We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location”
Review of Grand China Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Grand China Hotel
Ranked #360 of 895 Hotels in Bangkok
Reviewed 5 February 2014

We stayed here while staying in Bangkok for a few days. The hotel was close to a lot of the things we wanted to do, location was great! The room was a little run down, could have used a good cleaning, and we had the hardest time trying to figure out how to turn the lights on and off. Staff was friendly and helpful. Would stay again!

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank edviac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (568)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

150 - 156 of 568 reviews

Reviewed 19 November 2013

Unfortunately the pictures on the website of the hotel and on booking.com are very misleading. The hotel is not like the pictures show, it's rundown and poorly maintained
Our room was non-smoking but it smelled a lot like cigarette smoke.
The bathroom was old and not nice overall
There is nothing wrong with choosing to go to a cheaper hotel that won't be amazing, the problem here is that from the pictures it looks like the hotel will be new and nice when it's old and rundown]
The receptionist was lazy and didn't even bother to raise his eyes and look at us when we arrived

Overall we had a bad experience and would not return to this hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Atena21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 November 2013

As I write this review my partner and I are sitting in the revolving restaurant of the Grand China Princess looking across the stunning landscape that is Bangkok City before we check out in an hour. Situated in the middle of Chinatown this hotel is some way from Patpong or Soi Cowboy the areas all tourists must have to go see but ask Danny the hotel taxi driver and for 200thb which is about £4 he will take you there. Grab a tuk tuk back and pay no more than 150thb and experience the ride of your life as they race through the traffic to get you back unbelievably safe and sound.

Bangkok dispute being packed to its rafters and every available space has its use the city is unbelievably clean so don't forget to take any rubbish back to the hotel with you or put it in one of the street bins, these are regularly cleared and the contents recycled.

Reviews here have said the hotel is dated and it is... But it does not really matter, the staff are polite, respectful and very helpful and the rooms are kept spotlessly clean. The hotel tailor located just around the reception area had a fabulous suit made for my partner in less than 48 hours for around £140. Having the suit made within the hotel gives that comeback you don't have if things go wrong from some of the outside tailors and as we were only on a 3 day stopover was the best option. Breakfast is plentiful and a good variety to suit all tastes.

We ate in both hotel restaurants, the revolving one is more like snack food but very tasty and the other was delicious. Entertainment is ok if you like karaoke but we joined a group of Thai businessmen who were keen to include us in their singing efforts and despite our initial reluctance had an absolute blast.

Eat outside if you like in some of the local eateries but beware eating from street vendors our western stomachs are not able to cope. Free Wifi at the hotel is available on floor 25 and reception - just ask for the code which is changed every 3 hours for security purposes. Happy hour in the 10th floor restaurant is 5.30 to 10.30 90thb for a large beer (about £1.95). Buy bottled water which is about 10thb in the market.

Don't be afraid to smile at people. We were told that the Thai people are a little scared of westerners because we are so very different from them - put your hands together as if you were to pray bow slightly and SMILE!

Security wise it's just about being sensible in any capital city. Don't advertise with wad loads of baht!

Barter in the markets only. Ask how much, halve it and then offer that. I bought a fake bag initial price 7500tbh but down to a more reasonable 1000tbh and all done with a smile on both sides.

Lastly remember, Buddhism is the main religion here which is a peaceful and respectful one so do unto others what you would wish to be done to you.

Thank you to the staff at Grand China that made our stay in Bangkok a fabulous one.

Room Tip: An upper floor room keeps you out of the noise from the busy streets and gives you fantastic views...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank sub45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Unfortunaly we weren't informed of the renovations happening at this hotel or we would have looked elswhere.
We had stayed here in the past and it was much better.
The restaurant on the roof didn't have the food that was on the menu and we weren't told until 15 mins after we had ordered it. Very bad service there indeed.

Room Tip: Wait until renovations are compleated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 October 2013

Overall very nice hotel and stuff, they try to help you all the time with anything, even ordering a taxi or catch Tuk Tuk outside. Location is fine, this is downtown, but... if you want to go some place, you need taxi. There are hundreds Chinese boutiques around the hotel and it's almost impossible to go for a walk.
Visit Sky View restaurant on 25th floor, they serve great drinks and food and running around, 360 grades in 60 minutes.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Cezary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 October 2013

My partner, my best friend and myself, went To Bangkok for a nice holiday and we stayed in this hotel. This hotel is beyond amazing. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was spotlessly clean

The best thing that I have loved in this hotel is their sumptuous breakfast. And also I have enjoyed the rotating restaurant. Plus the location is perfect, it's in Chinatown where markets are everywhere. It's also in the centre of all attraction, especially near MBK the shopping Centre.

This hotel is worth visiting, in fact has recommended this to friends and families.

Actually we stayed here last October 2011, so this is a retrospective review :)

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2013

Our friends who lived in Chiang Mai for 2 years recommended this hotel in Bangkok as it is right in the thick of Chinatown activity. We arrived tired and jet lagged from the airport late evening and had good service on checkin (and during the rest of our stay, although English was a bit of a problem at the front desk when we tried to get information on tipping). The room was clean and had all the basics, except no in room WI-FI.

Both nights we enjoyed drinks in the lounge with the beautiful view overlooking the city. We also had 2 mornings of gorgeous sunrises in our room.

The view around the pool is nice (like the lounge view), however, the pool itself is not memorable.

Most of our time was spent on a pre-arranged 1-1/2 day tour (see review), but we enjoyed walking the area around the hotel in the evening after our tour was over. We felt safe strolling in the vibrant area. Other than the breakfast buffet which we found very satisfying (although the service was a little slow), we did not eat at the hotel. We did have a delicious street food dinner about 3 blocks away.

We would stay here in the future.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank endlesstravelwishes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Hotel Royal Bangkok at Chinatown
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Chinatown Hotel
Chinatown Hotel
#468 of 895 in Bangkok
215 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Check Inn Chinatown
Check Inn Chinatown
#431 of 895 in Bangkok
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
Shanghai Mansion Bangkok
#84 of 895 in Bangkok
2,568 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
Miramar Hotel Bangkok
#503 of 895 in Bangkok
279 reviews
Chinatown / Yaowarat
Prime Hotel Central Station Bangkok
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand China Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand China Hotel

Address: 215 Yaowarat Road | Samphantawong, Bangkok 10100, Thailand (Formerly Grand China Princess)
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Chinatown / Yaowarat
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#112 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#227 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £49 - £124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand China Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 155
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, LoveHolidays, getaroom.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Grand China Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand China Princess Bangkok
Grand China Princess Hotel Bangkok

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing