We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An exceptional Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 883 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This is a truly great hotel. We spent 5 days here and at no time were we disappointed. The foyer, our room, drinks in the Bamboo Bar, breakfast on the Terrace and the ambience were all exceptional. We had a buffet lunch at their restaurant across the river. A seamless transfer and 5 minutes later we were seated at our table. The food was delicious.

The staff want you to enjoy you stay and are efficient without being intrusive.

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cpctraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (4,320)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,243 - 2,249 of 4,320 reviews

Reviewed 16 February 2012

The title says it all. The hotel is beautiful. The service is excellent. I sat in the lobby and ordered a drink. The beautiful tiny Asian girl dressed in a Thai silk dress, kneeled at my feet to serve the drink. The rooms are a good size, elegant and clean.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kay S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Everything about Mandarin Oriental is just perfect! I don't know how they do it, but it actually is! From food (try Lord Jim's) to room to its hospitality offered by staff ... it's just perfect.

I think this is one of the things you can't just listen and see the picture. Go and get the experience yourself and you'll understand. It doesn't come cheap, but worth every cent!

Room Tip: Choose the river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank fon_tisayakorn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

The Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok has maintained an outstanding reputation for years, and based upon that reputation was the reason for our stay. From the BMW car service from the airport to our daily responses for room service- our experiences were outstanding. There was nothing requested which wasn't produced- (within minutes and always with a genuine smile!) Every single staff and administrative person at the Mandarin was attentive, and always helpful and welcoming. The gym, pool and spa facilities are beautiful. The food extraordinary in all of the dining rooms. The cooking classes are a must do for even the most novice of cooks. I cannot wait to bring my family to the Mandarin Oriental, although hopefully by then internet access will be free!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thetinasmiths
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

I am not sure what more I can say - Perfection

The rooms, the restaurant, the food, the views, the service - Perfection

Love the local fruit in the rooms each day.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Billy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2012

....That is all that needs to be said and I am a seasoned traveller!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Isobel2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The Mandarin Oriental Bangkok has to be one of Asia's finest hotels....anywhere. Not just location, decor, service....but the place simply oozes charm, culture and refinement. Even though its been owned by MO for donkeys, its still The Oriental to me, and always will be.

Well these days I have to watch the purse strings a bit more so I can't afford to actually stay at The Oriental, but still a weekend in Bangkok would be incomplete without even a visit. And one of the best options is dinner at the Riverside Terrace.

Years ago, the Terrace was of course riverside, but the river walls were so high that you could not actually see the Chao Praya, although you could hear the unsilenced four stroke engines of all the river traffic loud and clear thats for sure. Magically now, MO have lowered the walls so that all diners have a wonderful riverside view. It must have cost a few bob, and also caused them a few worries in last year's floods, but if any investment was ever going to wash its face, its this one.

Service was impeccable, although when I insisted on an actual riverside table, the waitress became momentarily unhelpful and officious. But MO training came through and all was arranged, with faultless smiles and grace. As we left later, we spotted that our original table was directly in front of the band. Obviously the band was not the Foo Fighters, and were actually strumming out very mellow tunes, but band-front had not been our objective of the evening, so I felt justified in digging my heels in earlier, even as my fellow diners looked excruciatingly on.

The buffet dinner is western, but its top class. The full monty. We partook somewhat sparingly, but luxuriated in the quality of the starters, mains, and desserts. I can't summarize what's on offer, but I don't think anybody could possibly be disappointed (unless of course they wanted a green curry) and its all presented in MO pomp & finery.

Overall a marvellous dinner for five of us, with a bottle of red and a couple of glasses of white, it came to about THB 3500 each = USD 110. Agreed its not cheap, especially for Bangkok - but in my opinion excellent good value, and without hesitation I will take my family, friends and clients back on any occasion.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Service
8  Thank Madone5point9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 883 in Bangkok
8,452 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 883 in Bangkok
4,469 reviews
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 883 in Bangkok
637 reviews
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £308 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Southall Travel, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing