We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Number One Hotel in Thailand for many years.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 851 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Number One Hotel in Thailand for many years.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2012

The Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Bangkok is very well known as The Best Hotel in the world. The best service and all the staff have the beautiful smile all the time. The price is right compare with the service and facilities. Great hotel and Great manner.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tu V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,086 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,486
    439
    103
    34
    24
See reviews for
732
1,781
311
523
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (606)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Stayed for 3 nights at the end July and enjoyed every minute at the hotel. Very curteous, friendly and proffesional staff. Nice room and public areas, good resterauns and bar. Particularly enjoyed Lord Jim's, the food was excellent and good value, and the views over the river gave it a special setting.

Would definately stay again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank prjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2012

Best and friendliest service ever. If You can afford, don´t pick an alternative.
Spent a couple of days by the pool with my family and we loved the athmosphere and the total service. We got early check-in without asking for it and missed breakfast but the staff solved it anyway, in the best manner.
Will be back !

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Conrad61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hamburg, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

This was our second trip to Bangkok, but the first at this hotel, WOW is all i can say, bit stuffy and over the top but it just works and boy do they make you feel special.

The concierge was really helpful in book excursions, and the food to the room comes out like lightening. They gave us good information on restaurants and got us a great table at bed bar, never got to thank the man for this sadly, and for sorting the flowers.

Its a great setting at the river, nice place to sit and have a coffee away from all the madness.

Only annoying thing is the public taxis outside, but the hotel told us not to bother with them, as they rip you off.

Its good value for this standard of hotel.

Room Tip: Upgrade to suite, well worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank martin c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

Wow. This truly spectacular hotel has to be experienced. The setting, the service, the rooms. Old school charm. I also recommend you try and get a table at the on site Chinese restaurant, for quite possibly the best Chinese meal you will ever eat.

Room Tip: River view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rox P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lahaina, maui, hi.
Level Contributor
118 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I was given a two night stay by my brother after our country wedding in thailand (I guess he took pity on us as my wife and I slept on the floor with neices and nephews to accomodate our farang guests) note that were were married a year before in the USA.
keeping in mind that it is rainy season, the hotel was by no means packed, nor quiet for that matter. the second night 'one of thailands most well know celebrity couples' held their wedding there and reception. It was not obtrusive to our stay at all.
there is some reconstuction going on and the italian restaurant was closed.
I've read some of the negative review here and wonder what hotel or attitude these complaints were about.
this is a place where details are detailed
our room, a river view on the 14th floor had a great view, a butler on the floor who greet us and opened our door for us. The staff was incredibably helpful, friendly, able to answer our requests with smiles and lack of any attitude.
at the verandah, while eating our one dinner at the hotel, I dropped my fork and it was picked up and replaced within 30 seconds! I kid you not
there are newer, flashier, hipper and quite possibly more expensive hotels along the river and in bangkok but the oriental is old world, old money type luxury. think about it the couple that got married were connected to one of the local TV channels, there were thai movie and TV stars all over the place, dressed to the 9's..........these people could afford anything, they chose the oriental.
if I could afford it, I would stay there everytime........there is only one negative/positive and that is the location. right on the river is fantastic no complaints but if you have go places in bangkok to get things done, the traffic can be frustrating, the skytrain is close but we didn't use it in the two days were were there as we needed to go places that the train wasn't

Room Tip: I think the higher floors would be better, we were on the 14th the building has 16
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rick9cat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
108 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2012

I have stayed in many fine hotels in many cities in Asia, Europe and the us. This hotel is hard to beat! The service is amazing, the food is fabulous and the room was wonderful.The spa services are over the top!

Room Tip: River view only!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank karena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 851 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,203 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 851 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 7,908 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Mandarin Oriental, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Travelbag, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing