We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
4 people are viewing this hotel
Expedia.com
US$1,009
View deal
Free cancellation until 30/10/21
Booking.com
US$1,010
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$352
View deal
Free cancellation until 29/10/21
Hotels.comUS$1,009
PricelineUS$1,010
CheapTicketsUS$1,009
View all 14 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (5,182)
Filter reviews
5,182 results
Traveller rating
4,450
519
132
41
40
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
4,450
519
132
41
40
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bamboo bar across the river floor butler author's lounge china house sala rim naam lord jim best hotels in the world garden wing thai restaurant butler service view of the river chao phraya river hotel boat pool staff luxury hotel amazing hotel
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2,673 - 2,678 of 5,182 reviews
Reviewed 24 August 2012

After 8 years again there. As great as always you just feel welcome and taken care. Location great and the pick up service from the airport including VIP treatment at immigration is the money worth. I would not go to any other hotel

Room tip: High up front facing the river
Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank udo h
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 23 August 2012

The Mandarin Oriental Bangkok is like travelling back in time to the Agatha Christie era of old world charm and service. Indeed afternoon tea is a specialty of this fine 5 star hotel served in the aptly named Authors Lounge.Built on both sides of the Chao Phraya river the hotel provides a free regular boat ferry to its luxurious health spa and gym and restaraunts on the far side of the river.These boats are like old Chinese junkets and are lit up at night giving a fairy tail feel to the whole experience.Be sure to bring your camera. Extremely polite and helpful staff many of whom are dressed in traditional Thai costume,open doors,call taxis,carry bags to your room and generally make you feel very special during your stay.Concierge and desk staff remember your name and anticipate your request for your room key having it ready before you reach the desk.But behind all of this traditional values ethos the hotel glides quietly through it's daily buisness on the ultra modern technology of the best Las Vegas hotels. High speed lifts take up to the top of its 15 floors in seconds. Wi Fi and in room internet and multi channell flat screen tv along with air conditioning and a business centre make up many of the essential modern world requirements.Huge windows give you a panaramic view of the river and Bangkok depending on where your room is.Clean room and do not disturb signs are also switch operated from your room turning on the relevent light on the wall outside.Breakfast is served al fresco in the Verandah over looking the river and the numerous restaurants serve french,italian pizza, Chinese,Asian and European dishes to suit every palate.The traditional Thai meal and dance show in the Sala Rim Naam is a must see. No one does massage like Thailand and the Mandarin's health spa is the best you will find. A fully equipped Gym will help you burn off the world class cuisine.A string ensemble plays in the Foyer in the evenings. Management are always at hand to deal with any issues or questions you may have. As a honeymoon destination it is peerless.Bangkok can be a culture shock for first time visitors but the Mandarin Oriental will be your oasis to return to so you can recharge your batteries before you tackle Bangkok's famous night life.During my stay members of the Thai Royal family arrived one evening, a testament to the status of this fine hotel.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank AnthonyJ742
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 22 August 2012

My wife and I were married at the Oriental Hotel in Bangkok eleven years ago. Khun Tippy orchestrated the ceremony beautifully, helping us to plan the wedding from the United States. Thank you wherever you may be!

I surprised my wife with a return to the Oriental Hotel this year for our anniversary. I booked over the phone and the agent was extremely helpful, noting in the reservation that we were celebrating our anniversary.

I booked a room, spa treatment, dinner and brunch with the in-laws through a combination of phone and website. It was extremely easy. Emails were returned in a flash, confirming reservations at the restaurants.

On the day of arrival, we were greeted in typical Oriental Hotel fashion (i.e. staff opening doors with a smile, Jasmine leis for each of us...). We came to the room to find chilled wine and a little cake that said "Happy Anniversary". After relaxing for a bit in our upgraded room, we made our way to the spa across the river. The experience was amazing! Thai classical massage with an exfoliating rub.

We happened to be staying on a Tuesday night, so we were invited to a reception at the Author's Lounge (try to stay a Tuesday night). We were treated to drinks and hors d'oeuvres. The theme was from the Thai restaurant, so Thai classical dancers made their way through the crowd as we ate and drank. We had dinner at Le Normandie overlooking the Chao Praya River. We then returned to our room to find the turn down service had placed a heart of roses and another special note to wish us a Happy Anniversary.

All in all, this was an amazing stay that could not have occurred anywhere besides the Oriental Hotel in Bangkok. Add free wifi to everything else I have mentioned and the experience is unforgettable ;-)

Thank you to all the staff at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel in Bangkok!

Date of stay: July 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank NateeP
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Let's get something straight from the start. This is a beautiful property, very well looked after and has first class views of the river. The rooms are impeccable and the old wing is a treat to the senses.
However the "best hotel in the world" sadly not! I really wanted it to be...I love the city and it would be nice to actually have something come up to your expectations. So what let's the Oriental down? The service is average by world standards and actually poor by south east Asian hotel standards. No one calls you by your name, that privilege is meant for the very rich locals or the celebrities. The normal paying customers get a very impersonal welcome to the hotel. The managers went past me a number of times while I waited for someone to sit me down or serve me in the lobby. I guess the fact that I was dressed to explore the city and not in my Sunday best might have caused them to overlook me...more than once! The butlers on the other hand are excellent! It's a little disconcerting how the staff can be more charming than the higher paid managers...

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajayHoChiMinh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 August 2012

The service here was top notch. The elevator man knew my name from my first elevator ride to the last. The butler made amazing things happen and noticed our likes/dislikes. The spa was very good and they upgraded our services for free. The drinks were very good to great. The food was good to average at the buffet to VERY bland at the Terrace Restaurant. The rooms are growing tired and dated. The carpet was stained and the color scheme is the brown and blue thing that was all over in Y2K. We paid for a big upgraded room with a patio that is advertised as overlooking the water, well, it is if you crane out of the balcony, it is more accurately overlooking the car park. No drinks on the patio as I fancied in my mind.
We had a very poor experience with a female concierge, she was distracted and kept walking away and she sent us to a restaurant that could accommodate multiple tour buses at any given moment, we walked out. We had much better experience with a more senior Concierge.
There is a dress code of no shorts in the lobby after 6 pm but I love that, it keeps things special.
Great location and very handy boat service. Wish it took you to Peninsula.
Beautiful BMWs for airport transfer.

Date of stay: August 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sammo50
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews