We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top of the class!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Ranked #2 of 858 Hotels in Bangkok
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
68 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Top of the class!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

The long weekend at the MO was extraordinary. The attention to detail throughout the hotel (décor, architecture, table ware etc) and service is of the highest standards. My needs were met and anticipated by each department and person I came into contact with. I checked in during the recent Coup weekend, having been urged by others to chancel my trip - I am so glade that I didn't, to have missed out on this experience I cannot even imagine! The MO has become my hotel of choice in an instance, it didn't loose its shine once throughout the three nights I was there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mytravelworldrocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MOBangkok, Communications Manager at Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, responded to this review, 6 June 2014
Dear NoBoarders0704

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave this wonderful review of Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok! I am really delighted to read all the lovely things you have to say about ‘La Grande Dame’. It’s great to hear that you had a fantastic stay and that you particularly enjoyed the fabulous decor, culinary delights and legendary service. Thank you again for your kind comments and we look forward to welcoming you back again for another unforgettable stay!

Warm regards
Michael Nurbatlian
Communications Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

4,122 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,515
    444
    105
    34
    24
See reviews for
739
1,796
314
529
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (611)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Vietnamese first
  • Any
English first
Vienna, Austria
Level Contributor
32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

My preferred hotel! Best service where you can really feel unique! Everything is made to make you happy! From standart rooms to suites, all is fantastic ! Food is excellent and the best breakfast ever! 10 times that we went there and we will continue!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Kat91130
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
miami
Level Contributor
153 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014 via mobile

What can you say about a hotel that has repeatedly bee classified as one of the top in the world. This hotel is all about extraordinary service. Once you inform the elevator operator your room floor ,he will memorize your floor and press it for you without asking again and again.
First morning we were greeted for breakfast by the staff,I gave my room number and was immediately greeted by my name...no hidden ear contraption and no computer...the man had apparently memorized all the guests and room numbers!
You desire your shoes to be shined,just place them in the bin in your room and they will be shined and returned to the bin within 10 minutes.No need to call...there is apparently a mechanism that will inform the staff when you open the door of the bin.
The restaurants especially the "lord Jim" is very good
Also the spa,at the other side of the river has an excellent service. One experience not to be missed.

Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank J F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Despite martial law, a coup and a curfew, my first visit to Thailand was an amazing experience thanks to the extraordinary Mandarin Oriental. The service was exceptional, with the staff very quickly picking up on my needs and routines so that, for example, on arrival when it was obvious I was exhausted from a long journey they immediately offered an early (lunch time) turn down service so I could get some sleep straight away. The service was consistently friendly and impeccable, and the room was well appointed with a super-comfortable bed and a great view.

If, like me, you are a bit of a foodie, beware. The hotel's restaurants are so good you will be tempted to eat every meal on site. The three upscale restaurants, specialising in French, seafood and Chinese cuisine, are all magnificent and the food is good value as well as utterly delicious. The wine is pricey but the list is excellent and there are reasonable priced bottles to be found. Even the most casual restaurant, the Verandah, has a decent and varied menu of good quality freshly prepared food. Try the tomato tart starter: fantastic. There are other places to eat too but I didn't make it to them.

Overall, pretty much everything was as close to perfect as it is reasonable to expect any hotel to get.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StephenCLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paris, France
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I stay at the Oriental each time I am in Bangkok. And each time I am surprised how the extremely high quality of service is still improved with pleasant details. Small presents daily, macaroons at 5 pm in you room, just to name a few.
This time was special though, with the coup developing during my stay. The hotel staff delivered precise information on what was going on and good advice on how to deal with it. This is very precious, to have reliable information during a critical situation.
Once again, the Oriental proved itself one of the best hotels in the world.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Skuatakin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chichester England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

The Mandarin Oriental Bangkok is one of the most fantastic hotels that I have stayed in, and I have stayed in quite a few!!
It is a beautiful hotel on the riverbank, the staff are just incredible, NOTHING was too much trouble,they know your name from the minute you arrive, and our Floor Butler was sooo helpful. We had a Mandarin room on the 15th Floor which overlooks the river- PERFECT.
Food was super, and we got the hotel boat across the river to one of their other restaurants, where we had the set menu which was incredible -Thai food at its best.
One of the lovely things also are the wonderful flowers everywhere in the hotel, and in your room.
There is NOTHING that the hotel hasn't thought of - ABSOLUTELY AMAZING !!!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
138 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 May 2014 via mobile

Gorgeous at every turn! The hotel is impeccably done and the service is outstanding! The lobby is one of a kind. We enjoyed the breakfast buffet over looking the water! We loved the boat ride every morning to the fully outfitted gym! We had two terrific mornings of yoga with very helpful instructors. Room was spacious and comfortable! The concierge did a great job of setting up last minute activities for us! Highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jleahkaylor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Bangkok hotels
Dusit
The Siam
The Siam
#1 of 858 in Bangkok
5.0 of 5 bubbles 588 reviews
The Peninsula Bangkok
#7 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,259 reviews
Silom
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
Shangri-La Hotel,Bangkok
#22 of 858 in Bangkok
4.5 of 5 bubbles 8,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sukhumvit
Sheraton Grande Sukhumvit, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok

Property: Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok
Address: 48 Oriental Avenue, Bangkok 10500, Thailand
Phone Number:
Region: Thailand > Bangkok > Silom , Bang Rak
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Romantic Hotel in Bangkok
#1 Family Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Spa Hotel in Bangkok
#2 Luxury Hotel in Bangkok
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok 5*
Number of rooms: 393
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1876 and ideally located on the banks of the Chao Phraya River, Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok, has been an inspiration to a host of world-renowned writers from Joseph Conrad, Somerset Maughamto Wilbur Smith and John Le Carre. Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok boasts an international reputation for splendid service, style and grace and facilities including eight restaurants. The hotel's private teakwood shuttle boats provide daily access to the world famous Thai Cooking School, the hotel's Thai restaurant, the award-winning Oriental Spa and Health Centre located across the River; as well as the nearest skytrain station (SaphanTaksin) and River City Shopping Centre. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Ctrip TA, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mandarin Oriental, Bangkok Hotel Bangkok
Oriental Bangkok
Oriental Hotel Bangkok
Bangkok Mandarin Oriental

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing