests. The spread is just fantastic!!!
Location wise it is in the heart of china town and once you get your bearings is easy to navigate.
The staff are so helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay again

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sparkllgrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#418 of 858 in Bangkok
199 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#433 of 858 in Bangkok
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
#641 of 858 in Bangkok
246 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#87 of 858 in Bangkok
2,327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand China Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand China Hotel

Property: Grand China Hotel
Address: 215 Yaowarat Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand (Formerly Grand China Princess)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#116 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#219 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand China Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ctrip TA, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Grand China Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand China Princess Bangkok
Grand China Princess Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing