We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful hotel with excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
126 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotel with excellent staff”
Reviewed 5 November 2013

The wife booked The Mandarin Oriental for a short birthday getaway trip and i'm very glad she chose this hotel. It's the small stuff that they pay attention to which made it a great experience. My wife was examining some of the flowers in the lobby and one of the staff chimed in a bit about of the other flowers. That's good staff initiative there.

The rooms were nicely decorated, super comfy bed and free wifi. The toiletries (namely the soap) were pretty good, though i wish they were a bit more generous with it. Being a smoker with a non-smoking wife, we got the non-smoking rooms but i wasn't completely left out as there is a small public balcony for you to smoke which is EXTREMELY welcome for someone in my position.

The hotel provides periodic shuttle buses to the closest skytrain. If i had one comment to this hotel to the next level: provide return shuttle buses from the closest skytrain station. It's a bit of a pain to always have to bargain with taxi drivers when coming back late (as they are usually trying to rip you off with high prices). While this isn't the hotel's problem or scope, it would really make things much more hassle free for its guests!

Room Tip: if you're a smoker and travelling with a non-smoking partner (and thus getting a non-smoking roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank yosoyken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear yosoyken

Thank you very much for this great review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok! I am delighted to read that you had a fantastic stay and that you particularly enjoyed the Oriental charm and legendary service. We hope to welcome you back for another exquisite stay at ‘La Grande Dame’ in the future!

Kind Regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,163 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,550
    449
    106
    34
    24
See reviews for
750
1,808
316
533
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (613)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Italy
Level Contributor
206 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The first time we visited Bangkok we had dinner on the terrace restaurant and vowed when we returned to Bangkok we'd stay there and that's what we've done ever since. This time it was our splurge at the end of a trip to Myanmar which wasn't the easiest of places to visit so the Oriental was a very welcome sight when we returned to Thailand.
I can't say enough good things about this hotel, from the time you enter the lobby until you leave everything is perfect, smiling faces everywhere eager to ask if they can be of service to you.
The rooms are'nt the biggest but they're beautifully furnished and the views over the river especially at night are magical. When I stay here I think i'm in an Agatha Christie film, this will continue to be our splurge every time we visit Bangkok, it really doesn't get much better than this.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear Chrella

Thank you very much for reviewing Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok on TripAdvisor. I’m delighted to hear that you had such a fantastic time. Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another wonderful experience.

Best Regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed there in October and was blown away by the exceptional service. We have stayed at the Malaysia, San Francisco & Hawaii property and this location far exceeds them all. From the moment you arrive the staff greets you by personally by name. They treat every single guest with the most amazing service, always with a warm smile and intuitive approach to every need imaginable. The food was exceptional & no request to the kitchen was too difficult.

Room Tip: The loft rooms are a lovely treat with a beautiful view. Take advantage of room service so you can e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank kat073
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear kat073

Thank you for this positive review. I really appreciate the comments about our service standards and I will be sure to share your feedback with our colleagues. Thank you for recommending us and we look forward to welcoming you back again to ‘La Grande Dame’ in the very near future.

Best wishes,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

Stayed here at the end of September. From the moment of arrival, you know it will be a great experience. The Oriental truly sets the standard for what a great hotel hotel should be. Every staff member seems to know your name and are always available to assist you in whatever you need. The service is truly impeccable; the rooms have fresh fruit daily... want something in particular no problem. Leave the room for 10 minutes, it's cleaned before you get back, need help from the concierge... they know all the restaurants in town, have been to most and have helpful hints (Unlike a lot of hotels they actually do what a concierge is supposed to do). The lobby is stunning with a hand made massive flower arrangement and smells absolutely beautiful.

Stayed in a normal room in the river wing... it was large, clean, comfortable, had a nice river view.

I cannot praise the Oriental enough, it was truly a gem.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mrjsuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear mrjsuss

Thank you very much for posting an outstanding review on trip advisor. I am delighted to read that our team managed to consistently exceed your expectations and that you had a wonderful time at ‘La Grande Dame’. We look forward to welcoming you back ‘home’ in the very near future.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013

There are other hotels in Bangkok with a bigger pool or flashier lobby or larger bedrooms but The Mandarin Oriental is in a class of its own when you consider service and ambience.
I have never stayed in a hotel where the staff are so intuitive with regards to your comfort. The staff also have personality and a relaxed way when dealing with guests. Many are happy to have a humorous moment with you. So rare in a hotel of this standard.
I won't go into detail but our stay was as good as hoped. The fond memories will stay with me.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank throughsmoke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 8 November 2013
Dear throughsmoke

Thank you very much for your wonderful review. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful time experiencing the immaculate and impeccable service. I will certainly share your kind words with our team. I hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back soon again.

Best wishes from all the team at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
77 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2013

There is nothing that is too much trouble for the staff at this superb hotel. We just had the most wonderful week's holiday there. I cannot speak highly enough of this establishment! My only slight criticism would be that there is no free wifi. Small hotels in all sorts of places offer this but large hotels still charge for wifi in your room. Still the lovely lady came to know me each morning at the Business Centre as I did have free access there for 15 minutes each day, enough to check on my ageing mother in sydney.

Room Tip: The river rooms offer entertainment, day and night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JillianSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago de Cuba, Cuba
Level Contributor
708 reviews
129 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2013 via mobile

Thai host, expect the most!
Beautiful building with local decor, absolutely superb.
Service is really top of the range and accomodation are comforatble, nice and quiet!
Excellent choice of restaurants, and great breakfast on the wharf.
Do not hesitate!

Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
4 Thank ClubGGG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 1 November 2013
Dear ClubGGG

Thank you for such a wonderful review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok! It’s great to hear that you had such a fabulous stay and that you especially enjoyed the legendary service and signature cuisine. Thank you for your heartfelt recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ soon.

Best Regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
609 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#18 of 858 in Bangkok
8,123 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 858 in Bangkok
4,300 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, Ctrip TA, TravelUp, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing