We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still the best hotel with the best service.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Still the best hotel with the best service.”
Reviewed 12 June 2011

Over the years, we have stayed numerous times at The Grand Old Lady by the river and the perfect service and ambiance never ceases to amaze and impress us, from the greeting at the door and entering the grand lobby till departure from the airport, where a MO Hotel representative makes sure that you and your luggage are promptly checked in, avoiding the long waiting lines.

SERVICE is always written in capital letters everywhere.
The dedication of the staff is unsurpassed.

For over a decade, The Oriental Hotel has been managed by the almost legendary Mr. Kurt Wachtveitl (Khun Kurt), who was omnipresent and knew almost all the guests by name and who was very much liked and respected by all of the staff and who made it his mission to provide the best service ever. So when he decided to retire some two years ago, his successor, Mr. Jan Goessing, had the daunting and very difficult task to step into his predecessor's footsteps and maintain the high level of service, in the meantime adding his own touch and implementing his own views on management. Apart from a few hick- ups (sometimes slightly visible and noticeable to the guests), this transition in management went very smoothly and the hotel still provides the best service ever.

Upon arrival we were greeted -as always- like royalty and swiftly taken to our room, where the check- in was done.
Our suite was a riverfront Author's Suite, consisting of a large and comfortable sittingroom with a sort of "office corner", a large double bedroom, large bathroom, walk-in closet and two separate lavatories. The room had a nice balcony with stunning views over the river.
Each floor has it's own butler, who promptly arrives at your doorstep after you 've pressed the button next to the bed.
Fresh fruit, replenished daily; beautiful fresh flower-arrangements, a large collection of magazines, cd's and dvd's and every day around 5 pm, small canopies are brought to the room.

Service is impeccable and staff always addresses you by name, be it in the restaurants, the pool or in the bars.
That the liftboy always seems to remember on which floor you are staying and presses the right floorbutton when you enter the elevator is amazing and impressing.

There are two pools, both of them not too big, but very pleasant, with cabanas and sunbeds. Every half our a cold towel and cold water are provided and a very nice touch: Every two hours or so you are treated to a small snack, be it fresh fruit on a stick, small icecream or a small pastry.

There are numerous restaurants, all different from each other and all serving very good food, from the (formal) Lord Jim to the Chinese restaurant to the BBQ dinner on the terrace every night and our particular favourite, the Italian restaurant: Al fresco dining at the riverside, open only during the dry (winter) season.
The Thai restaurant is across the river and even only the short boatride to and from the restaurant is a very nice experience.

Breakfast is served on the terrace both a la carte and buffetstyle. If possible, opt for the Buffet breakfast, which is probably the best we have ever had. Every option is possible: European, American, Chinese, Thai...eggs are cooked to your liking of course.

In the older, original part of the hotel, in The Author's Lounge, High Tea is served in the afternoon and here also the weekly Manager's Cocktailparty takes place: A very nice and well liked event, where you have the opportunity to meet the Management and meet other guests.

At the end of the afternoon, live classical music is played in the Lobby. A fantastic experience!

The famous Spa is also across the river and provides the best treatments ever in a tranquil and serene environment.

I could go on and on about this wonderful hotel, but my best advice is: If you can (and want to) afford it, go there and experience the best service, be spoiled and pampered; you will not regret it!

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AmsterdamFrancis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,478
    438
    103
    34
    24
See reviews for
732
1,778
309
521
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
salem, OR
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2011

We loved this hotel and all it's amenities....what gracious people greeting you and serving you. Our room with huge windows overlooked the river. a beautiful setting. I usually unpack and run out of the room to see a city...in this case, I sat back in the lovely overstuffed chairs, put my feet up, dined on all the beautiful fruit and beverages provided on the tray and enjoyed watching all the activity on the river below and had a most relaxing afternoon....what a way to go! And then there were all the beautiful toiletries!! Such a beautiful experience. We watched the sun go down over the river from the dining room located just a few feet above the river.
Glorioous, simply glorious......hope to go back one day!

Room Tip: Ask for a river view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cardoncar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
207 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2011

My husband and I were impressed with the Mandarin's attention to detail from the moment we arrived. We had heard it was a beautiful property, an oasis in the big city, and in that way it didn't disappoint. What we didn't expect was the high level of customer service and genuine concern for the comfort of every guest. For example, when we called to say our air conditioner was leaking water, technicians arrived immediately to fix the small problem, followed by a bouquet of flowers with an apology note. Our suite offered a multitude of ammenities, and the turn down service in the evening was as thorough as the cleaning service that was done in the morning, including fresh towels and lovely snacks -- even our reading glasses were placed at the bedside. Every member of the staff was highly trained, communicated effortlessly in English, and seemed genuinely eager to help. A wonderful experience in every way!

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lisa D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki
Level Contributor
47 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2011

I stayed here for the first time from the 14th to the 20th May, five nights. I'm a regular customer at the MO Singapore and thus had high expectations, which were mostly met. I had a very relaxing little holiday in the hotel.

I had booked the fast track at the airport and the transfer to the hotel. The fast track was really fast, it's highly recommended, and the transfer with Mr Bush was nice ja quick.

The room was quite lovely and comfortable, I was pleasantly surprised. Some "old-fashioned" (in a good way) touches, lovely orchides, a good king bed. A very good housekeeping, a spotless room. But no slippers (of course, I should have asked about this, but forgot every time...)?

I spent lots of time by the main pool. It's of a good size, and there are lots of sun loungers and cabanas as well. The weekdays were really quiet, it was a pleasure to lounge in a cabana with my books and have a swim from time to time.

You don't need to leave the hotel to spend your money, there are some shops and a LV store opposite. A good tailor is next door. The hotel kiosk stores all necessary items, magazines etc. and has very nice ladies helping you. I wish, however, more books for the female taste.

Both the door men and especially one of the elevator men were brilliant. After my first elevator ride he always remembered my floor. Also, all communication with the concierge and the front desk was nice and professional.

I had my dinners and breakfasts mostly on the terasse, which has a lovely view over the river. Maybe I preferred the buffet breakfast, but a la carte was ok as well. The dinners were very good. My only tiny complaint would be about some of the dinner staff, there were some challenges sometimes.

All in all, I liked the hotel a lot, and I will definitely return many times.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank MrsMK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2011

We have been staying at the Hotel Oriental in Bangkok for the last 30 years. It is still a luxury we look forward to, always like going home, no other luxury hotels have that feeling. Everything is just perfect from the moment we were greeted by the orange jacket hotel staff at the airport, until they carried our luggage back to the checking counter, it was tranquil and discrete luxury. Not forgetting the staff at the lift who seems to know which floor to press even before we step into the lift. We also highly recommend the restaurant "Lord Jim" good food and excellent service (as it is throughtout the hotel)

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank fredam77788
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2011

Went back after 11 years and must say it is still the best hotel of the region. Not cheap but worth it. The kind of treatment you won't find in Europe no more. Will be back in 11 years.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Jaspy27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2011

Stayed 3 nights -- service is perfection. Location is wonderful...public pier closeby so you can take ferries to see the Palace or other sites along the river. Madarin Oriental is right on the river--that's where you want to be. Food at hotel restaurant on the outdoor terrace is wonderful. Took their private boat across the river to wonderful Thai restaurant -- food was amazing and the views at night were gorgeous with lit up boats going by.

Loved every minute! Fav hotel ever and we travel 2 to 3 months a year. Most gorgeous hotel lobby we've ever seen. We paid extra for hotel arranged private car to and from airport -- worth every penny!

Stayed May 2011, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Leighann L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4,193 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 852 in Bangkok
571 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
7,882 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Ebookers, Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Priceline, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing