We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic getaway if you stay within hotel property, but no train station nearby so be ready to be stuck in traffic.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #3 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 November 2013 via mobile

Great place to go if you are not going to leave the hotel, which is what I did after being stuck in traffic. No avoiding it because there are no train stations nearby. I was happy to stay in, relax by the pool and sip on the complimentary iced coffee offered at the pool.

The spa is excellent. I had 1.5hr massage and went back the next day because it was so good.

The gym is good and I took a complimentary yoga class which I enjoyed.

We tried the restaurants and they were all very good.

The service was great and it almost justifies the price of the hotel. Because Bangkok offers so many 5 star hotels at USD300/night, it's hard to say if 500-600/night is justifiable for Mandarin. I admit, Mandarin's service is stellar and it is my most favorite hotel chain, but Thai service standards are high in general so I am not sure if I would be willing to pay up 500-600 next time. (We switched hotels in the middle of our trip to St. Regis (300/night), which is connected to the train station and it was very convenient).

I'd recommend this hotel for travelers planning on spending most of their time in the hotel.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Dan E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Dan E

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback about your recent stay. It is indeed a true pleasure to read that you had a wonderful time, special at the Oriental Spa. Regarding the Sky Train, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok is conveniently located next to the Saphan Taksin station and we provide complimentary shuttle boat service from the hotel’s pier to the station everyday from 7 am until midnight. In addition, the river offers an authentic ‘Bangkok discovery’ option by long tail boat to the Grand Palace and most of the iconic Temples. Thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next trip to Bangkok

Sincerely
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,398)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,654 - 1,660 of 4,398 reviews

Reviewed 28 November 2013

Colonial architecture of the old wing, sublime! Architecture of the new wing (not so new), a horror. Beautiful room. Excellent service. Geographical location perfect. Chinese restaurant in an old Mansion, splendid. Food not exceptional but very correct, adding a little dirty. To do for the atmosphere. Spa manifique but on the other side of the river. The opportunity to make a Chinese junk (Motorised), free transfer to hotel guests. The best hotel in Bangkok ... with the tariff equivalent.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Devonmichchell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Devonmichchell

Thank you for this great review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok! We are so glad to hear that you have a fantastic time and that you particularly appreciated the legendary service and exquisite cuisine. We look forward to welcoming you back for more amazing stays in the future!

Warm Regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2013

An hotel with the best service and the best staff we ever put in Many trips around the world. Everywhere in the hotel & we feel wellcome everybody Seems to know us, people are calling us by our names. this hotel is very special.

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kerth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

After hiking 10 days in Bhutan, I spent one night at the Oriental on my way back to the USA. Everything was perfect!

The pick up at the airport was super quick: I was whisked out in no time. The arrival was lovely: I appreciated everything being ready as I stepped out of the car (key, paperwork). The check-in in the room was flawless: the attendant took care of everything in no time (spa and restaurant reservation, car). The room continues to be perfect, with an amazing attention to details. The internet was free and extremely fast: there is no better work desk anywhere.

The breakfast buffet is still amazing. Best spa treatment ever (especially after carrying a backpack in the Himalayas for 10 days!). Lunch at Sala was a unique experience: there was discernible pride in the attendants when they explained the different items at the buffet: the variety is mind blowing and the quality incredible: the grilled giant prawns split lengthwise, the soft-shell crabs and the fried rice were memorable - I can't wait to go back!

This was my second time at the Oriental (first time was in 2007) and I found the service to be more than excellent! I cannot imagine contemplating staying at another place in Bangkok. Much more than a hotel stay - this was a memorable experience! Exactly what I look for when I travel for vacation.

Is the place expensive? Maybe, but memories like this have no price. Furthermore, my Virtuoso travel agent had made the reservation for me (it means upgrade, internet, breakfast and lunch were all included). Therefore, I think it was a great value.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Teigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear Teigne

I am delighted to read your review and thank you for taking the time to share such detailed feedback with us following your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am pleased to know how much you appreciated your time at ‘La Grande Dame’. I am also thrilled that you enjoyed the various culinary delights at the hotel, and the legendary Oriental service.

Please do let us know when your plans bring you back to Bangkok. I would be delighted to assist with the details of your stay to ensure another wonderful experience at ‘La Grande Dame’.

Warmest personal regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Amazing hotel with great attention to detail, wonderful service and staff eager to please without being obstrusive. Very relaxing in the heart of Bangkok. Worth every penny. Could not fault this hotel or the staff.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 November 2013

My 9th visit to this wonderful hotel. My addition is clearly showing little or no sign of being overcome! Everything was as normal - first class. The addition for me this time was the re-opening of Ciao, the Italian restaurant on the river which had been refurbished since I was there earlier this year. The food was very good indeed, with some expert sourcing of products of the highest quality from Italy. Seems strange going for a meal such as this when in Bangkok but just once in a while a respite from chill and lemongrass is in order, and you won't find a better Italian meal in Thailand in my view. Looking forward to my 10th visit in 2014!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank UKtraveller143
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 5 December 2013

Dear UKtraveller143

It was wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I have shared your feedback regarding Ciao with our team and they are very happy to read your comments. We are thrilled to welcome you back for your 10th visit in 2014.

Warm regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 November 2013

Stunning property nearby the river, epitomising colonial influence and steeped in Thailand's modern history. It's pricey but perhaps the best way to experience a dose of the country's royal heritage... Lovers of literature will appreciate knowing some of the greats have stayed there, too.
You'll be greeted in true Thai style with smiles and the wai, and refreshments in the gorgeous grand lobby. We stayed (both times) in the River Wing, enjoying the large, well-appointed rooms and of course views of the busy, beautiful river with its colourful boats. Rooms overlooking the gardens are bound to be as lovely, judging by our stroll(s) around the grounds.
Service was faultless. As the visits were for business, we only had breakfast each day but the menu offered delicious local and western options. When we returned to the hotel at night, the bed was turned down with fresh orchids on the pillows and staff left fruit for the morning.
Oriental Bangkok is must-visit. If you're unable to stay a night, at least have breakfast/brunch there simply for its history and beauty.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melissa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 891 in Bangkok
8,641 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 891 in Bangkok
4,569 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 891 in Bangkok
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £316 - £567 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing