We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you go to Bangkok and you can stay at the Oriental”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #3 of 891 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 January 2014

One of the Best Hotels we have ever stayed around the world. I will not say more to avoid to spoil your experience and feelings when you will stay there. Excellent location, service and a sensation of going back in time.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pedro D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Pedro D

Thank you for this great review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok! We are delighted to read that you had a fantastic time and that you particularly appreciated the legendary service and sensational ambiance. We look forward to welcoming you back for more amazing stays in the future!

With best wishes,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,456)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,642 - 1,648 of 4,456 reviews

Reviewed 8 January 2014

Room quality, staff, the little touches at turn down, the facilities. It is one of the best hotels in the world.

One minute point, more electrical sockets in the rooms would be a good idea.

We had checked out, but needed a room to change into our travel clothes, most hotels , this would be a problem, at the Mandarin it was "of course, no problem sir'

Room Tip: river view rooms above the 5th floor are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mark s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear marksilver94

Thank you for this fantastic review of ‘La Grande Dame’. I am very pleased to hear that you enjoyed the magical atmosphere along the River of Kings during the festive season. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Warm regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

This was the award they received in 2013 by The Times! And I totally toally agree!
The staff were very warm and friendly. While this is an expected norm, the extent of their warmth made a big difference.
There's a butler assigned to every floor. He was very attentive to all our needs. The usual greeting, plus little details to ensure our three kids were comfortable. Even our kids were awed by their service!
This classic hotel is a beautiful place to stay in bangkok. Away from the hustle and bustle of the smog and noise of the city, yet easily accessible via the river. We loved this hotel!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mumseword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Mumseword

It was a pleasure meeting you and I am delighted to read your wonderful review on TripAdvisor. Thank you for recommending the hotel’s legendary service, and our colleagues’ special attention towards our younger guests. We look forward to welcoming you back to ‘La Grande Dame’ soon.

Sincerely yours
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

A proper hotel in the traditional style. Featured in the Christmas edition of the Economist recently. Excellent property, ambience and service. Unrivalled, what others should aspire to. One of the few places where you can still experience the golden age of travel. Excellent value for what you get. Pay double in other cities for inferior hotels.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gibraltar M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear Taras_Bulba_v_SG

Thank you for sharing the experience of your recent stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok! I am delighted that you had a fabulous experience and we look forward to welcoming you back for another great stay at ‘La Grande Dame!’

Best regards,
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

I've stayed in a wide range of hotels during my years, this is one of the nicer ones. The MO has all the features and facilities you would expect from a hotel with it's rating, but what I found exceptional was the service from the staff.

Upon arrival we were greeted by name without having to tell them who we were.
I had a slight cold and 20 minutes after been shown our room someone turned up with some green tea and honey.

For the remaining days we were greeted by friendly smiles from staff who were only too willing to help.

The breakfast buffet I'd also worth a mention.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank OnTheRun77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear OnTheRun77

Thank you for posting an excellent review about your return experience at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I am delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay, and that our team consistently exceeded your expectations. Thank you for your heartfelt recommendations and we can’t wait to welcome you back home!

Best wishes
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

We just spent three terrific nights at the Mandarin Oriental in Bangkok over new years and it was perfect. The staff is very helpful and the service is impeccable. The room was a bit small but the view spectacular. The food was amazing- breakfast, dinner, lunch all were delicious and the service was terrific. The hotel is accustomed to foreign travelers needs and sensitivities. The hotel has a elegant "old world" feel but includes all the modern luxuries for a 21st century traveler. A wonderful place to spend a few days. The pool a beautiful respite to the busy, hot, high paced city streets. We loved our stay and would highly recommend that you book this hotel for a luxury stay in Bangkok.

Room Tip: Make sure you request a smoke free room if you so desire. Higher floors near the elevator have the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wdaniels99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear wdaniels99

Thank you very much for you kind review. I’m delighted to hear that you enjoyed the legendary Oriental service and especially our culinary delights. We appreciate your ongoing patronage and look forward to welcoming you back to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, in the near future.

Kind regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2014

An excellent hotel offering modern eastern charm and service in the "traditional" way. Comfortable, spacious, well staffed and the perfect antidote to the hustle and bustle of the city outside. Outstanding riverside location with a most original and exciting manner of access to its spa on the other river bank !
Bangkok was probably a once in a lifetime visit for us - but pleased that we chose the oriental.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank agedbutcool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this reviewResponded 9 January 2014

Dear agedbutcool

It was wonderful to read how much you enjoyed your stay at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok. I have shared your feedback with our colleagues and they were delighted to hear your feedback. We all look forward to welcoming you back to “La Grande Dame” soon.

Best regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 891 in Bangkok
8,763 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#10 of 891 in Bangkok
4,629 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 891 in Bangkok
685 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £298 - £593 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing