We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #3 of 890 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 2 February 2014 via mobile

The Oriental is a class of its own. There may be hotels that are newer, more modern, higher, etc but they do not compare with the timeless elegance of Bangkok's grand dame. Service is impeccable, food delicious. The decor and furniture of the rooms may be a bit outdated but they are in impeccable condition and your floor butler will be there to assist you at all times. The garden and the pool are small but nice. I absolutely recommend the barbecue you will not find a nicer place to spend your evening. Bangkok does not have the best air quality but sitting on the terrace at the river, having some grilled lobster with a good glass if wine and emjoying the fresh breeze is the best you can do (forget about Nahm, Scirocco, Vertigo and all the other places).

One minus (which makes me deduct one star) - but this was one that we considered annoying - is that the hotel does not offer any complimentary internet and makes you buy it for 24-hour periods. At the hefty prices they are charging for everything, and considering the fact that every restaurant, shop and hotel in Bangkok offers free Wifi, we thought that was quite cheap.

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank WoWie1010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,394)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,570 - 1,576 of 4,394 reviews

Reviewed 1 February 2014

Not to miss!!!!! A great evening at mandarin oriental hôtel,visit hôtel take a cruise to other side with fantastic 7 course thai dinner with 5star service and then great authentic show musicians,dance and more...an anchanting romantic evenong...very james bond atmosphere,dress code of course! Enjory...a must when visiting Bangkok

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank SUEBIDOUX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

This was during our stay (me and my mother) at Bangkok. It was at the Mandarin Oriental Hotel. After reaching upon the hotel entrance, we were greeted courteously by the hotel staff. While bowing down, they greeted us in their mother tongue or native language ‘Sawa dee’ and welcomed us by putting a small flower garland on our wrists.

While entering through the huge glass doors of the lobby, there was some other staff who greeted us too. The hotel lobby is impressive, with its high ceiling and the glass panes which were almost up to the ceiling height. The sunlight through the windows made the lobby look even more vibrant. There was a small water fountain, which had fresh colourful flower arrangements hanging over it. The seating area was spread across very nicely, with different options of tables, chairs and sofas. The grey coloured sofas coordinated well with the maroon coloured cushioned chairs.

We saw that the lobby was beautifully decorated with fresh colourful flowers. There were different flower arrangements done across the flower vases on the tables. There was two housekeeping staff that was monitoring around to see if anything needed to be cleaned, rearranged the cushions on the sofa and adjusted the flower vases. The lobby looked well-maintained and clean.

The concierge, reception and cashier counters were on the right side. While walking towards the reception, each and every staff member cordially greeted and welcomed us.

They have a unique check-in facility. Instead of the usual way of doing the check-in at the reception counter, one of the reception staff escorted us to the lift and later to our room. He asked us how our flight was and whether we were travelling to Bangkok for the first time.
After reaching our room he explained to us the formalities of the check-in, like daily room rate, etc. and requested for our passports. During this time, somebody came at the door. It was the butler who got us our welcome drinks. He too welcomed us and mentioned that we could call him anytime we want by pressing the butler call button, which was near the bedside drawer as well as at the entrance of the room door.

After the butler had left, the reception staff requested my signature on the paperwork and asked us if he could show us the amenities in the room. He guided us nicely and explained everything properly.

We liked the courtesy and warmness of the staff. For them to greet us in their mother tongue or native language was beautiful, as it made us welcomed to Thailand and the hotel. The wonderful idea of check-in made it easier for us to relax in the room, rather than by standing at the reception counter and waiting for the formalities to be done. In this way, we got a chance to know the amenities by the reception staff. It was a totally personalised service.

Room Tip: To stay in rooms far from the elevator and service door, so as to avoid getting disturbed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank namratabhagwat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 January 2014

Seriously, I cannot recommend this hotel highly enough. We had a two day stay where we checked in at 8am and out at 4pm with no extra charge. The staff are humble and genuinely happy to serve and everything is thought of. Staff remember your name and you are addressed in this way. The room was immaculate and well appointed and the service discreet and professional. Little touches like fruit in the room and a whole cupboard for technology charging make the difference. The beds are extremely comfortable and the breakfast is amazing with enough choice for everyone.

We spent 3 hours in the spa which was amazingly blissful, calming and restorative.

I will on the basis of my stay here, use the brand when I travel again.

Room Tip: You don't need to upgrade to get a decent room. We stayed in a superior room on a high floor. Gr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArchieMunchie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

Stayed at the Mandarin for 4 nights. Had a fantastic time. It feels like there is nothing you need to do. Thought that the ice cold water and flannels by the pool was a special touch. Would thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Had a superior room. Everything one needs with a fantastic view of the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn5460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2014

We enjoy being recognised as previous guests, subtle touches to our stay such as our favourite room type and dietary preferences help make for a relaxing stay.
The Hotel is beautifully presented from the rooms to the restaurants, gardens and pool.
A few reviewers made comparisons with other hotels, we are not interested in comparisons we like the Oriental Bangkok precisely as it is and doubt its uniqueness could be replicated.
We will be back to enjoy!
GS

Room Tip: We like the ninth floor about mid way and enjoy a river and pool view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DancerA99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Absolutely fantastic

We live in Bkk and in fact 10 minutes away from the hotel. We decided to have a weekend away somewhere where we could get to easily. The MO was our first choice and despite being twice the price of all other 5 star hotels in BKK, we know we would not be disappointed.

From Checking In, Room, Services, Turn Down, Buter, dinner at Lord Jims, Breakfast at Verandah, everything was beautiful and speacial.

We stayed in the Premier room overlooking the river in the old wing, we loved it and the room is like a junior suite with the sleeping area divided by a few steps from the living and dinning area. The Butler was attentive and charming. The room amenities are good quality and we had plenty of them.

Dinner at Lord Jims is old fashion but in a very good way. Service was seriously fantastic and the food was excellent. We ate too much!

The bed, the linens and the atmosphere made us sleep so well. It is wonderful looking at the river at night with lots of well lit ferries on the water.

Breakfast a la carte was fabulous and ful of choices. We had the Oreintal breakfast and yes the only unpleasent thing was we ate more than we really should.

In conclusion, do stay here and have a wonderful time.

Room Tip: We loved the premier room and we think it is much nicer than the deluxe or superior room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WVanichprapa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#21 of 890 in Bangkok
8,629 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#11 of 890 in Bangkok
4,565 reviews
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 890 in Bangkok
666 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sathorn
Eastin Grand Hotel Sathorn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
#3 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range: £316 - £568 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Mandarin Oriental, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing