We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First Class”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 852 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“First Class”
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed at the Mandarin for 4 nights. Had a fantastic time. It feels like there is nothing you need to do. Thought that the ice cold water and flannels by the pool was a special touch. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Had a superior room. Everything one needs with a fantastic view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dawn5460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,077 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,478
    438
    103
    34
    24
See reviews for
732
1,778
309
521
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (605)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Ballina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We enjoy being recognised as previous guests, subtle touches to our stay such as our favourite room type and dietary preferences help make for a relaxing stay.
The Hotel is beautifully presented from the rooms to the restaurants, gardens and pool.
A few reviewers made comparisons with other hotels, we are not interested in comparisons we like the Oriental Bangkok precisely as it is and doubt its uniqueness could be replicated.
We will be back to enjoy!
GS

Room Tip: We like the ninth floor about mid way and enjoy a river and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DancerA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bangkok, Thailand
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Absolutely fantastic

We live in Bkk and in fact 10 minutes away from the hotel. We decided to have a weekend away somewhere where we could get to easily. The MO was our first choice and despite being twice the price of all other 5 star hotels in BKK, we know we would not be disappointed.

From Checking In, Room, Services, Turn Down, Buter, dinner at Lord Jims, Breakfast at Verandah, everything was beautiful and speacial.

We stayed in the Premier room overlooking the river in the old wing, we loved it and the room is like a junior suite with the sleeping area divided by a few steps from the living and dinning area. The Butler was attentive and charming. The room amenities are good quality and we had plenty of them.

Dinner at Lord Jims is old fashion but in a very good way. Service was seriously fantastic and the food was excellent. We ate too much!

The bed, the linens and the atmosphere made us sleep so well. It is wonderful looking at the river at night with lots of well lit ferries on the water.

Breakfast a la carte was fabulous and ful of choices. We had the Oreintal breakfast and yes the only unpleasent thing was we ate more than we really should.

In conclusion, do stay here and have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We loved the premier room and we think it is much nicer than the deluxe or superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WVanichprapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
47 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

What sets this hotel apart and above the competition is not the accommodation, the setting or the restaurants, it is the service provided by the staff which is not replicated in any other hotel I have stayed at. They are superbly trained and make one' s stay a joy.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank naomieliza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

The staff is attentive, friendly, and professional.
We stayed at the Mandarin Oriental only one night, so we didn't have time to experience all that the hotel had to offer, but what we could see and do was amazing.
The pool, the food/restaurant and the room was above all expectations.
I Highly recommend this hotel, it is an amazing experience in it self.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Andrea T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk res
Level Contributor
295 reviews
120 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 161 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 January 2014 via mobile

One cannot find fault here(except possibly the price).
The staff are magnificent. The rooms are exquisitely finished, The views must be the best in the city...A 'sundowner on the terrace ' is a must. The choice of restaurant is comprehensive. You will not be disappointed.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank kattyukres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
141 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2014 via mobile

It's hard to imagine a better hotel anywhere, and I practically live in hotels. This hotel is subtle perfection, and offers a serene experience along the Chao Phraya River. There are eight restaurants in the hotel with something for everyone, from French Haute cuisine to Thai, to barbecue, a spa to remember, and a completely Thai experience. For all that this hotel offers, though, it's the services that you'll remember. No hotel on the planet offers better service, for everything from getting in from the airport to room service. This hotel really has no peer.

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank George817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
The Peninsula Bangkok
#8 of 852 in Bangkok
4,192 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 852 in Bangkok
570 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#19 of 852 in Bangkok
7,873 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Booking.com, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Southall Travel, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelbag, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing